Aveda • Rosemary Mint Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 3.2(272 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alison_k on 6/8/2014 7:35:00 PM more reviews by alison_k

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This shampoo is great....except for the fragrance!

For reference I have fine, thinning hair which needs daily washing as it gets greasy fast. I also have some damage from highlights but I don't use styling products so it's not like I need to have a deep cleaning shampoo.

It cleans my hair really well and doesn't strip my scalp, it doesn't leave my fine damaged hair feeling even more damaged, just clean and soft.

I just don't like the overwhelming mint fragrance. It burns if some of the rinse water gets into your eyes, and the fragrance lingers on my hair. I won't buy this again but if Aveda brought out an unscented version then this would be perfect.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 alexiezizka on 2/24/2014 11:25:00 PM more reviews by alexiezizka

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I have very fine textured hair, but it is also very thick. It is naturally straight and very oily, and almost waist length. Normally I do not have a problem with dryness anywhere but my ends. Aveda Rosemary Mint shampoo left my hair smelling fantastic, but feeling like straw. When paired with the conditioner, I am not even able to run my fingers through my hair without creating huge tangles and knots. My ends look frizzed and dry, even over-processed. My hair has never been colored and almost never has heat on it, so it is certainly far from over-processed. It takes several days of recovery with heavy usage of intensive moisture conditioner for my hair to go back to it's original sheen and smoothness after one wash with Rosemary Mint shampoo and conditioner. As much as I love the wonderful aroma, Aveda disappoints with their Rosemary Mint line. Certainly not worth the price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sarahdufour12 on 2/8/2014 10:56:00 AM more reviews by sarahdufour12

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I'm a little surprised by the negative reviews for this shampoo! I have thick, straight, non-color treated hair that I wash about twice a week (so not very oily). I love to use this product to get out all the mousse/hair spray out of my hair after a night out on the town :) It does a better job of getting product out of my hair than other drugstore brand shampoos that I've used. I personally love the scent. It leaves my hair feeling soft and super clean. I'm on my second bottle.

However, I can see where using this shampoo often would leave some hair dry. I'll stick with using it as a great clarifying shampoo once a week or so :) I would recommend trying the trial size of this shampoo if it interests you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DragonRhia on 11/24/2013 1:23:00 PM more reviews by DragonRhia

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I wanted to love this product. I bought it for summer as I wanted a lighter shampoo/conditioner and a lighter scent for summer. I also wanted something I could use every day as I do wash my hair daily in the summer but not in the winter (usually every other in the winter). This just didn't work on my hair. I have very long, color treated, naturally wavy/curly medium to thick hair which is usually pretty healthy. Our water is City water and more on the hard side than the soft side. This dried out my hair making it feel like straw (my hair is normally silky to the touch) and due to that made my scalp look/feel and basically get greasy faster than usual. However, I gave it 3 lippies as the scent is fabulous and this worked well as a hand soap to finish off the bottle (as long as you moisturize after use). So it's not worthless but I would not buy it again for a hand soap or shampoo. (Usual everyday shampoo/conditioner - Trevor Sorbee. 1x/bi-weekly routine for stripping unwanted build-up - Terex Latte Shampoo w/One 'N Only Argan Oil hydrating mask)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ninaulrich on 10/22/2013 10:17:00 AM more reviews by ninaulrich

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I really, really like this with the matching conditioner. My hair is fine, long and in fairly good condition (non treated and silky by nature), and my main concerns are tangles, oily roots and slightly dry ends. The Rosemary Mint takes care of all those and adds just enough weightless moisture without being too heavy. I use it every day, let my hair air dry with no product in it, and I get lots of body, bounce and shine. It doesn't even make my hair tangle in the shower and it's easy to comb afterwards. Plus, it's such a pleasure to use because of the fresh scent and the natural ingredients. Can see that this is definitely not for dry, coarse or very damaged hair! I will keep using this, so far I have no complaints. The price isn't bad for Aveda too.

EDIT: Removed one lippie as it does cause some greasy/waxy build up if I use it more than three days in a row. I moved on to Phylia de M products which are far superior for hair growth and scalp care.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tried_em_all on 10/20/2013 2:53:00 PM more reviews by tried_em_all

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I'm allergic to pretty much every shampoo/conditioner out there since I react to fragrances and have skin reactions to silicones, ppg/peg's, fabric softener type ingredients, decyl glucoside (burns the heck out of my skin), olefin, most of the non-sulfate cleansers, and proteins make my hair dry out (sounds like a good time, doesn't it?). My hair is fine, but I have a ton of it, it's highlighted and fairly straight with a funky little wave in back. I've been using a base shampoo from a company that specializes in essential oils, but I haven't been happy with it, so I gave this a try. I was shocked at how well my hair responds to this. While many people talk about this being more clarifying, I find this to be gentle and mild, and I don't have any reactions to it. I actually find this to be less drying than Brilliant (which made my hair feel bushy, amongst many other issues). If you have hair that doesn't fair well with silicones, you should pick up a travel size and see if works. And if you have issues with fragrances, this has been the only mainstream shampoo (including fragrance free ones), that I've been able to use. FYI, for a conditioner, I use the generic version of Biolage Conditioning Balm (Sally's), since the regular has too strong of a fragrance for me. As long as I don't use to much, I'm pretty happy with it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kentauride on 9/21/2013 9:19:00 AM more reviews by Kentauride

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I love this shampoo and the matching conditioner, it is perfect for my hair type. My hair is extremely fine, my scalp is oily. My hair is not chemically treated, it is in very good condition. Most shampoos irritate my scalp and most conditioners are far too heavy. But this stuff works perfectly for me. If you don't have very fine non-chemically treated hair, this is not the right Aveda line for you.

The shampoo works well, lathers up nicely. I do have to rinse and repeat because I typically use dry shampoo to skip a day or two between shampoos. It is very concentrated so you only need to use a little. It is so gentle that I can get away without using conditioner if I want. The conditioner is very light, it reminds me of a product my mom used on my hair when I was a kid that was called creme rinse - it is just enough conditioning to prevent static but not enough to weigh down my hair. I love the scent.

I have already repurchased this, the most recent time I got a liter bottle and I refill my smaller standard bottle from it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 KalmiaB on 5/21/2013 9:16:00 AM more reviews by KalmiaB

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Other, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I want to comment on the travel size of this - the shampoo was thick and barely ran out of the bottle. The BOTTLE was made of the hardest plastic on earth - no squeezin' HERE, baby. Have to take off the cap or break a finger or two. I don't remember when packaging ever bugged me as much as this did.

I used the shampoo up and can't say I cared for the job it did. I felt like it didn't cut thru the oily scalp I own.

Better stuff out there, I am sure.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 BombshellChic on 3/9/2013 5:59:00 AM more reviews by BombshellChic

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I remember loving this when I was younger... But the smell isn't as great or powerful anymore. It also doesn't lather.. Which can bug some people. I know it's not stopping my hair of oils but I also can't stand the feeling it isn't really cleaning my hair. It does work well, and my hair feels fine with it. The price is great when compared to other shampoos they make. I think I will switch to bumble and bumble, though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kbm2688 on 2/6/2013 1:30:00 PM more reviews by kbm2688

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm surprised to read all of the negative reviews for this product and about how some women developed acne from the use of this. I find that odd as I have VERY acne prone skin and I haven't had any recurring spots around my scalp, face or back. I also cleanse properly after shampooing and conditioning to make sure I haven't missed any residue. I have baby fine hair and a very oily scalp so I have to shampoo daily. I was using regular 'ole green Prell before this which worked well but I began to develop some build up and needed to switch shampoos. I rotate between this and Prell every so often and I'm no longer suffering from any build up. The smell is very fresh and clean and I love the tingling sensation. The end result is wonderful and my scalp is left beautifully shiny and clean (which is always an issue with my oily hair). I pair this with Carol's Daughter Monoi Repairing Conditioner on my ends, and ONLY on my ends ensuring my scalp doesn't get any residue. Honestly, this product is wonderful if you use it correctly and you have the type of hair required for it. Ladies with thick, coarse, or dry hair need to stay away from this as it will only do further damage. It's a clarifying shampoo for naturally oily, fine hair. I use this product daily and I love it more and more!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Aveda products

More Shampoo products