MAC • #129 SH Short Handled Powder/Blush Brush • Makeup Brushes

rated 3.6(103 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.52%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cainca on 10/12/2013 9:18:00 PM more reviews by cainca

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Spent $35 before tax on this at the San Francisco PRO shop upon recommendation from the MA. I am returning it tomorrow for two reasons: 1) like all the comments note it sheds quite a bit and this is frustrating while applying makeup and 2) what bothers me more is that the bristles are too long imo for proper blush placement (seems more like an all-over powder-placement brush or a "bronzer" brush, not blush brush). I really don't like this and am happy to have uncovered that this won't work for me within the 30-day MAC return window (and I try not to return a lot of things)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 urs123 on 5/25/2013 3:19:00 AM more reviews by urs123

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Shed alert. It's super annoying. You have to pick it off your face almost each time you use it. I wasn't aware of this at first so would walk around with big fibres on my face. Super annoying. This was my first expensive brush. A MAC salesperson recommended it as a bronzing brush, and I picked short handle so I could take it with me in my cosmetic case. The bristles are on the soft side but definitely not the softest of brushes by MAC, so when applying powders I find it's a slightly heavy application. For $79 it's been a disappointment. Wish I hadn't bought it. Meh.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bkaradzhova on 4/19/2013 8:08:00 PM more reviews by bkaradzhova

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I went to buy the regular 129 brush but they only had the short handled and know I am glad i have this one because it comes with a little case so you can carry it around safely. Overall it is a great brush- i used it primarily for blush and sometimes for bronzer. I have deep cleaned 4 times now and it didn't shed. It is a bit pricey but if you take care of it, it will last you a lot of time!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DMlover on 3/25/2013 7:12:00 PM more reviews by DMlover

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Wow does this thing shed. I don't understand how it still has bristles left. I use this to powder my face to set my foundation and I have used it for blush. It is a good brush but I can't stand all the shedding and therefore would not repurchase, the $3 ELF ones are a better alternative

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ExFactor on 12/25/2012 7:48:00 PM more reviews by ExFactor

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

The brush sheds like crazy, and doesn't distribute the product so well. Also, the short handle is not as comfortable as one might think. Out of all of MAC brushes in my possession, this one is the worst.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 narkiz on 9/13/2012 6:06:00 AM more reviews by narkiz

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have this brush since forever (more than 10 years). It has been shedding a lot. I've never seen a brush shedding this much. The strange thing is it looks as if new. If it was a cheap brush, I would have thrown to trash long time ago. It is soft and do its job on the other hand. Go figure!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sealegg on 4/15/2012 11:25:00 PM more reviews by sealegg

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly   Eyes: Brown    

This brush isn't working for me. I clean my brushes carefully making sure not too much water ruins the glue, or whatever attaches the bristles to the brush. Every time I use it at least 4 hairs come off. I'm going to go with a better and cheaper brush/brand next time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AntiqueGlitter on 4/10/2012 4:17:00 PM more reviews by AntiqueGlitter

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I'm not quite sure whether the 129 SH brush is the same thing as the 129 Power/Blush Brush, but I'm going to review the 129 Powder/Blush Brush.
Whenever someone asks me what are my top brush recommendations, I always say, "MAC 197, 129, 239, and 217." There are other MAC brushes that I use and like (such as the 219 and 209 brush), but those 4 are my can't-live-without brushes.
I love how this is a multi-purpose brush! With this, I don't need 3 extra brushes hanging around in my makeup traveling case or makeup bag. This brush acts as a blush brush and powder brush!
The bristles are dense enough to pick up loose powder, but dense enough to pick up pressed powder--perfecto!
I use this for all kinds of powder: brush, setting powder, powder foundation, bronzer, and highlighter (the powder kind). And it works GREAT!
It distributes the perfect amount of powder over my face. All I need to do is dab a little into the brush, tap off the excess, and blend it out all over my face in circular motions.
With blush, I dab only a TEENY bit onto the brush (since MAC and NARS blushes are too pigmented for me, lol), tap off excess, make a fishy face, and soft blend it out. I read on BeautyHigh.com (an article called "101 Beauty Tips Every Girl Should Know") that you should allow about two fingers from your nose to where your blush starts. Good advice!
For $34, it's well worth it--wayyyy cheaper than buying a seperate blush brush, powder brush, and kabuki brush.
Would I repurchase? Yes, but I doubt I'll need to.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 pinknouveau20 on 4/7/2012 9:32:00 AM more reviews by pinknouveau20

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

I use this to apply MSF Natural and to sweep Blot Powder. What I noticed is that after days of using it from a deep clean with conditioner, it is becoming a bit scratchy although it doesn't shed like some reviewers had experienced.

I am also a big fan of MAC brushes but this disappoints me a lot. Maybe what I will just to do is to clean it after 3 days since I am just at home and seldom wears makeup.

I will still give it a chance and see if conditioner can be of big help for this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jexka on 3/21/2012 12:31:00 AM more reviews by Jexka

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I want to begin by saying that I am not a brush junkie. I know many people own dozens of brushes and use a different brush for every step of makeup application, but I prefer to keep a minimal amount of brushes that I can use for more than one step in my routine. I know brushes can make all the difference, but I'd rather spend my $30 on a few lipsticks than a brush.
That being said, I purchased this brush while on vacation in Cancun because I forgot all my face brushes. I liked the short handle because it fit easily into my travel makeup bag. I ended up really loving this brush, and almost 3 years later I'm still using it daily.
I use this brush primarily for blush. It's soft and the bristles are very dense, so it picks up and distributes blush very well. I like that it's slightly tapered because I can really focus the blush onto the apples of my cheeks. The tapered point also makes this a pretty good blush for contouring, although I do generally prefer to use an angled brush for that.
Like I said, I've had this about 3 years now, and it's now starting to get a little scratchy and is starting to shed more. I don't know how long brushes are supposed to typically last, but this one has lasted me much longer than cheaper brushes as well as my Bare Essentuals brushes. I think this is an amazing brush that applies blush perfectly, so I will be repurchasing next time I get into a MAC, but I may go for the long handled brush this time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Makeup Brushes products