MAC #129 SH Short Handled Powder/Blush Brush

3.6

104 reviews

52% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 4/3/2015 12:09:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I purchased the short handle at my local CCO and was supper excited to get this at a discounted price. I will agree this brush did shed for maybe the first 2 months with regular spot cleaning and deep cleanings. I have owned it for a little over a year and have not had any issues with shedding since then. I prefer the size of the brush since I personally like a more blown out look with my blush. I've only ever used this brush for blush and when I travel I do use it to apply bronzer to save space. When I first started using it the bristles were scratchy and I thought I wasted my money, but as with the shedding that faded away the more I deep cleaned the brush. So if I was basing my review on the fist couple months I would of probably gave 1 star, but a year later this brush is amazing IMO



on 10/12/2013 9:18:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Spent $35 before tax on this at the San Francisco PRO shop upon recommendation from the MA. I am returning it tomorrow for two reasons: 1) like all the comments note it sheds quite a bit and this is frustrating while applying makeup and 2) what bothers me more is that the bristles are too long imo for proper blush placement (seems more like an all-over powder-placement brush or a "bronzer" brush, not blush brush). I really don't like this and am happy to have uncovered that this won't work for me within the 30-day MAC return window (and I try not to return a lot of things)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/25/2013 3:19:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Shed alert. It's super annoying. You have to pick it off your face almost each time you use it. I wasn't aware of this at first so would walk around with big fibres on my face. Super annoying. This was my first expensive brush. A MAC salesperson recommended it as a bronzing brush, and I picked short handle so I could take it with me in my cosmetic case. The bristles are on the soft side but definitely not the softest of brushes by MAC, so when applying powders I find it's a slightly heavy application. For $79 it's been a disappointment. Wish I hadn't bought it. Meh.


on 4/19/2013 8:08:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I went to buy the regular 129 brush but they only had the short handled and know I am glad i have this one because it comes with a little case so you can carry it around safely. Overall it is a great brush- i used it primarily for blush and sometimes for bronzer. I have deep cleaned 4 times now and it didn't shed. It is a bit pricey but if you take care of it, it will last you a lot of time!!!


on 3/25/2013 7:12:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Wow does this thing shed. I don't understand how it still has bristles left. I use this to powder my face to set my foundation and I have used it for blush. It is a good brush but I can't stand all the shedding and therefore would not repurchase, the $3 ELF ones are a better alternative


on 12/25/2012 7:48:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

The brush sheds like crazy, and doesn't distribute the product so well. Also, the short handle is not as comfortable as one might think. Out of all of MAC brushes in my possession, this one is the worst.


on 9/13/2012 6:06:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I have this brush since forever (more than 10 years). It has been shedding a lot. I've never seen a brush shedding this much. The strange thing is it looks as if new. If it was a cheap brush, I would have thrown to trash long time ago. It is soft and do its job on the other hand. Go figure!


on 4/15/2012 11:25:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Other

Eyes: Brown

This brush isn't working for me. I clean my brushes carefully making sure not too much water ruins the glue, or whatever attaches the bristles to the brush. Every time I use it at least 4 hairs come off. I'm going to go with a better and cheaper brush/brand next time.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I'm not quite sure whether the 129 SH brush is the same thing as the 129 Power/Blush Brush, but I'm going to review the 129 Powder/Blush Brush.
Whenever someone asks me what are my top brush recommendations, I always say, "MAC 197, 129, 239, and 217." There are other MAC brushes that I use and like (such as the 219 and 209 brush), but those 4 are my can't-live-without brushes.
I love how this is a multi-purpose brush! With this, I don't need 3 extra brushes hanging around in my makeup traveling case or makeup bag. This brush acts as a blush brush and powder brush!
The bristles are dense enough to pick up loose powder, but dense enough to pick up pressed powder--perfecto!
I use this for all kinds of powder: brush, setting powder, powder foundation, bronzer, and highlighter (the powder kind). And it works GREAT!
It distributes the perfect amount of powder over my face. All I need to do is dab a little into the brush, tap off the excess, and blend it out all over my face in circular motions.
With blush, I dab only a TEENY bit onto the brush (since MAC and NARS blushes are too pigmented for me, lol), tap off excess, make a fishy face, and soft blend it out. I read on BeautyHigh.com (an article called "101 Beauty Tips Every Girl Should Know") that you should allow about two fingers from your nose to where your blush starts. Good advice!
For $34, it's well worth it--wayyyy cheaper than buying a seperate blush brush, powder brush, and kabuki brush.
Would I repurchase? Yes, but I doubt I'll need to.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I use this to apply MSF Natural and to sweep Blot Powder. What I noticed is that after days of using it from a deep clean with conditioner, it is becoming a bit scratchy although it doesn't shed like some reviewers had experienced.

I am also a big fan of MAC brushes but this disappoints me a lot. Maybe what I will just to do is to clean it after 3 days since I am just at home and seldom wears makeup.

I will still give it a chance and see if conditioner can be of big help for this.




Back to Top