Bumble & Bumble Surf Spray

3.5

293 reviews

56% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Magnesium Sulfate, Macrocystis Pyrifera (Kelp) Extract, Ascophyllum Nodosum Extract, Isoceteth-20, Citric Acid, PPG-5-Ceteth-20, Phenoxyethanol, Potassium Sorbate, Citronellol, Alpha-Isomethyl Ionone, Hydroxyisohexyl 3-Cyclohexene Carboxaldehyde, Linalool, Limonene, Hexyl Cinnamal, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, Fragrance


on 5/27/2015 7:02:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Ugh! Not a good product and definitely not worth the price tag. Left my hair a dry and tangled birds nest... It was less beach waves and more crazy cat lady.The product is okay if you want to work with it and make it as a textured messy bun? I managed to get the knots out with my Tangle Teezer and with glob of coconut oil make it work. I assume by adding the oil I defeated its purpose and instead I made a DIY Bumble and Bumble Surf Infusion instead.



on 4/21/2015 5:14:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Dislike this product. Tried for so long to use this in various ways in order to make it work, but all it does is make my frizzy hair even frizzier and crunchy whenever I apply it to towel-dried hair, and allowing it to air dry. I have even tried using smoothing products in conjunction to target the frizziness issue with this product, but it never worked out.

Overall, after so much effort invested leading to repeated disappointing results with a product, you find yourself out of faith for it. I give up on you, B&B Surf Spray!



1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/16/2015 9:06:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

For the price, this is fairly mediocre. The smell is good, and I like the tab that can be put on the sprayer (so if you travel with this, it wouldn't spray). I have naturally wavy hair, and this helped add some wave to it but for the price and results - I wouldn't buy again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I've bought and tried several beach sprays from not your mothers and Toni and guy and this is by far the best one I've tired. I've repurchased this particular one 3 times. It kind of has a dry affect to your hair, but that's because it's a SEA SALT spray people. When's the last time you went to the beach and your hair was soft from the ocean? That's not what this product is suppose to do. I love it. So I would say buy buy buy!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I first used this when my friend gave me the Bumble and Bumble surf mini set at a pool party a year ago. I have naturally wavy hair and this enhances my hair so nicely and gives it texture without feeling dry or gritty. I flip my head over, spray evenly, slightly scrunch, and let it air dry. BAM! Good hair day in a bottle! I got a full size bottle for my birthday about 7 months ago, and I just ran out last week. Lasts so long!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/25/2015 11:01:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Meh. After seeing this in approximately 5930 magazines/blogs/YouTube favorites I figured I should give it a go. I have fine, straight hair and love sea salt spray for the grip and movement it gives me, although it has never given my hair waves. No matter what I try, my hair does not hold waves or curls for anything, especially not just from scrunching and spraying something on.

In the past I've tried Sunsilk's version of a beach spray (long discontinued, think I had it in 2007?), Redken's Natures Rescue Radiant Sea Spray (discontinued, I miss it a lot, it smelled INCREDIBLE), Tony & Guy's Sea Salt Texturizing Spray (currently use, it's good) and my long standing staple, Not Your Mother's Beach Babe. I love how inexpensive it is, it smells amazing, like suntan lotion, and it truly gives my hair that body and texture I want from a sea spray. If it ain't broke, don't fix it...but curiosity about B&B's Surf Spray was killing me.

After nearly choking on my gum at the price when I saw this spray at Sephora, I saw a display of travel sized Bumble & Bumble products for $9. I'm a college student working for minimum wage so I don't throw nearly $30 at 4 oz of hair product on a regular basis unless it truly blows me away. Glad I only bought the sample size because this 1. did not smell good (I don't particularly care if my products are unscented or clean smelling vs. perfume-y smelling but this actually smelled bad to me), 2. was sticky on my hair even when I only used a tiny amount, 3. did not give me waves, texture or volume. Also, maybe it's just the travel size, but the spray pump feels flimsy like it's going to get bent over to one side and break. It's not smooth to spray at all, it grinds on the way down. I see no reason why this is touted as the best spray out there, Not Your Mother's Beach Babe works way better for me and smells better, too. I have yet to be wowed by a single Bumble & Bumble product, I think they're an overhyped brand with pretty packaging. That's about it.

{SIDE NOTE: At my local Sephora (I'm in the midwest, if that's relevant at all) it costs $9 for the travel size 1.7 oz bottle of this spray. It costs $27 for the full size 4 oz bottle. Aka I could buy 3 mini bottles for $27 and end up with 5.1 oz of the product. Don't know who priced it that way, online it shows the travel size for $15, but that's how my store has been for MONTHS. Worth checking into if you like this product and aren't into spending so much.}

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 2/15/2015 9:54:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I really like this spray but can understand the mediocre reviews on here, especially given its high price tag. Admittedly, you can find cheaper sea salt sprays that will do a similar job!!

I have medium-thick Asian hair which I wear in beachy waves (kind of like Alexa Chung). However, as my hair is naturally straight and limp, I find this spray gives my crown the lift that I need to avoid the dreaded "triangle hair" look.

I spray at the roots each morning and scrunch it. I do find that it tends to dry out the hair a little, especially if I spray it on again the next day, but I think that's the reason it works - drying out the hair gives it extra grip, which gives you the volume.

The volume and texture tends to stay a bit longer than other sprays that I've tried, so I'm scrunching my hair less often throughout the day in order to give it a bit more oomph.

The thing that I really like is that it's not as wet as other sea salt sprays. I find others are too wet, which means they either take ages to dry or they start to actually undo the curls that I put in the night before. This one seems to dry quite quickly, which makes it easier to work with.

One thing I don't like about the packaging is that it doesn't come with a lid and I've lost that little clip that would stop the spray from pressing down and releasing product. This makes it hard to pack, since I can't just throw it in my bag.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Other, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Grey

I have mixed feelings about surf spray. While it does give my naturally wavy/curly hair that beach textured look, it dries my hair out like crazy (I have very thick, coarse hair). And while all salt sprays will do this obviously if used on a regular basis, this one drastically dries it out more than others I've used (john frieda, sedu, etc). I feel like this works a lot better on people with finer straight hair. Those with thicker naturally curly/wavy hair that is more prone to dryness should stay away from this one.


on 12/28/2014 8:43:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this stuff because I've heard good things about it at the salon I work at, but whenever I use it, it makes my hair feel dry and doesn't do much at all.


on 12/26/2014 8:58:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

This is one of those products that always appears on "Every Beauty Editor's Must Have Products" so I have myself convinced that it is user error that is disappointing me, not the actual product. I have naturally wavy hair, so I thought this stuff would work well for me, but the only difference I noticed was that it made my hair feel dry and disgusting and doesn't even have the added benefit of smelling really good like other sea salt sprays. Maybe the beauty editors that must have this product can teach me their ways, but until then my beachy wave dreams are dead.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Bumble & Bumble Products

image

Sumo Tech

45 reviews
image

Brilliantine

153 reviews
image

Defrizz

104 reviews
image

Styling Lotion

104 reviews
Back to Top