L'Occitane Lavender Vinegar

3.5

37 reviews

59% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/20/2012 10:10:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I used this product a few years ago. I bought it again after my first use to treat my acne. At first, I thought it worked quite well in terms of shrinking my pimples. But gradually, it just didn't work for me. So I switched to other spot treatment products such as bp, dalacin-t, and tea tree oil. I think these products are more effective than l'occitane when it comes to treating acne.



on 7/8/2012 9:39:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Other

Eyes: Black

This product smelt great, and it shrinks small pimples quite effectively, but I do not find the added redness and stinging sensation it created worth it to keep using! My skin felt especially sensitive to the sun after I applied this (on blemishes using a cottonbud), that I will not be buying this again!


on 10/26/2011 6:22:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

For all you people complaining that it burns and that it's too strong...IT'S NOT FOR YOUR WHOLE FACE! It's only to spot treat pimples not people who have systic crazy acne. People DON'T put it on your whole face that would be really bad for you and irritate the heck out of your skin. You spot treat pimples and it dries them up and works like magic!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/19/2010 11:30:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

It shrinks my pimples when applied on a cotton pad. I like the slight tingling feeling and the noticeable shrinkage of the blemishes. I'm on my second bottle already!


on 3/15/2010 2:29:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

EDIT (Aug 21, 2014):
Now that I'm older, I put more attention to the ingredients of the skincare product that I use and I can't believe I used to use this product! Firstly, when it stings it doesn't mean that the product is working, it means that the product might irritates the skin. Secondly, I do believe that this product is loaded with alcohol and essential oils that won't improve your skin condition (it might make it worse, at least for me).

Although lavender oil have antibacterial properties, it can be pro-oxidant and cause skin-cell death. (http://www.paulaschoice.com/cosmetic-ingredient-dictionary/definition/plant-extracts/lavender-extract-and-oil). I think I murdered some of my skin cells when I was younger.

Now I'm 26 and I'm still struggling with breakouts. Probably it is caused by years of using products that are not good for my skin. I learned the hard way and I hope you won't. Use 2.5% - 5% benzoyl peroxide to treat acne (I tried a lot of brands and I felt that BP products from Galderma and Paula's Choice works best for my skin). If you want to use a more "natural" product (remember, more natural doesn't mean better) to treat acne, use tea tree oil instead.

Thank god this product is now discontinued.
_________________________________________________________________________

I love this product. I'm on my 2nd bottle already (but the 1st one lasted for more than 6 months though) and this product really helps me to treat those small annoying pimples. I like that it stings when you apply it (show's the product's working) and it dries pimple FAST. For me it is pretty easy to use the product, the packaging is okay. The price is quite okay and I love that it doesn't smell like chemical stuff.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/22/2009 3:31:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Horrible.
Too strong, burns my eyes, and chokes me. It's like 90% alcohol!!!

But I do have to say, seems to be working on my chest and back where I'm breaking out... I emptied the bottle into a spray bottle, mixed it with witch hazel, and seems to work well.

But it broke me out like crazy on my face.


on 2/13/2009 4:05:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Waste of money. It doesn't helps with drying out acne. I think that I would get better effect by just using alcohol. It has a nice smell, though.


on 11/6/2008 7:54:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Too strong! I almost want to use this on my cuts/scrapes because it's so alcoholic. It made my skin red and inflamed when I apply it to my face.


on 9/12/2008 4:14:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel


and it burns, burns, burns...

and it doesn't only burn your face, it may burn down your house, it is so alcoholic, this molotoff cocktail in a beautiful bottle.

And yes, my skin feels kind of relieved 20 minutes after, but I think it temporarily paralyzes my face with its heat and sting, and then I feel some relief; it's like curing pain with more pain.

In the long run, I suspect this may be bad for acne or the pores as it may encourage more sebum production.


on 3/23/2008 4:43:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I might buy this again. However I have found a product that I think works better for sensative skin in another store. I'm just not too sure about this product. I love the brand, but it seems that sometimes this product works, and sometimes it doesn't.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Retin A
532 Reviews
Sudocrem
137 Reviews
4% Hydroquinone
14 Reviews
Nerium AD
73 Reviews
Back to Top