Oxy Oxy 10 Balance Maximum Strength Acne Wash

4.1

97 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Benzoyl Peroxide (10%) (Acne Treatment) Inactive Ingredients: Anhydrous Citric Acid, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Diazolidinyl Urea, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Water (Purified), Sodium Citrate, Sodium Cocoyl Isethionate, Sodium Lauroyl Sarcosinate, Xanthan Gum


on 2/17/2015 10:09:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have been using this product since 2009 and this has helped keep my skin clear. Recently, I have been breaking out like crazy and finally I stopped using this after trying to stop using all my other products ( tea tree oil, witch hazel toner) and determined this was the cause of my breakouts! I noticed there are a lot of ingredient changes and that must be the culprit. I wish they would go back to the old formula!



on 11/13/2014 4:14:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This has helped my acne and oily skin so much! I work in a restaurant so it is easy to get pimples fast... But this wash helps keep my face acne free! I am ready on like my 5th bottle since i started buying this in June this year. Higjly recommend & my HG.


on 10/29/2014 7:47:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Edit: also I forgot to add, this WILL bleach towels bathroom carpets clothes whatever comes in contact with it.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

love it and really helps kill acne. it works great!


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I can't believe I haven't done a review yet. But I'm in love! I've been using this for almost a year. It's helped my acne so much! But beware, it will bleach towels or anything colored!


on 3/29/2014 12:18:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

NO MORE OILY SKIN. EVER. That's what this product has done for me!
I have been using this cleanser for about two years. It worked great before, and ever since they did the recent redesign of the packaging (and the product itself) it has been even better! As another reviewer has noted, it is much thicker and less runny now (which I like) and it also doesn't smell as bad as it used to. It doesn't exactly have a "fragrance" but it just seems to smell less chemical-ish now. The packaging is also easier to work with. Yay for the redesign! The cleanser itself works like nothing I have ever seen. It's absolute magic. It's as if it just takes all the garbage right out of my face and fixes all of my terrible problems (my skin is extremely oily, sensitive, and covered in scars from hormonal acne -- I treat monthly with four-day courses of doxycycline). When I rinse this off my face, my skin just feels smooth and clear.
I'm really happy to have found this because salicylic acid makes my skin terribly red and irritated, but benzoyl peroxide is very calming for me. I don't know how but it has absolutely OBLITERATED my oily problem! About eight to ten months after I first started using this, I noticed my skin becoming less and less oily. I used to have to blot my skin with those Clean & Clear blotting sheets several times a day. Now I haven't even touched one in months. The difference really is that striking. I'm absolutely flabbergasted. (And yes, be patient, because although I saw an instant improvement, the process of oil reduction really did take several months -- but worth the wait!) As other reviewers have said, definitely use a moisturizer with this. My skin definitely did get noticeably drier (obviously, because it became less oily, so…) and so I had to use a larger quantity of my moisturizer with it. My favorite is Trader Joe's anti-oxidant oil-free moisturizer (which I have also reviewed). For extreme winter-style chapping of the skin, I highly recommend Cetaphil Restoraderm.
This cleanser is not good for taking off makeup, so I use a separate one for that (I like Clean & Clear's Morning Burst hydrating cleanser-- the blue one that smells like cucumber melon, it takes off makeup really well and has not irritated my skin at all) and then follow up with this cleanser (and also use it in the morning).
I can honestly say this cleanser has changed my life. If you find yourself saturating three blotting sheets at a time and at your wit's end with oily skin, I cannot recommend this cleanser highly enough!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 9/27/2013 3:37:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

The best OTC acne wash yet!! 10% BPO. Perfect with a regiment from the dermatologist and works relatively fast. Just follow the directions on the package and use it! And never ever ever scrub your face!!!! It makes the process take longer and the product do it's job.


on 8/24/2013 9:40:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got this oxy face wash looks different but its the same with 10% bp I've been using it for about 2 weeks and I must say it has calmed down my acne I'm really happy. it does dry out my skin but I use a cream I use it 2 times everyday. it wasn't expensive at all less than 6 bucks at Walmart. remember not to pick new pimples because it takes way longer to heal and it stays red from pinching your face with your nails learned my mistake don't touch your face just let it be and you'll see improvement. thinking about buying another oxy product to go along with this good luck :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/9/2013 5:41:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I used this years ago with great results, but after a bout with The Balm's skincare line, I was left with scarred skin, and more acne than I was comfortable with.

I bounced around from cleanser to cleanser with no success, even old tried-and-true favorites. I've used this before, and because of the high benzoyl peroxide content, I knew it'd probably work.

My skin isn't perfect, but I don't think it ever will be, because acne runs in my family. However, this is the clearest my skin has been in awhile, and I'm really happy with the results.

Benzoyl peroxide works better when left on the skin, so rub it in for 2-3 minutes for best results. I find that the longer I use it, the better results I get. I follow it up with St. Ives Timeless Skin moisturizer. MAKE SURE YOU USE A MOISTURIZER. I find the St. Ives is a great base for makeup and I slather it on at night to help my skin. So far, I haven't had to deal with dry skin, despite using a harsher cleanser.


on 8/5/2013 12:57:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i have very acne prone skin. Last summer, i had horrible acne.even after taking minocycline and using benzaclin and tazorac on my face it did not budge. several different kinds of salycilic acid and benzoyl peroxide-loaded face washes later, i switched dermatologists, and she was about to put me on acutane.

But since im a human chicken i was too scared to take acutane lol

so she put me on doxycylcine with another clindamycin gel and differin. and she reccomended me to use this OXY face wash along with it. my face cleared up in 3 months!

if youre struggling with acne and everything i really suggest asking your dermatologist about these medications and also try this face wash. they sold it at my local walgreens for about $6 and it was very much worth it.

and if youre going through severe acne right now, please dont stress too much, acne is not as gross as you think it might be! everyone gets acne once in a while! i wish you luck on finding the perfect routine to clear your skin!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top