Cover Girl Clean Liquid Makeup Oil Control

3.0

523 reviews

50% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.6

Price: $

Package Quality: 2.6

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Propylene Glycol, Talc, Glycerin, PEG/PPG 18/18 Dimethicone, Cetyl Ethylhexanoate, Cyclomethicone, Magnesium Sulfate, Silica, Laureth 7, Arachidyl Behenate, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Trihydroxystearin, Propylparaben, Methicone, Isopropyl Titanium Triisostearate, Methylparaben, Synthetic Wax, Trisodium EDTA, Ethylene Brassylate, Stearic Acid, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Micap


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is one of the most natural looking foundations I have ever used! I have used this off and on since high school. Even if you apply this heavily, it never looks cakey or "made up", but I usually just use a very light layer, and buff it in with a firm kabuki brush. Even inches away, you can't tell you're wearing foundation, and that fact alone earns high praise from me, since I like to look as natural as possible. I am around an NC25, (Light, golden undertones) and use "Buff Beige". The finish is natural matte, not as shiny as others, however it does not control oil at all, which is why I deducted a lippie. I have a very oily t-zone and normal-dry cheeks and this does not delay oil breakthrough, even a little, which is disappointing since it claims to be an oil controlling foundation. This needs a pump, and I liked the older glass bottles, which were curved, easier to grip, and less bulky. Overall, a very good foundation at it's price-point.



on 5/14/2015 6:00:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

I used to LOVE the Clean line- until I tried Oil Control. I don't remember the Clean Sensitive Skin liquid formula oxidizing the way this one does on my skin. I wear Classic Ivory and it seems to look fine when I apply it but within minutes it turns more orange! I took a few photos in natural light and the difference between my face and my neck was shocking. Maybe it's just the oil-control formula?


on 4/30/2015 6:19:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

TERRIFYINGLY ATROCIOUS. I bought this in hopes that it would keep oil at bay. I bought in classic beige due to most of CG's foundations oxidizing. I'm an optimistic person who always looks for the good in things, but THERE LITERALLY IS NOTHING GOOD TO SAY ABOUT IT. First, you have to bang the dang thing for days to get the smallest bit of product out. Second, it smells like paint, and good luck blending it. I tried fingers, brush, blender...nothing blends it well. Third, when I put it on it looks like a horrifying white mask despite me having very fair skin. Basically made me look like a geisha... Fourth, poor coverage and not buildable. It settles into pores and magnifies everything. Fifth, you have to cover with powder to make it even bearable. Sixth, somehow the horrifying white mask oxides into an atrocious "tan" mask. Seventh, it's impossible not to be a giant cake face with it. Wouldn't wish this foundation upon my worst enemy!!


on 4/19/2015 12:19:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Grey

I bought this foundation on a whim. I have become increasingly frustrated with foundation in general. I have sensitive, oily/combination skin. If you want a long-lasting foundation, they tend to be thick, heavy, and cakey. Drug Store foundations tend to be low-quality, and don't stay on very well. it is also extremely difficult to find the correct shade due to no testers. I didn't do any research prior to purchasing this foundation. I saw it, realized it was for oily skin and one I hadn't tried yet. It was on sale, so I paid $7.99 for this foundation. I had pretty low expectations. I honestly thought I would use it once and throw it away. The same as I've done with countless other drugstore foundations. But this foundation turned out to be a pleasant surprise. Foundations tend to oxidize really bad on me, and they tend to run orangy on me. So I went a couple shades lighter. I bought this in Buff Beige, and it actually turned out to be a really good match for me. It helped me realize that most of the foundations I've been buying have been at least 2 shades too dark for my skin tone. I also have a skin tone that is very difficult to match. I have a mixture of both red and yellow undertones. I've found I look best in more neutral colors. Too red makes me look like an Oompa Loompa. Too yellow, and people start asking me if I'm feeling okay.

This foundation is super easy to apply. A little goes a very long way. It is super easy to blend and is very buildable. It dries pretty quickly to a natural finish. It does hold up well when sweating. I love that this foundation is also super cheap and readily available. I really like this foundation. It actually does what it says. It does actually control oil. It stays on my face until I take it off. I do use a primer underneith it, but that's no biggie. I honestly never thought I would like a cheap, drugstore foundation this much. But I honestly do. I have gotten better results with this product that with any other product I've used. Including high end.

The one negative (and it's definitely not a deal-breaker) is that I wish the bottle had a pump. It can be a bit of a challenge to get out of the bottle. But it does come out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/16/2015 2:02:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Pros.: controls shine, doesn't clog pores, doesn't settle in creases, doesn't have a scent, bottle lasts long time, inexpensive, and always in stock at various stores.

Cons.: inconvenient packaging, comes off easily (which can be among pros when taking it off at the end of the day), hard to blend, oxidises (turns into a darker shade after couple hours), mostly for cool or neutral skin tones.

I've been using this foundation for about 5 years now. I've tried many high end foundations which claim to control shine, brands like Lancome and Clinique, for example; drug store ones like Neutrogena, Physicians Formula or Maybeline. Nothing worked for me, but this foundation. It controls shine for about five hours giving a semi matte coverage. I've been coming back to it just because nothing else worked even close to it, but of course it is far from perfect. The biggest con of it is that it becomes one shade darker as the day goes by, that's why I usually buy the lightest or second to lightest shade. Also, it seems like all light shades have more pink than yellow, which works for me, but might not work for some people with warm skin tone.

Bottom line it does the job: controls shine and covers acne without making it worse, but you must use a primer first like L'oreal Magic Perfecting Base, for example, for better coverage.


on 2/28/2015 8:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I wanted really badly to like this product, but.. nope. I have oily, acne-prone skin, yellow undertones, and acne scarring on one cheek. I was not a big fan of Covergirl products until I tried their Ready, Set, Gorgeous foundation (which is amazzzing) because I've been looking for more basic foundations that were labeled oil-free and suitable for sensitive skin, so I thought I would give this a try too!

To begin, the range in colors is very limited, so I got the darkest available at Target, which was Soft Honey. I figured if it wasn't a good match I could use bronzer to balance it out. Welp, it was still too light, and definitely has pink undertones (cool), so that was useless. Secondly, the packaging is horrible.. it doesn't have a pump, and the foundation takes FOREVER to come out, so you sit there for like five minutes shaking it and hitting it on your palm just to get a little dab, so that was rather annoying and not good when you're in a rush.
Thirdly, the consistency is just..not good. It's really runny and thin, has veeery minimal coverage, isn't very build-able, and definitely does NOT dry matte..feels and looks a bit greasy. And yes, within two hours my face looked and felt slick and oily.. so the oil-control claim wasn't lived up to.
And finally.. it broke me out :( I don't know what to do with it because I don't want to waste my money throwing it out, so I'll give it a few more goes, but I am definitely not repurchasing.

For you girls with oily, acne-prone skin who want a decently lasting foundation that dries more matte and medium to full coverage, I definitely recommend Covergirl's "Ready, Set, Gorgeous" liquid foundation, but not this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/19/2015 11:02:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have extremely sensitive skin, like to the point that I can feel a breakout within minutes of applying a new product. I have tried EVERYTHING under the sun including MAC, Stila, Sweet Leilani, Vincent Longo, various drug store products.. and ironically the cheapest brand I have ever purchased is the only brand that will not break me out. I went from spending 35-60 dollars a bottle to 6 flippin dollars. AMAZING. It gives me just the right amount of coverage I need for day-to-day, the finish is perfect. It's light-weight, the shade matches just about perfectly. I would agree with most of the other reviews when I say a pump would make it perfect but I just tap in on the back of my hand a few times and it comes out. Highly recommend to anyone looking for affordable foundation with good coverage. However, if you're looking for a studio finish makeup, this is not the stuff for you.


on 12/24/2014 5:49:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I did enjoy this foundation (Soft Honey)(I also bought the powder along with it). It has medium coverage, and gives you a semi-matte finish (not too matte, almost natural look). After a few hours (around 3) it began feeling greasy (with powder on top). It's an ok foundation. I like the look of it, but I would only use it if I just need to go somewhere for around 1-2 hours (like the store or run a quick errand).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/30/2014 11:11:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Promises:
- Wisk away shine, it is designed for oily complexions
- Unscented, hypoallergenic, oil free and suitable for sensitive skin
- Matte and clean finish

The foundation comes in a glass bottle with 30 mL, with no pump which is quite sad, because the packaging SUCKS. I don't want to be rude, but it actually sucks. The consistency of the foundation is super thick, which doesn't mean it doesn't blend out nicely, yet it is hard to get out of the bottle. After a few days I decided to start using the back of my eyeliner brush to get the product out, which it's working so far, but you have to be realy careful when finding an alternative to get the product out, keeping your tool clean and stuff to avoid contaminating the foundation. Once the product is out of the bottle it is very easy to work with, it blends out nicely, I have tried it with a Beauty Blender and my Real Tecniques Stippling brush, and both of them work quite well. The smell is no diferent from the Outlast Stay Fabulous 3 in 1 foundation, so it smells a bit like paint, yet I like it, it isn't awful.
The coverage is medium but it is pretty buildable, it has never looked cakey and I have built it to full coverage. It has a matte and really natural finish, it truly makes your skin look very clean and radiant, I LOVE THE FINISH. I set it with powder always, for Covergirl recomends so, and after all it is an oily skin foundation and if your skin is oily, you certainly want to seal it with powder. I'm sure it Works even better with a primer, I haven't tried it so far.
The color range is good, yet (once again) not every shade is available here in Mexico, which is awful. The darkest shade they bring here is Soft Honey 555, which is one shade lighter than my Covergirl shade, yet, it worked. If you have trouble finding your shade you can use this amazing website I found recently: http://findation.com/ it's really helpfull for finding your foundation shade on so many trademarks.
The staying power of this foundation is not awesome, not as good as I expected when I bought it, it is supposed to control oily skin and so it does, but it isn't as efficent as I thought I'd be. It can't control my oily nose (my skin isn't too oily), yet it worked out with the rest of my face. I don't think it is really an alternative for girls who are seeking for a foundation to control their oily skin, perhaps if you carry rice paper or your pressed powder to help you out.
About the unscented, oil free and hypoallergenic things, I believe they're all true (except the scent, but I wrote about that before). I bought this foundation for this last couple of months I have been having acné, which is totally weird because I have never had that sort of problem. So I started searching for a drugstore foundation that could help me out with the acné, suitable for sensitive skin and I bought this after watching a video on YouTube and my skin problems are going away.
I will definitely buy again, the finish has become my favourite by far and the staying power is very good, it controls oil (but it isn't a miracle product) and it is very cheap. I like the smell too. The only con is that the packaging really sucks :/

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/26/2014 9:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is my usual foundation. I own it in the lightest colour but it's still a tad too dark for me. I just have to make sure I blend it into my neck well so that it isn't obvious. Coverage is good but I always end up needing concealer unless my skin is clear. I find it doesn't do much for oil control. I have moderate oily skin and I still end up looking dewy at the end of the day. The only problem I have with the packaging is that it's hard to get product out sometimes, especially when it's running low...
But overall, I still end up coming back because decent coverage and it doesn't break me out of worsen my existing acne.


Back to Top