Sonya Dakar • Omega Oil • Skincare - Face

rated 4.0(28 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.82%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* xtinahb on 11/20/2011 1:08:00 AM more reviews by xtinahb

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This was recommended by an aesthetician after I started Renova (a retinoid) and my combination skin experienced dryness and irritation. Within 2 weeks, my skin was soft and dry patches eliminated. The packaging feels cheap and the pump doesn't always provide the same amount, but the product itself is great. I use one pump on my face and neck in AM and PM all year round, except for the summertime when it's pretty humid here in NY. My skin feels nourished and hydrated with this oil under my moisturizer; not greasy whatsoever. The smell is definitely noticeable, but more like vitamin pills than straight "fishy," at least to me! I can definitely handle it considering the benefits and for reference, my boyfriend has never even noticed the smell. Will definitely rebuy; it really helps balance my skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 purplerain71 on 10/9/2009 6:23:00 PM more reviews by purplerain71

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

Love this omega-3 for acne!!!! It did dried up my acne in few days same time softer skin! I know there's a lot of products contain with oil will cause break outs, except this kind doesn't break my skin out! It actually controls my skin problem much better than without. Only thing I had trouble with is, pushing too far come out too much oil. I had to be careful letting little bit of oil, good enough for my entire face for the day.
Price, expensive, but worth it for my skin's sake. I do not care what people said it smell nasty like fish, but I am living in environmental place and I go to health food store all the time, I get used to smell and benefit my skin's health which is important to me! :)

*UPDATE: AT first it is great, after a month later, my hormonal acnes all around my jawline broke out like hives, and it is too much for me, so I switched to ELEMIS and dried up acnes in no time*

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Angeldoll on 2/3/2009 7:29:00 PM more reviews by Angeldoll

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have this product for acne/clear skin.
While it is not curing or healing my acne its certainly is calming and moisturizing my face like no other moisturizer. Its not clogging my pores either.
I haver very acne prone , sensitive and very dry skin now that it is winter. This has cured my dryness this time of year, I think it will be too heavy for the summer time. I will repruchase for winter and fall. I use 1 squirt only for my entire face before bed and in the morning under makeup. This has also cleared my exzema patches I had on my cheeks.
If you are oily use less or dont use it at all but thats YMMV and just my opinion
Will repurchase and try the one for scarring next.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 wninal on 11/5/2008 3:07:00 PM more reviews by wninal

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I really love this product. I usually use the Omega Oil for irritated skin. I have combination skin that breaks out occassionally and is very sensitive to acne products. When I first started using this, I had oily skin with dry patches and flaking where I had tried anti-pimple meication. Not attractive! I was skeptical about using oil on my already oily, broken out skin, but this was just what I needed. It really helped calm down my skin. I also stopped the retin-A and all the other irritating skin products. My skin has never looked better. I know use the retinol renewal serum and the omega oil and it really has made a huge differece. Some people have mentioned the smell. The omega oil does smell different, but the scent doesn't last and it has never bothered me. The worst part about these products are the price!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rpolisk on 9/24/2008 7:17:00 PM more reviews by rpolisk

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

88% would buy this again??? First off, this stuff smells sooo bad, I cannot believe more reviewers don't mention it. When I say bad, I mean rotten fish bad. I have a high tolerance for product scents (see FE Cerrulic serum) but I have to say this oil pushes the limits. Plus, it made me break out into large painful pimples. Another failed Sonya Dakar experiment. Would not only NOT buy it again, but would strongly discourage anyone else from wasting their money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jenran1 on 7/29/2008 9:59:00 PM more reviews by jenran1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I used the version that helps with scarring. I did it skeptically. But I am now a convert. The scars from my youthful acne are no longer noticeable. I ddn't have really bad acne but there were definitely some spots on my face that suffered from scarring. I am really impressed. It is the only produce from SD that I use so at least in my experience, it will work on its own. I rarely write reviews but this deserved one.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 laurenlanzaosias on 7/16/2008 2:19:00 PM more reviews by laurenlanzaosias

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

I like the omega oil. i have used both the acne and irritation, there was no real difference in my skin's reaction. my skin did stay clear while using it and looked very healthy after i washed it off...but while it was on i looked like i just stepped out of a sauna. it makes your face soooo greasy and putting make-up on top of it. forget it and i would only use a 1/2 of a pump. i would buy this again if my skin need serious hydration for a photo shoot or audition and i would wear it the days leading up to the event, days where no-one but my mailman and my husband could see me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 there4thehunt on 12/5/2007 4:44:00 PM more reviews by there4thehunt

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

I have been using this product for almost two years now, and so I obviously love it. My husband also started using it about a year ago, and he loves it as well. He doesn't use any other "products" on his skin, just this one. I have combo oily/dry skin and find this to be the perfect solution. I just squirt a very small amount into my palm, rub it in my hands, then all over my face, making sure to rub it in really good. I find that it helps a lot with the dry/flaky skin I get, but it's not so oily that I break out or it makes me shiny. If you find that it's making you shiny, you're probably using way too much. Just put a VERY small amount...like half a squirt and you're good.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rasburyk on 12/4/2007 5:40:00 PM more reviews by rasburyk

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Wow! This really helps the hydrosoft lotion do it's job!! My skin is so soft and looks great! Love the oil, never thought I would use an oil with my combo/oily skin but works great! Love this line!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mermaidmaenad on 10/21/2007 10:01:00 PM more reviews by mermaidmaenad

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I never thought an OIL of all things would clear up my adult, stress related, acne- but it does. i use this with other DAKAR products, and get a dakar facial once per month. i have normal to dry skin with adult acne. this line of products has helped me more than any other line. the omega oil is just grand. i put it on at night and wake up with clear skin...i recommend highly.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Sonya Dakar products

More Skincare - Face products