OPI • Natural Nail Base Coat • Top/Base Coats

rated 3.8(89 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 allburnedout on 1/25/2015 11:41:00 AM more reviews by allburnedout

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Like I have seen on other reviews this stains my nails also! I had no idea as to why my nails were getting stained. I thought I was doing the right thing by using a base coat...well, after using the OPI natural nail base coat they were always stained! I tried a different base coat and voila, no staining. I am so disappointed as I love OPI top coat and their polishes are the best! Stay away from this base coat :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alina08 on 1/3/2015 12:20:00 PM more reviews by alina08

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is a pretty decent base coat. I do not necessarily think that this makes my nail polish last forever, but it does help fill in ridges in my nail bed. I do not think this product is essential, but it is nice to have around to get a smoother finish.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Rocklover on 9/8/2014 1:17:00 AM more reviews by Rocklover

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this base coat. The large brush makes it easy to apply in 1-2 swipes and it protects my nails from staining. I'm surprised to hear others have had problems with staining, not sure why? I ran put of this recently and bought the orly base coat because the shops had run out of the opi one... It's pretty good too but I still prefer my opi.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ncranney on 9/3/2014 3:07:00 AM more reviews by ncranney

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Other, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

Terrible, terrible base coat. This does not protect your nails from staining; I used a tangerine polish over literally three coats of this and my nails were still stained orange from it. It does not adhere polish to the nail the way a base coat should either; no matter the quality of my polish, everything would peel off after a day. Don't waste your money on this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 misscocktail on 6/21/2014 3:19:00 PM more reviews by misscocktail

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Very good, does what it supposed to be doing. Keeps my mani in great condition and prolongs the wear of my polish. I put it to the test with Chanel Rouge Noir, which is notorious for staining your nails. It did protect them! That's all I need to know!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* iLoveYoutwo on 4/2/2014 7:33:00 AM more reviews by iLoveYoutwo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I don't think I will ever use this again, this always stains my nails an ugly yellow or orange. I tried another brand and after I removed a dark gray (almost black) nail polish, 0 staining!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jamiehaneul on 3/21/2014 10:59:00 PM more reviews by jamiehaneul

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Without nail polish on top, this base coat chips much easier than I'd like it to.. It lasts a few days on some of my nails, on others it chips the next day. With nail polish, it bubbles underneath only after two or three days. :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jexka on 2/21/2014 12:16:00 AM more reviews by Jexka

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is a pretty good base coat. I think it does what a base coat should -- it prolongs the wear of my polish and it helps prevent staining. But even though I've used up a few bottles of this, I'm now finding other base coats that perform better than this one.
I like the wide brush on this -- it makes it really easy to apply. The product isn't too thick or too thin, but I will mention that once I get maybe 3/4 of the way through the bottle, this tends to start to thicken, making it harder to apply, and the product will start bubbling on my nails, which is the last thing I want my base coat to do. A polish thinner might fix that, but I don't have one so I couldn't tell you. This dries to a semi-matte finish, and while I typically prefer base coats to be more matte because I feel like polish grips to them better, this one is fine. It isn't completely matte, but it isn't slick and slippery either, so polish does grab to it pretty well. I found that this doesn't completely prevent staining, but I get far less staining of my nails than when I don't use a base at all.
One issue I have with this is that for some reason the handle tends to separate from the brush. I'll untwist the black cap and the cap will come off but it will be detached from the little stump that holds the brush. It's hard to explain, but I've had this happen with more than one bottle of this. I have to superglue the cap back onto the brush, which is kind of a pain. It's weird that I've only had this happen with this product and no other OPI polishes.
Overall this isn't a bad product at all, but I just think there are better bases out there. Ulta does a lot of deals where if you buy 2 OPI polishes you can get a free base coat or top coat, so you can get a really good deal on this. I'd recommend watching for sales like this and then trying this out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sassybaby on 1/7/2014 9:14:00 PM more reviews by sassybaby

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Wow, I wish I had checked MUA for reviews on this beforehand. Terrible base coat. I had a beautiful manicure but within 2-3 days, it started chipping and peeling horribly! I had high hopes for this due to its brand but it was a fail. There are better options out there.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sambalina82 on 12/30/2013 9:05:00 PM more reviews by Sambalina82

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is not a good basecoat if you were looking to fill ridges or smooth your nails out, its far too thin for that. Haven't noticed any manicure benefits from using this. Would not use again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More OPI products

More Top/Base Coats products