Avon • Far Away • Fragrances

rated 3.6(88 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 lalalovee on 12/18/2014 3:36:00 AM more reviews by lalalovee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Mmmm smells great like more on the sophisticated side and very feminine as well

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CatherineElizabeth90 on 10/27/2014 1:50:00 PM more reviews by CatherineElizabeth90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I haven't been able to get this in a long time now, but if you can I would hoard it away for years to come! Scent is hard to describe but I always loved it. It had an almost 'spiritual' feel about it. It is not like you'd expect a regular typical perfume to smell. Would highly recommend. Avon is not typically something that I go out of my way for, but that scent... well worth it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ipatieva on 10/13/2014 9:00:00 PM more reviews by ipatieva

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I smelled this on a friend of mine and asked her what perfume was she wearing, she showed me the bottle and it smells so good, she bought this fragrance from Avon Malaysia. I decided to purchase it (Avon UK) and was so excited when it came through the post. However I was disappointed with the smell as it's too powdery and gives me headache, at first I thought it was my body chemistry and decided to give the bottle to my friend since it smells great on her. When she sprayed on her wrist, the same thing happened. She can only conclude that the formulation has been changed (maybe?)

When she went back to visit her family in Malaysia, she got me this fragrance and to my surprise, it smells gorgeous and react very well with my body chemistry (yay!). It's a soft (but not too soft) feminine perfume.
She said that this is the 'original' smell of Far Away that she knew and love. Could it be that they didn't change the formula in Asia?
I will make sure that I'll ask my friend to get me a few bottles when she is in Malaysia.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SorceressOfTheDark on 12/10/2013 2:34:00 AM more reviews by SorceressOfTheDark

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Ethereal, mysterious, what I imagine the long ago Far Eastern World women must have worn as their perfume oils. Yes, the name fits this perfume. Seven hours ago I sprayed my wrist from two feet away gently and the scent of this oriental fragrance is still heavily with me.
I owned it years back and last summer acquired an older bottle. I've waited for a colder day of winter to wear it again. This is a glorious fragrance.
It's rich and thick in its entire run and certainly not for someone shy or one who likes a lighter, cleaner fragrance. Gardenia and coconut stand the strongest for me with sandalwood wrapped around these notes in a thick musky way. The musk that I inhale from Far away is not the musk that I get from perfumes I've been sampling lately. This musk is thick, almost syrupy, so embracing, that when coupled with the wood it could be stifling if over-sprayed. This is such an exotic smelling perfume that goes on and on and on. Spray a scarf or doily in your home and the scent will there for days.
Close your eyes and it evokes images of rawness, of sexual energy, of days in spring gardens bursting with fresh blooming flowers, of oiled wooden barrels with leather straps filled with intoxicating hot spices, even of antique liquor cabinets that house fine wines and assorted liquors and liqueurs. It takes you to many places.
It's a perfume that entices you to return to your wrist again and again to remind you of those images. It's really that wondrous in its composition.
If I wore it out, I'd spray it prudently, so as not to offend anyone. It's very strong and in today's fruity-gourmand times, Far Away may not be to everyone's liking. A delicate spritz from a few feet away or a walk-through spray is more than enough.
This is a picturesque perfume, one that will bring images to your mind when wearing it. That's when a perfume is worth it's weight. Housed in an opaque round bottle with an art deco fuschia and black round cap, cordoned with a black tassel, Far Away should be on anyone's sample list.
Top Notes: Karo Karounde, Ylang-Ylang, Orange, Coconut, Peach.
Middle Notes: Jasmine, Osmanthus, Rose, Violet, Gardenia, Freesia.
Base Notes: Vanilla, Sandalwood, Musk, Amber.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* karebear0099 on 4/6/2013 7:00:00 PM more reviews by karebear0099

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Hard for me to comment on the packaging quality as I got the purse size which was $2.50. But the price for the larger perfume seems reasonable. This isn't an awful or offensive fragrance, it's just not really me. It's too sweet for me, smells like baby powder with a lot of sweetness, but doesn't have that clean soapy smell I crave with powdery scents. Will not be buying a larger size of this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kellergirl on 1/26/2013 4:10:00 PM more reviews by Kellergirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I tried this on, and the smell was quite strong. i did not think I would like this. But it dried down to a beautiful soapy floral! This is one of the most beautiful scents I have smelled in quite some time! Will purchase a full bottle of this soon!!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 daniellejmckenzie on 10/23/2012 6:54:00 PM more reviews by daniellejmckenzie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Really surprised by all of the comments of ppl hating the smell. I really like the sweetness of the scent. It smells pleasant to me and will not overpower your clothes. It won't stay on all day but it does linger a little and has a nice vanilla, warm sugar smell (if you like that ). Very affordable.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* catty7 on 8/23/2012 3:43:00 AM more reviews by catty7

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

First I bought the talcum powder. I loved it but the fragrance was so light so I upgraded to the mini perfume for 4 bucks. Loved it and couldn't believe that this is an Avon scent! I ended up buying the shower gel, body lotion, scented skin softener and now a full size bottle.
This perfume is wonderful and is a steal when it's on sale. The only thing that gives this fragrance away as an Avon scent is its short longevity. It goes on strong, perfumey and sweet but tones down very quickly.
The notes for this fragrance are orange, amber, sandalwood, gardenia, coconut, musk, violet, freesia, vanilla, osmanthus, peach, jasmine, ylang-ylang and rose. It is an ambery floral with fruit and powder tones. This is a very feminine bosomy perfume. If you like unisex or very muted watery scents, you will probably not appreciate it.
My new favourite!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* highrise on 8/17/2012 6:54:00 PM more reviews by highrise

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

Like a dayglo, Fauvist mashup of Gaultier Classique/Lancome Poeme. Bright, garish and thoroughly enjoyable at the right time.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xpomegranate on 8/8/2012 2:06:00 PM more reviews by xpomegranate

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I bought a set with the perfume, shower gel, body lotion, shimmer powder, and "skin softener" (which appears to be a lighter textured lotion with a heavier scent than the lotion) all for $13, so a good price. I really like the scent, but it doesn't seem to have lasting power on me. For $13 that doesn't bother me; I wouldn't pay full price. I put 'repurchase' but only if it came as a set. The bottle is cute but a little bit cheap looking. I rated this a 4 due to the fact that it is a nice inexpensive fragrance, not because it's the ~best ever~ or a 4/5 of all fragrances.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Avon products

More Fragrances products