LUSH • Cynthia Sylvia Stout shampoo • Shampoo

rated 3.8(168 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 Maple26 on 2/24/2015 7:43:00 AM more reviews by Maple26

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Hmm.. this didn't do anything to my hair, it didn't make it more shiny or voluminous. The smell is atrocious that i had to put tressemme conditioner over the top to cancel out the smell. My hair felt very dry once i rinsed out the shampoo but that's reasonable i know it's not meant to moisturise my hair, atleast it really cleaned my hair. Overall my hair looked and felt the exact same way as it normally does. I'll continue to use it anyway so i don't waste it, maybe only once a month :).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 cassiam on 2/23/2015 8:49:00 AM more reviews by cassiam

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Excellent shampoo to use after H'suan Wen Hua treatment, to boost the results but definitely not an everyday shampoo if you have dry hair. Also strips out any hair color you might have applied. Bad smell on bottle but it gets much better when apllying at shower cause the lemon scent comes out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Dayday00 on 1/27/2015 5:25:00 PM more reviews by Dayday00

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I love this shampoo.
I have somewhat curly hair (more wavy than curly), can be a bit oily.
I cannot explain what this shampoo does to my hair. It makes my hair clean, nice, shiny, soft, my waves are well defined AND I wash my hair every 3 days. I used to wash my hair every day. Winner here!
I used it with American Cream conditioner, perfect combo.

The price is a bit heavy but a big bottle can last me more than 7 months so thats not a problem for me!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 amebee87 on 11/21/2014 7:43:00 AM more reviews by amebee87

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I've always prided myself on big, fluffy yet shiny, low maintenance hair. That probably sounds ridiculous coming from a grown woman and engineer, but my hair is a big deal to me. I decided to try no-poo after my stylist said I was washing it too much. No-poo DESTROYED my hair! Even after going back to shampoo, my hair was dry on the bottom and greasy on top, and worst of all, it was so limp. My precious volume was all in the now straw-like ends. (I only used baking soda and ACV like twice over a 2 1/2 - 3 week period)

Desperate, I went to Lush for the first time and explained my situation. After assuring me that I was being dramatic and that my hair didn't look THAT bad, the very funny and friendly sales lady recommended this shampoo (which I bought) and Veganese conditioner (which she was sweet enough to give me a sample of). I tried them last night, did my usual thing and slept in a sock bun, and wow! Today my hair looks like its old self. Its big, bouncy, wavy and shiny, and has a very nice, natural scent.

The shampoo bubbled up nicely, and I didn't need to use very much to lather up my long (mid-back) hair. I'd recommend shaking it a few times before use, as it has some natural sediment at the bottom of the bottle if its been sitting still for awhile (probably the yeast).

I do plan on updating this review after a few weeks of use (I'm only not giving 5 stars because I've only used it once and want to be sure its the real deal). I'm excited to try more hair products from Lush (who by the way, do not advertise - a visit is highly recommended if you've got one in your area).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 oliviah4ll on 11/2/2014 5:14:00 PM more reviews by oliviah4ll

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This was the first shampoo I bought from LUSH and I was pretty pleased with my purchase! I had bought another hair product from LUSH before; the salt spray, and I was rather disappointed by it, which was annoying as it was quite expensive. However, the Cynthia Sylvia Stout Shampoo did not disappoint!

This shampoo was quite expensive at 4.50 for the 100g bottle, but it lasted me for over two months and doesn't require a large amount when used. In the shower, I squeezed a small amount of it onto my palm, rubbed my hands together and ran it through my hair from the roots to the tips. The only downside was that the shampoo didn't lather very well and so I found I couldn't really give my roots a good scrub and get rid of the greasiness entirely. I had to use another shampoo first to do this and then I applied the LUSH shampoo.

It smells lovely, kind of like lemon iced tea, which I am also very fond of. I found that it made my hair very soft and shiny. It was a lovely product to use and I think I may repurchase it if I don't find a cheaper shampoo that has the same effect.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 swimfree27 on 9/19/2014 6:40:00 PM more reviews by swimfree27

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This shampoo is perfect for all hair types. I have dry, curly hair but my roots get a little oily, so I use this just on my roots and it makes them feel clean and smooth. My sister has thinner, greasier hair and she uses it all throughout her hair and she gets a similar effect. The smell is nice, not as good as some of the other LUSH products, but still better than most shampoos. If you are looking to try a more natural shampoo that still works, I definitely suggest this one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nicolewo on 9/13/2014 8:34:00 AM more reviews by nicolewo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Really pleased with this shampoo, it smells lovely and leaves my hair gently cleansed. Gives a lovely lather with a small amount of product. And my hair is very shiny after using it. I have thick, wiry, long hair.

I follow up with Happy Happy Joy Joy, and then R&B when dry. Very pleased with my Lush hair routine!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* purrsian on 9/13/2014 6:45:00 AM more reviews by purrsian

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

There is probably nothing Lush creates that I dislike, scent-wise. This is boozy, balsamic and lemony, I enjoy the scent very much, very refreshing and soothing. I have thick long black hair, coarse too, I somehow have problem running my fingers through my hair, from scalp all the way to the ends, I usually get stuck half way. I would just rinse my hair as usual, and untangle it with Veganese conditioner, it kinda counter-balances this shampoo.

Probably this shampoo is a great shampoo for other hair types, just isn't for me, I will try to find another one next time in Lush.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KaiteKins on 5/27/2014 12:05:00 AM more reviews by KaiteKins

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This and Big are my two favorite shampoos that Lush offers for my fine straight hair. To me it actually gives volume, maybe not "Texas Volume" but I'm happy. The only thing I don't like if the price, but I probably will rebuy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ishara on 1/27/2014 12:26:00 AM more reviews by ishara

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Medium Brown, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am always trying out different shampoos, but this is one that I regularly come back to.
My hair is fine and frizzy and this shampoo smooths it down without weighing it down. Unlike many other shampoos my hair feels clean, shiny and full of body. I gave the packaging a two because my latest bottle fell in the shower and split. I think that the plastic is too brittle.

It does strip colour, but I can live with this - I alternate with a gentler shampoo.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More LUSH products

More Shampoo products