Unlisted Brand • Parfums Delrae- Bois de Paradis • Fragrances

rated 3.8(56 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tessture on 8/17/2014 9:57:00 PM more reviews by tessture

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Gorgeous light resin. Really lovely. The rose, citrus and fruit notes go completely unnoticed. In larger concentration, there is a background of faint spiced fruit and delicate floral. Lovely

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 YoHarajuku on 11/12/2012 4:36:00 PM more reviews by YoHarajuku

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

When a perfume has the word "paradis" in the title you can't help but expect an exotic summer fragrance. I was very suprised to find this to be a very dense autumn/winter fragrance. It's woody, fruity with a whiff of tobacco. It does exactly what a niche perfume should do...intrigue you. But as with most niche's, they are either wearable or un wearable. While I like this fragrance for its uniqueness, I wouldn't have the conifdence to wear it. I'm just not sure anyone who caught a whiff of this on you would find it attractive.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* glitteralex on 2/6/2011 12:41:00 AM more reviews by glitteralex

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

All cinnamon, sandalwood, vanilla, and amber...then, at the 5 minute mark- Surprise! A blast of spearmint. I actually had to doublecheck to see if I was wearing minty lip balm or had gotten some toothpaste on me. It actually made my skin tingle a bit where I had applied just the tiniest dab. After another 2 or 3 minutes the mint blends in with the spice accord, in a very pleasant and way. At 15 minutes the composition finally harmonizes and a vanilla-tonka-cinnamon persists.

This perfume is obviously made with top notch ingredients, especially in the fixatives (my achilles heel!) Hence, it is outrageously potent.

I could not detect blueberry in the least, maybe it is just a smidgen to brighten up the amber accord? As a matter of fact, I couldn't find any fruit or flowers at all.

This is gourmand in the weirdest way ever. I give it a thumbs up for managing to combine some bizarre accords in an agreeable manner.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 asoka on 5/13/2010 1:21:00 PM more reviews by asoka

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Not love at first sniff. The first time I tested this I wasn't impressed, sure it was beautiful but the sweet woods seemed too much. I found out the hard way this fragrance needs a light hand. I'm very happy I tried it again- because each time I wore it I liked it a bit more. And then one day while wearing Bois de Paradis I was baking pie and I couldn't tell the difference between the smell from the oven and the smell of my skin. That experience sealed the deal for me. I won't be buying a bottle until the leaves fall; I could imagine summer heat making this scent unbearable. But in the cooler months this will be it for me. It reminds me of fire places and rich food, a glorious winter scent.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KittySkyfish on 4/16/2010 2:52:00 AM more reviews by KittySkyfish

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Please sample this before buying! I have a penchant for strong fragrances but one spritz of this made my stomach turn and gave me a powerful migraine. Heavy, woody and incredibly cloyingly sweet. On me it smells like raisins, old cinnamon gum and hamster bedding. Raid smells better than this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bluenote on 4/12/2010 3:19:00 AM more reviews by bluenote

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Man I love this stuff: smells like good wood and cinnamon tea... kinda like an orchestral concert in progress. It's got more throw than Babe Ruth, though, so no one else likes it on me. Oh well.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* reikigoddess on 3/27/2010 1:15:00 AM more reviews by reikigoddess

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I find this scent complex and addictive & it's not too sweet at all w/my chemistry. A must try if you're a woods lover. This does not smell like anything else I've tried (and I've tried A LOT). Would love to try the body cream too. All Delrae's scents are really very nice but this is definitely my personal fave.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dolce8 on 1/27/2010 5:46:00 AM more reviews by dolce8

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Oh,no,this is terrible smell,so sour on my skin.I dont like it,and dont understand how this can be so expensive.This is truly cheap smelly perfume which I smelt many times in drugstore.Nothing special or unique.Dissapointed.Please sample before you buy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mutschi on 7/11/2009 11:14:00 PM more reviews by Mutschi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

YUCK!! Paradise?? This is the first real scrubber for me and I`ve had loads of fragrances on my skin. It actually kind of reminded me of someone being sick.. (sorry...). This smells so dead without a hint of freshness. Terrible fragrance on me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* notluisebrooks on 5/15/2009 9:00:00 AM more reviews by notluisebrooks

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Stewed apples and raspberries cooked over an outdoor woodfire, to be served sprinkled with fresh, pink rose petals and a glass of mead---that's what "Bois des Paradis" conjures up for me. It also has a special note of freshness that evokes early morning, when night dew is still drying in the sun. However, this freshness is a tiny piece of the "Bois des Paradis" story, which quickly simmers down and enters the spicy, syrupy, cured fruits realm and stays there for the entire visit. To me, "Bois des Paradis" is reminiscent of the quails in rose-petal sauce scene (in the book, the recipe) of "Like Water for Chocolate"; simmered flower petals and spices---both sweet and savory, an underlying carnality, all served up with fresh rose petals on top and a dusting of nuts. A vital kind of scent. At times, a tad overcooked."Bois des Paradis" would've benefitted from an astringent or green kick---the tiniest dash (or, the tiniest dash more) of benzoin, camphor or cypress would've balanced it out. It's certainly a very pretty fragrance and I'm not surprised that it has so many fans. However, it reminds me of a less soapy version of "Eau Suave" by Parfums D'Empire or a denser version of Bvlgari's "Rose Essentialle", both more affordable options. Here, I'll twist an old adage to suit: "With great prices comes great accountability". I'm left feeling like Parfums DelRae still needs to justify the price of this fragrance, which isn't something I'm often inclined to do.

***Update*** Who was I fooling--this is totally worth every penny of DelRae's asking price; it posseses you unawares, a fairy-tale spell for the "woodland-rose" obsessed. It's luscious, like petal-steeped flower oils and actual fresh air----brisk, windy ozone mixed with multiple countryside molecules and the closest thing to fresh, pink rose petals without the soap, to the actual things themselves (some may even find it shames shabbier varieties, with its idealistic take on the fresh, sun-touched rose). It's every summer morning, like those exciting ones of childhood, before a great "adventure". Wear this in, give it multiple attempts to develop and leave a mark. You'll get a better feel for its initially strange combination of wood chips, prunes and apple-touched roses (perhaps some of the same pommarose essence found in "DKNY Be Delicious" or Furaneol acetate is part of this potion?). Before you know it, "Bois de Paradis" will have latched on to your mamalian brain; you'll find yourself craving its expansive, lush, real-life freshness against other more insipid, astringent versions of rose. Rose and spice-lovers, brace your wallets----this is another one in the budget bracket of "glorious diaster" but you'll feel totally satsfied, like a fiend, with every spritz.

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Fragrances products