Cover Girl • Simply Powder Foundation • Powder

rated 4.0(205 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 tori497 on 8/20/2014 2:45:00 PM more reviews by tori497

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Chicago summers are notoriously hot and sticky. Three seasons out of the year, I am fine with my CG Clean Makeup oil control foundation. But in the summertime, liquid foundation can be a little too heavy and doesn't last long, especially when spending anytime outside. I decided I wanted to look into powder foundation as a lighter alternative. (I also have a bit more color now so I don't have the need for too much coverage). Enter this little gem of a product.

I do like this as a foundation. On top of concealer and under (powder) blush. I use a kabuki brush and buff this on. If there are areas that need a little extra, I use the sponge it came with and lightly pat this on. The coverage is light but very buildable. I do not find it settling into any fine lines or pores (but my combination skin skews a little oily in the summer on 50% of my face).

I found the creamy natural (my usual CG shade) to be too yellow in the powder for some reason, so I went with Classic Ivory. I agree with other reviewers that this does run dark. The Classic Ivory is not what I would personally consider a traditional ivory shade but it's a little pink; perfect for my cool complexion. The staying power is on par with any other foundation I've used, powder or liquid. I also throw it in my bag for touch ups (usually at midday).

The packaging is fine; I saved the plastic sheet it was packaged with, cut it to the size of the powder "round," and keep it in between the provided sponge and the powder itself. I find this to be a cheaper alternative to Clinique double powder (?) makeup for a fraction of the cost. So far I've had to issues with breakouts or clogged pores so I am pretty pleased.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 LABeautyGal on 8/13/2014 9:11:00 PM more reviews by LABeautyGal

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

The coverage was good, evened out my skin, covered some marks. But, the color match was awful, it looked cakey and it magnified every pore. I applied this with the sponge and with a fluffy brush. I ended up returning this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Kalady on 6/13/2014 2:34:00 PM more reviews by Kalady

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

PROS: Great coverage, natural/non-powdery on the skin, sturdy packaging, reliable, long-lasting, affordable
CONS: Color selection for us fair ladies :(

During the beginning of high school, I found my love in powder foundations. As a very natural kind of girl, I prefer looks that simply deceive the eye into thinking there is no makeup on my face but still brighten and naturally perfect. With such high reviews online and such a low price, I bought it and fell in love. The lasting power was excellent on me- 7-9 hours. The texture was smooth and the finish was undetectable on the skin. The coverage was a solid medium but buildable. It was gentle enough to let my skin breathe and not aggravate my teenage acne.

So what happened?

As I fell in love with this powder, I simultaneously began improving my skincare regimen. I fell in love with my naturally pale, Polish skin, began treating my hyperpigmentation, and embraced SPF 110 daily. The powder still worked brilliantly, but the lightest shade- Ivory- became dark enough to be my new bronzer.

The agony.

This stuff is totally HG status for me, but because of the lightness of my skin, I can't use this product. I hope that Cover Girl expands the range to accommodate both lighter and darker skin because this product is absolutely beautiful.

*Shakes fist at the makeup gods*

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 therose12 on 5/9/2014 10:39:00 AM more reviews by therose12

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

First I normally only use Clinique because I have such dry sensitive skin and breakout so easy. I can't use products that have fragrance and this one doesn't have a smell. It has a nice feel and doesn't cake or change color. I have very dry skin and don't usually use powder, but wanted to try for the summer and reviews were good on this product. I use a moisturizer first and then apply with a brush, later I use the sponge that comes with it, for touch up. Great for a hot humid day. Finally an inexpensive product that works for a super sensitive gal...;-)

Update....I still think this powder would be good for most people, but not if you have Rosacea, it is a no go for me....I have to go back to my Clinique instant relief mineral powder...it's pricey, but does the job.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Tashad88 on 3/8/2014 5:51:00 PM more reviews by Tashad88

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

LOVE this powder!! It covers well & looks flawless!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MissRubyJones on 12/6/2013 1:42:00 PM more reviews by MissRubyJones

Age: Unknown   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

Cover Girl's Simply Powder Foundation is a great basic, daytime foundation if you only need a little touch of foundation to even out your skin tone, diminish the look of pores, etc. I have no experience with using this with a damp/wet sponge; I simply use the sponge that came with it to dab it on around my nose and chin.

I would not recommend this product if you have dry skin or use acne medications. I've noticed that if my skin is slightly dry, or if I have used an acne medication around my chin, the foundation either cakes up or, in the case of the acne medication, pills.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chellio on 11/3/2013 7:09:00 PM more reviews by chellio

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This powder rocks. I have very pale, very acne-prone skin that is also oily. I've tried SO MANY powders and foundations, and this is the only one that doesn't suck for my skin. Doesn't break me out, keeps me matte. Keeps my face looking pretty most of the day (although I do reapply), with minimal oil dabbing needed. HG status.

My only gripe is that all the shades tend to run a little pink, which is a little frustrating for me as someone who is more yellow-toned and still very pale. Regardless, shade 510 does the trick and isn't too dark. It'd be fabulous if CG would make this in more shades.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 xenobia1968 on 11/3/2013 6:44:00 PM more reviews by xenobia1968

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I don't usually wear CG but the reviews on this were "glowing" so I went on out and bought it. Applying with a powder brush did nothing at all so I thought I would wet the little sponge and dig in. I patted it on my skin which caused little black "boogers" to show up all over my face. I'm assuming it was reacting with my lotion or primer...who knows. Anyway, I couldn't be having that, so I splashed water on my face and patted dry (no soap) and guess what?!? It looked great! It looked like I had applied foundation. Weird right? The powder did not wash off at all. It just kind of settled down and looked good. The reason I rated it so low is because I shouldn't have to go through this mess to get my "foundation" to look right. Also, they should not call this a foundation because right out of the package, it's too sheer to even be called a powder. Also, it clogged my pores to hell and back! By the end of the day it still looked great except for the fact that I had zits popping up along my jaws and forehead. It's a no go for me. I'm glad it works for so many people though :-)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 laukelar on 9/12/2013 11:13:00 PM more reviews by laukelar

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy   Eyes: Green    

This is the only powder I use, and I love that it's so quick and easy. I use it either as a foundation on top of BB cream and concealer, or over top of moisturizer, concealer, and light liquid foundation to set it a bit and even out the blush. As a foundation, it provides surprisingly good coverage for a powder. I would say it's almost identical to using a moderate amount of liquid foundation. I use a large fluffy powder brush to apply.
I haven't experienced major problems with breakouts; obviously your face will get more oily with makeup than without, at least in my experience.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Jilly914 on 8/25/2013 4:49:00 PM more reviews by Jilly914

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

After reading good reviews of this powder on MUA, I decided to give this powder foundation a try. To be honest, I don't think this should be called a powder foundation - it's way too sheer. At the same time, it's too pigmented to set my foundation as a finishing powder :(

When I put this powder on in the morning, it doesn't cover my redness or dark marks from left over pimples very well. It was matte when I first put it on, but I was shiney by noon. When I looked in the mirror, I could really see the redness in my skin. I tried to layer on a little more, but it just got cakey.

Also, I tried using this powder with a wet sponge to get more coverage. Big mistake! It settled in my pores and made them look huge. Yuck!

I guess this foundation would be ok for people with almost perfect normal skin. Otherwise, skip it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cover Girl products

More Powder products