Dove • Beauty Bar • Gels/Soaps

rated 4.4(861 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.87%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lushlife505 on 8/29/2014 2:29:00 AM more reviews by lushlife505

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Our family swears by the Dove sensitive skin bar. It is very gentle to the skin. It is truely unscented and leaves no scent to the skin just clean.
This one, however, is my favorite. I adore the scent and I really like that it leaves my skin lightly scented even after rinsing off. The scent is clean, soft and soothing. It is very calming to me. Not overpowering or sweet just soft and clean.
When used on my face my face feels very soft and clean. It removes all my makeup with no issues and I do not have to use makeup remover.
It is not a magic bar that clears up blemishes or rids my skin of my oiliness but it does make it soft and look more even toned than when I use other cleansers made for the face. Again it does NOT rid the oil but does make it clean and soft.
My number one face wash would be Clearasil Ultra Rapid Action Daily Gel Wash, then Dove beauty bar, then DuDu Osun African Black Soap. Clearasil really helps with my blemishes very well the best so far out of everything I have tried it also removes my makeup fairly well sometimes my mascara will need a little help but my skin looks a lot more clear with this one and my oil is somewhat better. The Dudu osun removes makeup pretty good and helps with the blemishes as well, it does nothing for my oily skin and I do not like that I have to order it and cannot buy in the stores or that it desolves so quickly. The dove is just ok for my blemishes but it makes my complexion more even, supple, and soft. I also LOVE the scent I find it so soothing for bed or evening shower.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ShailjaVashisht on 8/21/2014 6:29:00 AM more reviews by ShailjaVashisht

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I am recently trying Dove's face wash range. Have been a loyal customer of Dove face bar but now its hight time to go for the face washes. Dove Deep Pure Face Wash thoroughly cleanses face and unclogs pores. After continuous use I am even noticing that my pore size has reduced. You can check the detailed review here: Dove Deep Pure Face Wash Pore Care Review

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ginasalsabila on 8/18/2014 6:20:00 AM more reviews by ginasalsabila

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

oh god,
this product made me break out.
i use 3 dove bar before i stopped, i purchase this after hearing rave review about this.
i stopped breaking out a while ago, then when i use this bar, i have nasty cyst and pimple all over my face AND body.
i thought there was something wrong with my face, but i switched back to baby shampoo and there's only acne scars left on my face.
seriously, if you have acne prone skin and live in a humid place don't use this.
i suggest using baby shampoo instead it work wonders on me.

and this soap sting the fuck out of my eyes, and it dries out my skin after showering, than it made my face look like an oil slick after 30 minutes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 o0hollie0o on 8/10/2014 3:34:00 PM more reviews by o0hollie0o

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

The Dove Beauty Bar is amazing! It smells and feels so nice on your skin. I have used nothing but Dove on my face since I was 14, people always guess my age at around 19-21, I will actually be 31 in a couple of weeks and believe it's all thanks to Dove!. :)

I use the Dove Beauty Bar on my face and the Dove Cream Bath in my baths and will never use anything else.

Also, as others have said, it's the best product to use when shaving.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Carybear on 8/9/2014 6:50:00 AM more reviews by Carybear

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

August 2014-Why the date? Well, I have been on a journey since my early 30's, trying to find a cleanser that will not irritate or clog my pores. After my proactiv phase in my late 20's I moved on to Dermalogica.
The world has less resources now than ever, and things are often being reformulated (from food products to cosmetics) with cheaper ingredients. This is what had happened to Dermalogica's Special Cleansing Gel. Before then, it was an amazing cleanser that never irritated my skin. I have SLE and trying to find something that doesn't irritate my reactive skin is tough. Tougher now that I am nearly 40.
My skin was always rather resistant and oily, and could handle what ever I used. These days, due to the toxic environment we live in, my SLE and changing hormones I have dry/combo skin now.
I hate that Dove is tested on animals. I mean, this is 2014, why are they still using bunny ears? Not only does that make me feel bad, but my facial skin does not resemble that of a damned rabbit ear. That aside, I have tried everything thats available and in my budget which is becoming ever tighter. I have to make a choice based on logic and consistency.
Bringing Dove back, because I am sick of worrying, itching and the insane round & round.
***UPDATE*** it's strange, the sensitive beauty bar is more drying than the original white bar. I have tons of this stuff lying around. There's Dove Baby scented and unscented both of which resemble Dove original white *unscented*.
See, here's the thing. All three species of bar contain the same ingredients. Unilever is required by FDA regulations to listing greetings on the package, but not the percentages. This would prevent knockoffs etc. so what I'm saying is the Dove unscented version is very much different from the devil original white unscented. And again, Dove original white unscented is different from the orginal white with scent.
The scent does bother my skin...that sucks. But there is Dove Original white *unscented* (blue box) that has the same lather.
So far, it's been ok with just Dove. I use a toner to remove residue, but I honestly don't think there's much of a residue, and if there is, it's ok with me.
Consistency is the key, and a clean diet.

Right?

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pickmepinup on 8/8/2014 2:57:00 PM more reviews by pickmepinup

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My bar of soap of choice for my body and occasionally my face because like another reviewer said, it isn't slimy or sticky and no residue is left over. Just clean, soft skin. I've used on my face numerous times and haven't had a pimple afterwards, so you don't have to be choosy about spots with sensitive skin.

If you just shaved your legs a few days before, it's smooth and slippery enough to give you a close, quick shave without needing to break out the time-consuming heavier creams.

Do keep in mind what gentle means though, I wouldn't rely on this when you've just had a strenuous workout, your face is completely sweaty and you want your skin deeply cleansed. Foams up really easily, lasts a good while and isn't too pricey. Dove is a nice brand. I'll definitely keep on repurchasing!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 malpal007 on 8/8/2014 2:47:00 PM more reviews by malpal007

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have used this as a cleanser on and off for years and I always go back to it. I have very dry/sensitive skin. My face breaks out to many products but not this beauty bar. It's creamy and really cleans my face well. I pair this with the Burt's Bees Radiance day lotion and my skin looks and feels great, and you can't beat the price!
I would recommend this product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* spaflam on 8/4/2014 8:40:00 AM more reviews by spaflam

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I do not like bar cleansers - and never use bar soap - but Dove is a bit better than "traditional" soap bars.

That said I would NEVER use it on my face and I don;t like touching used bars of "soap" (cleanser).

Not my thing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MUAEmma on 8/4/2014 8:34:00 AM more reviews by MUAEmma

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I've tried numerous amount of brush cleaners in the past and no matter how well I use them, I will always get more product out of the makeup brushes using the soap in small circular motions than I could ever using anything else. I've been doing this now for almost 2 years and has never affected my makeup brushes!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AgentMakeup007 on 8/4/2014 7:38:00 AM more reviews by AgentMakeup007

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

It is a very gentle soap cleanser, so gentle I don't really use it on a daily basis at all, because I don't feel like it cleans all the sweat of the day of my skin thoroughly. It's a creamy bar of soap a that is not slimy or sticky at all. It lives up to its claims that once you wash it off with water it does not leave any residue. It's great for shaving and feels moisturizing to the skin, but that's about all. I prefer soaps with strong scent and rich lather for feeling squeaky clean. I only use this if I feel my skin is getting dried out and needs extra moisture. Overall, great product for sensitive, super dry, clean skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Dove products

More Gels/Soaps products