MAC #217 Blending

4.7

935 reviews

92% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

my father's nostril hairs


on 2/21/2015 3:55:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I have stupidly tried to dupe this brush to no avail. This was the brush that really go me into trying new make up looks. I used to have the hardest time blending and i ended up looking like a hot mess! This brush is a game changer and is WELL worth the price. A staple for every make up collection!



on 2/14/2015 11:26:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

Best brush EVER. This brush is probably the most versatile brush you'll ever find or use. I really only need this brush for my eyes. It can be used as a wash of color on the lids or to really pack the color on, it is also great for placing and blending color in to the crease (my favorite). I even use this to place highlighter on my face and neck and to blend it out. I haven't tried it with concealer yet, but I've heard it works great for that. This brush can pretty much do it all, other than apply your foundation. This is the one brush I can't live without, and hopefully will never have to!


on 2/9/2015 6:28:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Grey

This deserves all the raves, imo..

Feels great using it. Applies shadow like a dream...Not a whole lot more to say..?? haha..

I will say though that I believe in using a quality shadow brush for your eyes. I might skimp on a face brush now and then, but to me, it is important and smart to use and invest in a good quality eye brush. Too many times brushes shed and getting those bristles in the eyes is not good for your eyes, plus it can mess up your makeup application that you might have already built up. So to me this is 'worth it'.

Will re-purchase and recommend.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

holy grail blending brush.

I have multiples because they are so amazing. They are expensive, but so worth it. My oldest one is 5 years old and is still going strong. As long as you clean them regularly, they will last you a very long time.

Perfect for blending out shadows, but also amazing for spot concealing blemishes.

if you're going to buy a MAC brush, BUY THIS ONE.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

how on earth I managed to apply eyeshadows before I had this brush I will never know!

There aren't enough praises I can give this brush, honestly it will change your life (in terms of make up and application) forever!

I brought this after I'd spent years of trying to achieve a smokey eye that didn't look blocky and I saw so so so many YouTubers use this in videos I had to buy one!

At 16 they aren't the cheapest of brushes and at first I did think this was steep but I promise you now you'll never ever look back if you purchase a 217! The brush feels as though it would be rough and pokey on the eyelid but it actually feels super soft when in use and the shape is perfect for the crease and blending out! This brush is my saviour on rushed days where I literally apply a base shadow and a darker colour on the outer edge with my finger, I do this roughly, then I use my 217 all over and it makes it look as though I've spent 30 minutes perfecting my eye make up!

I love this so much I now have 3 as I'm lazy when it comes to washing brushes and I cannot go without this! This is also a brilliant brush for blending out contour on the sides of your nose!

Couldn't love this anymore if I tried and Ive recommended it to EVERYONE I know!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/17/2015 12:29:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Blue

HOLY GRAIL eyeshadow brush alert. This is has lasted me years and it's still in ideal condition. I don't fuss around with my eyeshadow that much. I just apply one shade all over the lid and blend it up. This is the perfect way to achieve the look I want of all one color all over the lid. I would definitely repurchase and I feel this was well-worth the price.


on 1/12/2015 5:51:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I love this brush, There is a replica of it from Sigma that is close but still doesn't hold a candle to this one.

It is good quality, soft, doesn't shed and makes eyeshadow blending issues a thing of the past.

My only gripe is a find the goats hair (light bristles) stain easily so even when it is clean the brush still looks dirty. I do wish that they could make one with black bristles so that it wouldn't get so stained.

The handle is great quality and I have had mine for probably three- four years and it hasn't shed a hair yet.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/12/2015 5:22:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I currently own 6 of these and have used them in my kit for 4 years! I have used them for everything including eyeshadow, blusher, highlighting and contour, admittedly this was more editorial as it would be quite laborious to do this every day ;) I am planning on picking up a couple more for spairs when I'm next at Mac, p.s I have also used this for lipstick ;) great for blending two together


on 12/26/2014 6:38:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I own 3 of these, plus the hakuhodo version. It's a staple I'll never be without.


on 12/20/2014 2:53:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Warm

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I haven't bought MAC makeup brushes since the early '90s when I purchased several of them and they have lasted me since then. (of course taking care of them helps with longevity)
After reading so many rave reviews about the #217 blending brush I had to check it out. It reminds me of the old #36 brush but the #217 is smaller and not as oval shaped as the #36. (does anyone else remember the #36 brush?)

The SA gave me a demo with the #217 brush and I was hooked. I loved how the shadow went on beautifully and evenly on my lids. The size is perfect for my lid space too.
I've never gotten a duplicate or backup of the same makeup brush but the #217 is an exception and I ended up getting another one as I know I will be using them regularly.

One small gripe: After washing, I find that it can splay a little. Other than that, it's perfect.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Makeup Brushes


Core Collection
205 Reviews
Blush Brush
226 Reviews

Video Reviews & Tutorials

Product Wars - Episode 5 by fionaman

Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

40 reviews
Back to Top