Dermalogica Barrier Repair

3.8

114 reviews

65% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, dimethicone/vinyl dimethicone crosspolymer, dimethicone, tocopheryl acetate, decyl shea butter esters, Citrus medica limonum (lemon) fruit extract, Fumaria officinalis extract, Oenothera biennis (evening primrose) oil, bisabolol, butylene glycol, tocopherol, propylparaben, fumaric acid, ascorbyl palmitate.


on 4/28/2015 10:34:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I haven't used this very long but I think it's an okay product. After I put it on I can see my redness reduced dramatically but other than that I don't think it does anything. In my opinion it has a silky primer like consistency to it and I like how it feels. The downside is price, it's too high for a tiny tube so I think I'll return it to Ulta because I'm feeling a bit guilty for paying so much. There's no ingredient in it that should make it that expensive so I just think it's a ripoff...



on 7/24/2014 4:14:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I got this as part of the calming kit. I had the most hope for this product. I have dry sensitive skin - I cannot remember a time that I have not had to put on moisturizer at least twice a day.

Another reviewer is right - this is really a primer not a moisturizer. As a primer it is ok and I will use it up, but I prefer Smashbox light primer.

It does work to help heal dry skin and pimples - which I would have never tried if I had not found Makeup Alley.

Save your money - there are better Dermalogica products out there to save your skin.


on 3/18/2014 1:36:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is the under-performer of the Ultra Calming line. Its of a light silicone consistency, feels greasy yet lacking moisture. It just sits atop of the epidermis supposedly sealing in whatever products you would have layered beneath it --> blocking the pores. Within an hour of application, I always see formation of bumps under my skin, that if left unchecked, would lead to zits. Its so terrible, I cannot even pass the unused product on to anyone of my friends. Easily one of the worst products I've ever used.


on 1/15/2014 11:02:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I used Dermalogica in Master Esthetics school, and it has some really great products. IMO Dermalogica is a little over priced, but this is one of my favorite products from them. It has many uses. It's not used very often only as a moisturizer, because it has a silicone base. It does feel really smooth and velvety. We mostly used it right after waxing to prevent ingrown hairs, and to put over zits to get quicker healing. I use it for waxing, zits, cuts, and after I do a chemical peel on myself or someone else, because it's really good to use after intense exfoliation. You don't need very much so this will last you a really long time. You will love this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/15/2014 7:13:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This stuff is amazing! I've been using a Retin-A cream at night for the past month which has been doing wonders for my skin, but at the same time has made my skin very dry, peely and extremely sensitive. My normal moisturizers and foundations now feel painful (like they burn) when applied to my skin. I was pretty desperate to find a daytime moisturizer that didn't burn and that would form a barrier between my skin and foundation, so the the foundation wouldn't burn. I did a makeupalley search and walked into ulta looking for the Dermalogica Barrier Repair.

I used this on my painfully sensitive face last night for the first time. I applied it over my retin-a and night moisturizer. It did not burn or hurt, in fact it felt very soothing and nice. I used more than the pea size recommended because my skin just drank it up - one pea size was totally absorbed by just one cheek. So i probably did a pea size on each cheek, forehead and then my nose/mouth (extra around corners of nose and sides of mouth where my skin is starting to crack from dryness). It felt so soft and velvety on my skin - very comforting.

Woke up this morning, went into the bathroom to get ready, and when I looked in the mirror I couldn't believe my eyes .... my face looked completely back to normal! My skin looked hydrated (not tight and dry), normal peachy skincolor (not red!), calm and soft (not inflamed and sensitive), and most shocking of all... the small cracks on the sides of my mouth and nose that were so dry they were actually starting to bleed, were almost completely healed! Like 99% healed! I actually had to lean into the mirror and inspect closely just to see a tiny line where my skin had filled in and healed over the cracks. I touched my skin and it felt completely restored to normal health, as if I was not using retin-a at all. I cannot tell you how shocked I am. This stuff is liquid gold. I don't care how much a tiny tube costs - with this kind of performance, I will continue to buy it.

I will use it today before my foundation, and see if it prevents the stinging and burning of the makeup on my skin. And I'll update this review in a few days with more detail on it's continued performance.


on 1/6/2014 2:24:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I use this as a primer. I have dry skin so i cannot use it without a moisturizer underneath and i dont think thats how it is meant to be used. It puts an ever so light and un-noticeable layer over your skin to protect it from the outside world so your moisturizer can do its thing. Makeup sits on top of it perfectly due to its silicon base and makes my skin look fresh for the perf

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/30/2013 3:08:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

I first started using this about 5 years ago along with other products from the Ultra Calming range. My skin is dehydrated/combination and reactive. I recently changed my moisturiser to something more hydrating (as this is a waterless moisturiser this is good for dry skin but not so much for dehydrated skin). Unfortunately within 1 week I noticed my skin breaking out in hot, red, itchy patches randomly. I couldn't take it anymore and switched back to the Barrier Repair - I instantly noticed the difference in my skin. No more reactions! The redness in my skin calmed down within days and this stuff continues to protect my skin from reactions and redness. If your skin is very dry or dehydrated you will need something else underneath this. I have been using organic rosehip oil underneath this every night to correct the dehydration in my skin and so far they are proving to be the perfect combination for my skin.
If you suffer from sensitive or reactive skin I really recommend you try this at least once, this is so soothing and and gentle! This is expensive, but with a little research you can usually find the salon size bottles online which work out so much cheaper and last forever!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/24/2013 1:55:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This anhydrous gel moisturizer works like a shield over your skin to protect it from the elements. Not suitable for oily skin types as this is a waterless moisturizer. It makes an excellent makeup primer so it can do the job of both as long as you aren't very dry.


on 9/8/2013 11:36:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Last week I finally bought the Barrier Repair after first using the samples that I've got from my beautician. Although this product is definitely not cheap, it's for sure worth it! I have a combination/ oily skin, but sometimes it's gets a little bit dry too. The Barrier Repair is the solution for my dry patches. When I put the barrier repair in the morning, at the end of the day the patches are almost gone! It's amazing!


on 6/19/2013 8:40:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

First things first - this is marketed by Dermalogica as a moisturizer so it's not really fair to call others stupid for expecting it to be moisturizing. Dermalogica should do a better job of managing expectations; it's not the user's fault.

That said, I do find this somewhat moisturizing. It all depends on how well you do with silicone. I have dry, somewhat sensitive skin and this is sort of a jack-of-all-trades product for me. I use it as a primer in the morning and to add a little extra protection if my skin starts to feel dry during the day--I can smooth a bit on without ruining my makeup. I also always take it with me when I travel. I don't know if it's the placebo effect or what, but my skin does feel calmed and protected from the elements when I put it on during a flight or whatever. It kind of feels like you're about to put on a layer of Vaseline, but it absorbs easily and leaves a neutral finish: not matte, not shiny, just smooth.

I love the product, hate the price. I try to find it on eBay for about half of retail. Barring that you can buy online from stores that have 20% off codes and that makes it more reasonable. A little goes a long way so the tube does last a while.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Popular Moisturizers


Moisturizing Cream
1267 Reviews
Strobe Cream
432 Reviews
Sweet Almond Oil
197 Reviews
Back to Top