Dermalogica • Barrier Repair • Moisturizers

rated 3.8(112 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 lushyluxe on 3/18/2014 1:36:00 AM more reviews by lushyluxe

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is the under-performer of the Ultra Calming line. Its of a light silicone consistency, feels greasy yet lacking moisture. It just sits atop of the epidermis supposedly sealing in whatever products you would have layered beneath it --> blocking the pores. Within an hour of application, I always see formation of bumps under my skin, that if left unchecked, would lead to zits. Its so terrible, I cannot even pass the unused product on to anyone of my friends. Easily one of the worst products I've ever used.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* prettygirlmo on 1/15/2014 11:02:00 AM more reviews by prettygirlmo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I used Dermalogica in Master Esthetics school, and it has some really great products. IMO Dermalogica is a little over priced, but this is one of my favorite products from them. It has many uses. It's not used very often only as a moisturizer, because it has a silicone base. It does feel really smooth and velvety. We mostly used it right after waxing to prevent ingrown hairs, and to put over zits to get quicker healing. I use it for waxing, zits, cuts, and after I do a chemical peel on myself or someone else, because it's really good to use after intense exfoliation. You don't need very much so this will last you a really long time. You will love this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Rachel1234 on 1/15/2014 7:13:00 AM more reviews by Rachel1234

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is amazing! I've been using a Retin-A cream at night for the past month which has been doing wonders for my skin, but at the same time has made my skin very dry, peely and extremely sensitive. My normal moisturizers and foundations now feel painful (like they burn) when applied to my skin. I was pretty desperate to find a daytime moisturizer that didn't burn and that would form a barrier between my skin and foundation, so the the foundation wouldn't burn. I did a makeupalley search and walked into ulta looking for the Dermalogica Barrier Repair.

I used this on my painfully sensitive face last night for the first time. I applied it over my retin-a and night moisturizer. It did not burn or hurt, in fact it felt very soothing and nice. I used more than the pea size recommended because my skin just drank it up - one pea size was totally absorbed by just one cheek. So i probably did a pea size on each cheek, forehead and then my nose/mouth (extra around corners of nose and sides of mouth where my skin is starting to crack from dryness). It felt so soft and velvety on my skin - very comforting.

Woke up this morning, went into the bathroom to get ready, and when I looked in the mirror I couldn't believe my eyes .... my face looked completely back to normal! My skin looked hydrated (not tight and dry), normal peachy skincolor (not red!), calm and soft (not inflamed and sensitive), and most shocking of all... the small cracks on the sides of my mouth and nose that were so dry they were actually starting to bleed, were almost completely healed! Like 99% healed! I actually had to lean into the mirror and inspect closely just to see a tiny line where my skin had filled in and healed over the cracks. I touched my skin and it felt completely restored to normal health, as if I was not using retin-a at all. I cannot tell you how shocked I am. This stuff is liquid gold. I don't care how much a tiny tube costs - with this kind of performance, I will continue to buy it.

I will use it today before my foundation, and see if it prevents the stinging and burning of the makeup on my skin. And I'll update this review in a few days with more detail on it's continued performance.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Caish on 1/6/2014 2:24:00 AM more reviews by Caish

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I use this as a primer. I have dry skin so i cannot use it without a moisturizer underneath and i dont think thats how it is meant to be used. It puts an ever so light and un-noticeable layer over your skin to protect it from the outside world so your moisturizer can do its thing. Makeup sits on top of it perfectly due to its silicon base and makes my skin look fresh for the perf

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sarah0711 on 10/30/2013 3:08:00 AM more reviews by sarah0711

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I first started using this about 5 years ago along with other products from the Ultra Calming range. My skin is dehydrated/combination and reactive. I recently changed my moisturiser to something more hydrating (as this is a waterless moisturiser this is good for dry skin but not so much for dehydrated skin). Unfortunately within 1 week I noticed my skin breaking out in hot, red, itchy patches randomly. I couldn't take it anymore and switched back to the Barrier Repair - I instantly noticed the difference in my skin. No more reactions! The redness in my skin calmed down within days and this stuff continues to protect my skin from reactions and redness. If your skin is very dry or dehydrated you will need something else underneath this. I have been using organic rosehip oil underneath this every night to correct the dehydration in my skin and so far they are proving to be the perfect combination for my skin.
If you suffer from sensitive or reactive skin I really recommend you try this at least once, this is so soothing and and gentle! This is expensive, but with a little research you can usually find the salon size bottles online which work out so much cheaper and last forever!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 LBooz16 on 9/24/2013 1:55:00 PM more reviews by LBooz16

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This anhydrous gel moisturizer works like a shield over your skin to protect it from the elements. Not suitable for oily skin types as this is a waterless moisturizer. It makes an excellent makeup primer so it can do the job of both as long as you aren't very dry.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cellabellaaa on 9/8/2013 11:36:00 AM more reviews by cellabellaaa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Last week I finally bought the Barrier Repair after first using the samples that I've got from my beautician. Although this product is definitely not cheap, it's for sure worth it! I have a combination/ oily skin, but sometimes it's gets a little bit dry too. The Barrier Repair is the solution for my dry patches. When I put the barrier repair in the morning, at the end of the day the patches are almost gone! It's amazing!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 RThorn on 6/19/2013 8:40:00 AM more reviews by RThorn

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

First things first - this is marketed by Dermalogica as a moisturizer so it's not really fair to call others stupid for expecting it to be moisturizing. Dermalogica should do a better job of managing expectations; it's not the user's fault.

That said, I do find this somewhat moisturizing. It all depends on how well you do with silicone. I have dry, somewhat sensitive skin and this is sort of a jack-of-all-trades product for me. I use it as a primer in the morning and to add a little extra protection if my skin starts to feel dry during the day--I can smooth a bit on without ruining my makeup. I also always take it with me when I travel. I don't know if it's the placebo effect or what, but my skin does feel calmed and protected from the elements when I put it on during a flight or whatever. It kind of feels like you're about to put on a layer of Vaseline, but it absorbs easily and leaves a neutral finish: not matte, not shiny, just smooth.

I love the product, hate the price. I try to find it on eBay for about half of retail. Barring that you can buy online from stores that have 20% off codes and that makes it more reasonable. A little goes a long way so the tube does last a while.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Bellona on 5/5/2013 12:36:00 AM more reviews by Bellona

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I received a generous sample pack of this (enough for two weeks use) in combination with the ultra calming cleanser and serum. This was the best of the sample pack, and I would repurchase this. I recently had a microdermabrasion treatment that left me breaking out with pimples and red irritated skin. I thought it would be a perfect time to try this system. I've reviewed the other two products separately.
I really like the barrier repair. I can see why people think it should be moisturizing, it IS called a moisturizer by Dermalogica and says so right in the product directions etc. Like others, I didn't find it moisturizing or hydrating enough to use on its own. But oh how it soothed my irritated skin :) I love the texture and how it glides on smooth, and almost makes my skin look better instantly. The redness subsides, and it feels velvety soft. I think this would work wonderfully for those undergoing a treatment that may irritate their skin, someone using retinol or in a winter when the cold and wind can chap your skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bonnyanne on 2/4/2013 10:07:00 AM more reviews by bonnyanne

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really love and recommend this product! It's absolutely fantastic for my dry, red and sensitive skin. Since using the barrier rapair as part of my daily Ultra Calming range regime I have had nothing but success. It's NOT a moisturiser (many people who've reviewed it negatively seem to think it is for some strange reason...?!), but is meant to be put on VERY MINIMALLY over the top of your moisturiser. I generally had just been putting it on after using the Ultra Calming Serum, and I adore the silky soft feeling the barrier repair gives my skin. The main reason why I think this is a great product though is because when I had put it on over the top of itchy, red and blotchy patches on my forehead it really helped relieve those areas and clear up the redness, just giving my skin the protection it needed to in order to heal. I really don't have any redness anymore. To me that was just wonderful, as no other product had really made a significant difference in helping my skin heal. During the winter here my skin gets really sensitized and the Barrier Repair is a lifesaver that I don't go without before leaving the house.
I suggest that people try a sample of this from their local Dermalogica salon, or just purchase the travel sized tube, just to see how you like it for yourself. Maybe it's not for everyone. But for people who have really sensitive skin, dryness, itchiness and redness, I really don't think you'll be disappointed in this. It IS expensive, which you come to expect from a quality Dermalogica product, but with the results you get it's got to be worth it. Especially when used in conjuntion with the Ultra Calming range, you will see results.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Dermalogica products

More Moisturizers products