MAC Cream Colour Base in Hush

4.3

110 reviews

83% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Octyldodecanol, Simmondsia chinesis (Jojoba) seed oil, Synthetic beeswax, Butyrospermum parkii (shea butter), Silica, Jojoba esters, Copernica cerifera (Carnauba) waz/ Cera carnauba/ Cire de carnauba, Ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate, Paraffin, Hydrogenated polyisobutene, Tocopherol, Ascorbyl palmitate, Alumina, Polybutene, PVP/hexadecene copolymer, Stearic acid, [+/- Mica, Titanium dioxide (CI 77891), Iron oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Bismuth oxychloride (CI 77163), Blue I lake (CI 42090), Carmine (CI 75470). Chromium oxide greens (CI 77288), Ferric ferrocyanide (CI 77510), Red 6 (CI 15850), Red 7 lake (CI 15850), Red 28 lake (CI 45410), Red 30 lake (CI 73360), Ultramarines (CI 77007), Yellow 5 lake (CI 19140), Yellow 10 lake (CI 47005)]


on 6/25/2015 11:44:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've had Hush for probably over three years now. When I originally bought it, I wasn't sure what to do with it, so it just sat. Seeing as I am a little more experienced with makeup and I'm on a bit of a highlighter kit, I decided to shop my stash. This baby is awesome!! I apply it to the tops of my cheekbones and it just gives the perfect silvery/champagne highlight. I apply it with a MAC 130, which is a duo fiber small domed brush (picture the MAC 109 as duo fiber) and it blends it out perfectly. I'm oily, so I tend to go for powder products, but I love the dewiness that Hush gives. I have also topped it w/ Becca Opal highlight to extend the life of my highlight and it's awesome! I'm glad I kept Hush around and now I'm tempted to try some of MACs other cream colored bases.



on 5/24/2015 8:31:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is a beautiful highlighter!

One thing with MAC cream color bases, though, is that they crease terribly when applied on the eyes...even on top of a base!


on 7/12/2014 1:14:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is lovely. I went to my local MAC counter in search of blush, when I noticed these creamy looking pots that I had never seen before. The SA picked this one out, saying she thought it would look nice. (I'm between an NC25 and NC30 right about now) I am a highlighter junkie, but have been going mostly for golds and bronze-y highlights. This was around 8 at night, and my makeup was slightly oxidized and I was a tad greasy. She put some blotting powder on me, and then this on my eyes and along my cheekbones. I was pleasantly surprised! I don't know if it was the lighting MAC had, but my face looked so alive and fresh. Normally, I stray from cream formulas because I am so oily - but this looked so natural and pretty. On my face it pulls a smidge of a cool silver, but swatched and blended on the skin it's just a soft, slightly shimmery yet diffusing glow! The color looks like a pinky silver in the pan and on my face, but on my finger before its blended it's a lovely peachy champagne with a hint of gold. This did not fare well on my eyes, as they are far too greasy and this creased almost instantly. $20 was a bit pricey for a cream highlight, but I can't say I've seen any drugstore/lower priced similar items. I love how natural this looks - it's not super obvious - no blue purple toned pinks or straight gold. (Looking at you, Albatross and High Beam...)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/21/2014 10:47:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love, Love this it is perfect for just a glow, most highlighters are just to much, but this
gives the glow without looking like your face has highlighter all over it,
you just cant beat MAC


on 2/17/2014 1:48:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I am a shimmer and highlighter lover, and from the first swatch of this on my hand in the MAC store, I knew I had to have it. Have not regretted my purchase. It makes my face luminous and adds life, waking up my complexion.


on 10/6/2013 6:18:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought the product after seeing several youtube reviews praising it for creating a wonderful luxurious "glow" and it definitely fulfilled my expectations. Applied on the cheekbones it adds dimension to the face and will make you look fresh and healthy. The texture appears to be rather thick and quite dry in the pan, but it "melts" somewhat when applied with your fingers which makes the application very easy. The shimmer is subtle and elegant and the colour "Hush" is definitely suited for a classy daytime make-up aswell as for more dramatic evening looks. The price (20,50 Euros over here) is definitely okay considering the product's high quality and for MAC standards it's actually quite affordable. I'll definitely get the CCB in other shades as soon as possible.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I was recommended this product by a MAC makeup artist to use as a highlighter on my cheek bones and brow bones. I loved the texture and finish of this product, as often powder highlighters just appear to be too powdery and glittery.

After using this product for 2 consecutive days in conjunction with my usual everyday MAC face products (Matchmaster foundation, Mineralize Skinfinish Natural powder) I noticed that it was causing my usually clear skin to break out in small pimples, all along my cheek bones. I decided to stop using this product and my skin is beginning to clear up, but a week later my skin is still not back to it's initial condition :(


on 7/23/2013 8:05:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I love this. In the summer I really hate wearing makeup, but a touch of this seems to give me a fresh glow. Perfect for the 'no makeup look'. It is really really subtle, but can be built up. I tend to just wear it on my cheeks without other blush- to keep the overall look dewy. I like to add a touch down my nose, and under my brows, across forehead. Remember to blend though- it's quite easy to 'under blend'

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really like this product. The color is gorgeous and will suit a lot of skin types. I use this as a highlight on my cheeks and eyes. When I use it on my cheeks it gives me a nice dewy, healthy glow that I love! It actually lasts a good amount of time by itself. But on the eyes, I'd have to set with an eyeshadow. It is a little pricey, but I love it. It's my favorite cream color base.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 4/8/2013 5:03:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have light-medium skin tone, and I prefer to use Hush as a brow bone and inner eye highlight when I do a very dark smoky eye. It is not as jarring as a cream/white/ivory color, but still gives a good amount of flesh/pink light reflection. A little goes a very long way, as I have found with all of my CCBs.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

42 reviews
image

Matte - Saddle

94 reviews
Back to Top