Bumble & Bumble • Gentle Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 3.9(180 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hollytron on 10/17/2014 3:00:00 AM more reviews by Hollytron

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Well... Loved it very much at the beginning. It lathered well, my hair didn't feel too dry but did get a little tangled. Smelled herbal. Not great but not bad. Seemed to be doing the job. With time I noticed my hair becoming more oily, limp, yet frizzy? My scalp is so itchy I can't stand it. Unfortunately I must be having a reaction to something in this shampoo because my scalp is itchy and my hair feels wet, but I blow dried it... It's just that oily (and I only use conditioner on the ends. Super rich was too rich evidently (and I use rich stuff usually). And this somehow still made my scalp oily and itchy. I have been wearing my hair up since I wake up with flat, oily, unmanageable hair... :( My hair is color treated, fine texture and medium thickness. This is only the second time I can even remember a shampoo treating me this poorly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kearro on 9/18/2014 11:34:00 AM more reviews by kearro

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

To start with, I have thick yet fine, coarse hair that is regularly colored. Because I have a lot of wave and crazy cowlicks I blow-dry, straighten and use a minimum of 3 styling products regularly. While I understand the concerns some have about "harsh detergents" such as sodium laureth sulfate I have found that I need a shampoo that will a) get all the junk out that I've put in each day b) leave my overstyled hair soft and manageable. Bumble and Bumble has the only products that has achieved this thus far. I pair it with the Super Rich Conditioner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 meganlovesyooou on 1/25/2014 10:34:00 PM more reviews by meganlovesyooou

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Never really liked Bumble & Bumble shampoo until I tried this guy! For reference, I have long, color-treated hair and although my scalp isn't particularly oily, I like to wash my hair everyday or at least every other day. (I know, I'm terrible! Just love that freshly washed feeling.)
I wash twice and then follow up with the B&B Super Rich conditioner and my hair looks, feels, and smells fab! It doesn't make my hair color fade prematurely either, which is a huge plus!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ccarlino on 1/24/2014 8:01:00 PM more reviews by ccarlino

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Silver, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This shampoo was recommended by a hair stylist at a high end salon. I have mature hair that is double textured: kinky, curly and wavy along the front hair line forehead and sides. The crown and back areas have nice body with normal texture and wave. This shampoo works fine in those areas, but makes my hair dull and lifeless around the front hairlines that is fuzzy and curly. I also stopped coloring and highlighting my mature hair, thus it is natural gray, so this may be too strong for virgin hair.

Along with B&B's Seaweed, this shampoo was a "no go" for me. I am assuming from the mostly positive reviews, this product works best on thicker, chemically treated hair given its creamy consistency. Not a bad shampoo and it smells nice. Will use as hand soap or in the shower.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* izzybella on 8/22/2013 1:26:00 PM more reviews by izzybella

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a pretty good shampoo and lives up to its name of being "gentle". My hair is soft and shiny and doesn't have that squeaky-clean feeling post-shampoo, which is how I determine whether a shampoo is too harsh. It has a light fresh scent, similar to that of the Bb Styling Lotion or Thickening hairspray. However, I would prefer a SLS-free formulation, and think that I can achieve comparable results with a shampoo from a natural line, like Avalon Organics. For reference, I have fine, non-color treated, slightly wavy hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kittencuddler on 12/31/2012 1:51:00 PM more reviews by kittencuddler

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Super lovely product, really helps keep the frizz down for me. It smells lovely, and you only need a little bit. I wash my hair every other day, and it does a fine job of keeping my hair looking nice and shiny on the nonwash days. :D

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mainlinediva2 on 12/16/2012 9:42:00 PM more reviews by mainlinediva2

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

First off, I totally agree with the other reviewers about this containing harsh sulfates, that said the more I used this with the Super rich cond. the more I liked this. Ok, it's not "gentle" but I will tell you this as someone who suffers with dermatitis it's extremely hard to find shampoo's that do not irritate this condition and honestly it doesn't bother mine at all. I noticed also combining this with super rich cond. has made my hair healthier overall. Only huge downside is the price...super expensive, but you seriously only need a dab of this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LeslieMUA on 11/3/2012 10:18:00 AM more reviews by LeslieMUA

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Firstly, I don't find this shampoo to be especially gentle. I prefer to use shampoos that are sulfate-free because I find that my my hair is shinier, stronger and less dry without them.

All that said, I really love this shampoo for washing away oil treatments. Once every few weeks, I put coconut oil in my hair and leave it for a day or two. Sometimes I'll even leave the oil in for up to four days. The sulfate-free shampoos I typically use wouldn't be able to get the oil out, but this shampoo does a great job. Compared to other shampoos I could use to remove oil, this shampoo is gentler. It gets all of the treatment out of my hair without undoing all the good things the oil did for my hair.

I do think this shampoo is expensive, but a bottle lasts me at least a year when I use it like this, so it's not so bad.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Cidalrain on 9/28/2012 4:17:00 AM more reviews by Cidalrain

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    


For a product to call itself "gentle" I would think it would not have ANY Sodium Laureth Sulfates OR Ammonium Lauryl Sufates and this shampoo has both! Sodium Laureth Sulfates I can deal with as it is not as damaging as the Ammonium. ALS causes your hair and scalp to be so stripped that it will cause dandruff in many people. Which then they will then try to combat with Selsun Blue or some prescription dandruff shampoo when really it was the Ammonium Laurel Sulfate that was causing the dandruff all along. I am highly skeptical of the people who reviewed this shampoo as "not stripping" their hair. I would imagine these people have very oily hair to begin with so it works for them. Definitely not a shampoo for dry damaged hair which it is wrongly marketed for. And for the price? I would expect them to not contain the same ingredients that are in your cheap bargain drug store brands like VO5 and Pantene. This lathers so well because it has both of these sulfates in it. So it is not "concentrated". It is just high in damaging sulfates. I really wish people would read the ingredients of their shampoos then research them on the net because in this technological time there is NO REASON for anyone to not know stuff. (and just believe whatever the label says or whatever they are told). One of my biggest pet peeves but I segued here, I think the best thing Bumble and Bumble are great at is their marketing as they have ingeniously marketed run of the mill, cheap ingredients passing them off as high end ingredients when that is just not the case.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 wandesta80 on 8/9/2012 3:29:00 PM more reviews by wandesta80

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I have been using this for the past 3 months. It has been very gentle to my color treated, curly hair. It is concentrated so a little can go along way.I would definitely recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bumble & Bumble products

More Shampoo products