Cover Girl • CG Smoothers All Day Hydrating Makeup • Liquid

rated 3.7(226 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Andie97 on 10/18/2014 12:44:00 PM more reviews by Andie97

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have oily skin, and I don't find this all that "hydrating" however it isn't drying either. The finish is nearly matte, and very natural looking which is why I like it so much! The coverage is light, and I do wish it had more opaque coverage, but then it's good for a natural look, and setting it with powder helps amp up the coverage. I like CG's Trublend Pressed Powder over this, because that has light coverage and a very smooth finish, and I think they pair well together. I am pretty fair, with yellow undertones, and "Creamy Natural" works great. The shades seem to run lighter in this line versus other CG foundations, because I'm usually a "Classic Ivory" in CG. I love the cute little squeeze bottle, which is not only portable and hygenic, it allows me to get almost all the product out. I wish all foundations were packaged like this. This doesn't get cakey, looks natural, and doesn't break me out, and is relatively cheap, so I would repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tinytriggers on 9/20/2014 1:21:00 PM more reviews by tinytriggers

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Grey    

This is the only foundation I have used that really stands out in my mind. Doesn't seem to break me out, matches my skin tone really well, and doesn't look cakey after wearing for a long time. I live in a humid climate so it isn't ideal that it's hydrating, but I assume that wouldn't be a problem for someone with dry skin. I would also love it it had a bit more coverage :( But overall, I am sticking to this until i find something a bit more opaque!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tswope57 on 9/13/2014 11:23:00 AM more reviews by tswope57

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have this in 740/Natural Beige. I typically go for beige or honey tones and this totally blends into my skin. I really like this foundation for my mature skin as it is hydrating and does not settle into fine lines. (I rarely apply foundation around my eye area and am happy with Rimmel Match Perfect right now). I apply with a flat top kabuki foundation brush and it lasts all day. (Sometimes I use my fingers and its fine - brush adds more of airbrushed look). It is not a heavy foundation so if you are looking to conceal brown spots or blemishes, this will not work. But it is buildable. I apply PF mineral wear talc free pressed powder spf 30 in Translucent below my cheeks and along jawline to add another layer of coverage for some very light melasma that I keep at bay using Obaji Clear. I have used Lancome, EL, various L'Oreal, PF, and I like this best right now. I still like Healthy Skin spf 50 by PF - but I don't see that at the drugstores anymore. The only downside is that you get 1 fl. oz and for the price, that's a small amount! The upside to that is that it travels easily, and you'll use it up before it gets "gunky"!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Meaganbutters on 6/5/2014 5:57:00 AM more reviews by Meaganbutters

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

This stuff is awesome. I've been looking for something light that covers the small blemishes on my face and this is perfect for the job. Doesn't look like I'm wearing too much make up either. It's only my second time wearing it and so far I haven't seen any problems in my skin, which is awesome.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jadeseymour on 4/25/2014 8:56:00 PM more reviews by jadeseymour

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this foundation !! It gives light -medium coverage and has a very natural finish that looks like second skin . This doesn't oxidize like the 3in1 also by CG or transfer . This doesn't make my T-zone too oily and doesn't enhance dry skin . I p

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 flowerpan10 on 4/8/2014 3:59:00 AM more reviews by flowerpan10

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I did my research before buying this foundation so I knew that I was looking for something with light coverage. I got the shade classic beige which my mother said is too light but then I told her it was the one I was wearing (she only swatched some on her hand) and she was surprised at the color match. I was skeptical at the hydrating properties because of my insanely oily skin that looks as if any dryness left for vacation and never came back. This ended up going on smooth and giving me a luminous glow without feeling or looking greasy which shocked me considering a lot of my supposed "oil control" foundations are mediocre in comparison and that's me wearing it on a hot day! I can't explain it but it's a miracle product. Sure the coverage is light but it fades and color corrects ever so slightly which gives me this great, natural look. I really hope this isn't discontinued like the Natureluxe. Seems like all of Covergirl's little travel sized treasures end up going out of production :/ I used to think Neautrogena's Skin Clearing Makeup was my Holy Grail but for the color match, oil control and price point at 7.50 vs. 10-15 (depending on where you go) I will certainly consider this Covergirl my Holy Grail Status unless my skin needs change.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 amymb on 3/5/2014 3:33:00 PM more reviews by amymb

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a foundation that is basically a tinted moisturizer that is a little heavier with pigmentation. The coverage is LIGHT but it works really well to cover redness and minimal blemishes, which is why I like it. The full-coverage look has never worked for me, mostly because I am super fair-skinned and very pink-undertoned, and full-coverage only makes me look like a zombielike porcelain doll. This foundation makes your overall skin look much smoother, even, and a little glowy, so instead of looking like a mask it tones down imperfections and redness.

Pros:
The lightest shade actually matches my skin tone due to it having pink-undertones, which hardly any foundations ever have.

Easy to apply and blend and looks natural.

Doesn't irritate my skin.

Cons:
The only real downside is that it doesn't last and seems to dissipate after just a few hours especially on my t-zone. I'm not surprised since it's moisturizing but I wish it did have a bit more lasting power.

Overall, for the price and what it's advertised to do, it holds up to what it claims.
Tip: mix with a heavier, more matte foundation to keep it from getting cakey.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Reservechic on 2/9/2014 6:19:00 PM more reviews by Reservechic

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I think that it's a fairly good foundation overall. It goes on very smoothly onto my face. It oxidizes on my face only slightly. I don't find that to be too much of a big deal. As, even though it does oxidize a bit while I'm wearing it, it does not leave me with that embarrassing orange, oompa loompa look that I I've experienced from many a foundation.

I find that it wears pretty well, after setting it with powder. It doesn't settle under my eyes or anywhere else on my face either. And, I do appreciate that it is completely fragrance free.

I'm not sure if this product was meant to be used on oily skins. But, while I was using it, I never had any problems with it. And, I do happen to combo-to-oily skin myself.

The reason why, I probably won't ever be re-purchasing this product again, is because it doesn't provide full coverage. When I wear foundations now, I prefer them to be able to provide full coverage. And, unfortunately, this one does not.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jennlw5 on 2/7/2014 10:48:00 AM more reviews by Jennlw5

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This has been fantastic for me! I have been suffering with dry, sensitive, red, flaky skin this winter and this foundation has helped me so much. It doesn't make the flaky patches worse, it actually helps to hide them and it completely toned down the redness on my face. I find using a brush to apply it works much better.
My skin looks so smooth, my pores minimized and it lasts all day.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 teghanm on 1/30/2014 6:09:00 PM more reviews by teghanm

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I really love this product!! I've always seen it in drugstores, but never bothered picking it up or checking it out as it never caught my eye. But I picked one up a couple weeks ago, and have loved it ever since! It's lightweight, but also build-able if you need more coverage, does not break me out at all or irritate my skin, and doesn't dry my skin out either. A really reliable and natural looking foundation that won't cause you any problems. Cheap too!

The only downside is that because it is fragrance free, it smells similar to sunscreen, which is a little unpleasant (in my opinion).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cover Girl products

More Liquid products