OPI • Malaga Wine • Polishes

rated 4.7(146 reviews)

Average Rating.4.7
Would buy this product again.94%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 seafoam7 on 7/30/2014 10:40:00 PM more reviews by seafoam7

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

This polish is a true blood red. Indoors it's definitely darker and more sultry. Outdoors, it takes on a maraschino cherry hue. Malaga Wine is classic and it should feel right anytime. The texture is very jelly-like but adds to the shine and overall mood.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 smanha on 5/27/2014 8:26:00 PM more reviews by smanha

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

The perfect red for pale ish people! It's not that BRIGHT red, fire hydrant red, hooker red. It's a classier, more elegant, expensive call girl red. Good for any season or occasion. Resistant to chipping for a while! Thanks, OPI!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* keiki300 on 5/11/2014 12:50:00 AM more reviews by keiki300

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

The very very best red out there. Looks good on everyone. The only nail polish I have bought over and over again. I think I read somewhere that Princess Di used to wear this sometimes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 classicbelle on 1/27/2014 8:21:00 AM more reviews by classicbelle

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Love this color . I got compliment wearing this polish.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* seramadis on 1/15/2014 6:05:00 PM more reviews by seramadis

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is the first OPI polish that I've tried and I love it! It makes me feel like licking it lol. Because it's the same colour as some cherry lollipops I used to eat. I only put on one coat because 2 coats makes it too dark for my taste, with one coat it's already opaque, but the colour is lighter. It's the longest lasting nail polish that I have, most nail polishes don't even last 2 days on me. I've had it on now for 4 days and no chipping, I'm going to keep it on until it chips but it looks GREAT at this moment! I'm definitely going to try more OPI polishes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cgw1 on 12/25/2013 2:21:00 AM more reviews by cgw1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Everyone compliments me on my nails when I wear Malaga wine. I literally mean everyone. Cashiers, friends coworkers my (male) doctor the list goes on and on. This amount of compliments from people I don't even know goes to show what a unique and flattering wine shade this is. Perfect for fall and winter. If I want to get noticed this is the nail polish to wear.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 starlightsparkl on 12/18/2013 8:42:00 PM more reviews by starlightsparkl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I am absolutely OBSESSED. Let me first say that i completely understand why people invest in OPI nail polishes, simply for the following reasons:
1) This polish is a gorgeous, perfect red that would compliment so many skin tones.
2) The formula is extremely smooth, opaque, and forgiving. Even if you aren't the best at painting your nails, the formula makes this polish extremely easy to apply.

Overall, a very classy color and a nice shiny finish. I would definitely recommend!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lynn7551 on 12/16/2013 10:29:00 PM more reviews by lynn7551

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This looks darker in the bottle than it applies. I love how it looks on my nails in artificial light/low light situations, but in the sun it looks very tomato red on me, instead of the darker oxblood that I was hoping for. I will be demoting this one to a pedi shade, but it may end up in my swap pile.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* royas784 on 11/5/2013 10:45:00 PM more reviews by royas784

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Malaga Wine is a versatile, fairly unique shade of red. It's a neutral toned red, so it's not orange-y or too purplish. Depending on the light, it's a cherry red (in sunlight) or a crimson/wine shade (indoors/dim light)- it falls somewhere in between under indoor light. This quality alone makes this one of my favorite shades of red, since it's flattering for all seasons. I also love that it's a cream, easy to apply color that doesn't streak; I apply two coats over a base coat and finish with a top coat. I tend to mostly wear it fall/winter, and usually opt for brighter colors in the summer. I have NC 35 skin tone, and Malaga Wine looks great on me. Since it doesn't lean on one end or the other on the red color-spectrum, it's a happy medium that I think would flatter all but the darker skin tones (which would probably look better with lighter and brighter polishes). I'd say if you have fair to medium/tan skin, you'll probably like Malaga Wine. It's a beautiful, classy OPI red.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bonniherself on 10/18/2013 4:03:00 AM more reviews by bonniherself

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I keep seeing this described as red, and it is, more or less, but it's red in the way that wine is red, that is, it's richly medium-dark, plummy, and leans purple. This is especially visible on the first coat, which is typically streaky and thin (the plummy-purpley edge is very apparent, though). By the second coat, I have acceptable opacity, and a deeper, more red-wine colour.

This has a lovely, smooth formula, good application, and, of course, the nice, wide, OPI Pro-Wide brush. I don't know if I'd call this a jelly, but it's certainly jelly-like. Maybe calling it a jelly-creme would be approriate, because it really does seem to be somewhere in between. It's got depth of colour like a jelly, but also characteristics of a creme.

I have to admit, I have a long love affair with plummy, wine red nail polishes. This one is one of the best I've worn, and I'd certainly buy it again. Yum. :)

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More OPI products

More Polishes products