Paula's Choice • Hydralight One Step Face Cleanser - Normal to Oily/Combination Skin • Cleansers

rated 4.0(261 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 jhenley on 8/6/2014 11:41:00 AM more reviews by jhenley

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

This is a good gel cleanser. I have oily skin and it was refreshing and worked well, but ultimately I like her Skin Balancing line a bit better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Eire1 on 7/27/2014 10:18:00 AM more reviews by Eire1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I HAD THE SAMPLE
I have oily skin and this gel texture felt good on my skin. I felt a reduction in oiliness and it soothed some areas of my complexion but irritated my forehead momentarily. Despite the label I don't think this would feel good on combination skin and normal skin may feel dried out .

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kennymoron on 6/5/2014 1:08:00 PM more reviews by kennymoron

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I love this cleanser, it cleans your skin thoroughly and keep it moist. I have a combination, acne-prone skin and this is one of the best cleanser that I've ever tried in my life. I wish the packaging look a bit prettier (I know, I'm a sucker for pretty bottles) but I can always decant it to a different bottle. Overall, great job Paula!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 purplerose95 on 5/23/2014 9:47:00 PM more reviews by purplerose95

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really like Hydralight cleanser because it does what it says. It gets rid of the extra oiliness on my nose yet keeps my often dry cheeks lightly moisturized. I prefer to use Hydralight when I'm feeling extra greasy on my nose. I will be buying CeraVe Hydrating cleanser for days when I'm dry. I love how Paula's Choice does not include irritants or fragrance so you can really clean your eye area from left over make up. It's inexpensive and comes in a generous size. Will buy again :D

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 yazmin77 on 3/20/2014 4:11:00 PM more reviews by yazmin77

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using the hydralight for a few weeks now, it's a basic gel cleanser that doesn't foam, I use this after I take off my makeup with the jane iridele mitt, this cleanser is useless at taking of me makeup! it does leave my skin slightly dry but not tight!
it's ok but il stick with it untill I can find something better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 FunNut on 1/8/2014 11:21:00 AM more reviews by FunNut

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Grey   Eyes: Brown    

I've used this cleanser and its predecessor for years, it's simply great. It's a gel and doesn't foam at all, but it's highly effective at removing makeup and facial grime. It removes eye makeup extremely well. One doesn't need to use a lot of the product for cleansing, which means a bottle lasts a long time. Thumbs up for this gentle and effective cleanser.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cankcank on 10/27/2013 8:14:00 PM more reviews by cankcank

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

It's okay! Will keep shopping around

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 latissia72 on 9/2/2013 7:34:00 PM more reviews by latissia72

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

i have not had much success with Paula's Choice (tried both Hydralight and Skin Balancing lines), but this products was just plain awful for my face. I must be allergic to the combination of ingredients in the base of PC because the facial products break me out. This cleanser did not irritate my skin; it just did not clean it. I had to use quite a bit of it to clean the skin (and I was not trying to get it to foam, I know it is not designed to do that). I appreciate that PC recognizes skin can be sensitive AND oily (so hard to shop for these two together), so I was excited about the Hydralight system. However, I eventually ended up with "congested" skin after a couple of months of using this product.

This cleanser, and all of the PC products, are a great value for the money. It's a great line to try, and I hope you can use them.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rosymel on 10/3/2012 7:29:00 PM more reviews by rosymel

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

I really like this cleanser for everyday use. It's not too drying, but it gets my face clean. It removes waterproof eye makeup easily (I should note, though, that I don't wear very much eye makeup at all). The packaging is fine, though I did have one bottle where the top snapped off after about 6 months of use. Which brings me to my next point...the fact that I still hadn't finished the bottle after 6 months means that the largest size lasts a long, long time. Good value for money!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* timothybcat on 7/6/2012 10:59:00 AM more reviews by timothybcat

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Thanks to the ladies on the Skin Care Board for directing me to Paula's Choice products. They can seem expensive, but Paula seems to have lots of sales on her products and I got a HUGE 16-oz bottle of Hydralight for about $12.00. It's recommended for rosacea and Normal to Oily/Combination skin. No rosacea here, but both my mom and grandma do so I believe rosacea might be in my future. I have combo skin that's fair and very prone to redness. Okay, that's an understatement. Honestly, I am just RED all the time. I posted a FOTD and one lady nicely hinted that my foundation was too pink. I had to tell her, "No baby; that's my skin. In fact, that's my skin neutralized with a full-coverage, gold-toned foundation." So now I'm eliminating fragrance. It seems common sense to me that if my skin is red that I should be gentle. If I have to nix perfumed skincare, so be it; I don't care one way or another. One I've used recently Cetaphil Daily Wash for Normal to Oily and had no apparent problems with it. Unfortunately, Cetaphil-- the brand specifically for sensitive skin--has fragrance! Boots Expert Sensitive Gentle Cleansing Lotion (such a mouthful!) was very nice but left a residue on my face. Hydralight makes my skin feel very clean, but also very soft and not at all like I've stripped all the moisture out of my skin. When I use toner afterward, there's no dirt or makeup leftover on the cotton pad. That's a switch! Really like this product so far.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Paula's Choice products

More Cleansers products