Clairol Natural Instincts Hair Color

3.7

614 reviews

73% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 7/20/2015 2:59:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have been dying my hair a "black/brown" or "chocolate brown" for about 5 years, using various brands. Most recently I have been using Olia for probably 3 years.

I bought natural instincts because it was on sale and I was pressed for time. I really love it and will be switching to this!

color: I bought black-brown, and the color turned out as expected, I left it on for 20 mins. Covered all grey.

smell: so happy that this stuff smelt really good! Did not smell like I dyed my hair at all.

other: my hair was always staticy after dying from the drying effects of permanent color. Even when using Olia which is supposed to be ammonia free my hair felt dry for days. I'm happy to report that my hair feels soft, and has no static after using Natural instincts.


1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 6/19/2015 9:55:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

What a rip off! Can't tell I dyed my hair.
I even left it in for longer than recommended.
Would never ever recommend this product to anyone.
I feel cheated.


on 6/5/2015 7:35:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I decided to switch to this demi-permanent hair color after using permanent color for almost 20 years (used Nice 'N Easy for about 5 years, then Revlon Colorsilk the rest of the time, both of which are nice), so this was my first time using anything other than permanent color. Because my hair is now about 40% gray, it's gotten drier and unhealthy over the years, especially with permanent color, thus why i switched to demi.
I'm kinda torn on my opinion on this. Previous reviews were right about some things: it turns out darker than expected, so knowing this beforehand, i chose a shade lighter than i used to use in permanent color (Spice, which is light brown; had been using medium brown in Colorsilk), and my natural color is very dark brown (with 40% gray). Also, people said to leave it on longer than the recommended time if you have gray hair, and sure enough, i left it on for a total of 30 minutes (the box says 20 minutes is the maximum time for gray), 25 minutes for the roots (had regrowth), and then i used what was left on the length for 5 minutes. It actually smells really nice, a lot nicer than other box dye i've used. Also, it's much more gentler, as permanent color always made my scalp sting a bit, and this didn't at all.
One of the reasons i'm torn on my review is that it doesn't feel or look particularly more healthy than when i used permanent color. It doesn't look as shiny, something i was hoping for. But i think it will pay off in the long run and ultimately will be healthier than the permanent color i'd been using for so long. Maybe i'll come back in a couple of years and update this review and see how i feel then lol.
But in summary: it absolutely covered my grays, and is gentle and smells nice.
So even though i wasn't "thrilled" with how it turned out, i will keep repurchasing this over permanent color.


on 5/22/2015 4:12:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I bought Natural Instincts Crema Keratina in Chocolate Brown because I wanted to give my natural (and healthy) dark brown hair a little change. I had not colored my hair in about 2-3 years, but after reading that it only lasts 28 shampoos (and that it has keratin and coconut oil) I decided to give it a try, thinking that it wasn't going to be bad for my hair, but boy was I wrong! this stuff sucks!

I used it as directed and left it on my hair for 20 mins. After I washed it off I immediately noticed the change on the condition of my hair, it used to be shiny and silky soft, but after rinsing it off it felt brittle and dry!! not to mention it left my scalp with a burning sensation and a stinky smell (like permanent color) on my hair, that took about 3 days to come off. After styling it as usual I became even more upset, it's no longer shiny and soft like it used to, it now feels stiff and it has no movement!

It's been over a week and the color is still there, it should be sold as a permanent hair color since it won't come off after 28 shampoos like advertised! I regret using this product and I'm definitely NOT using it ever again!!

I don't recommend anyone to use it if you have healthy hair and don't want to damage it. This stuff will damage it just like a permanent hair dye.

Edit: I forgot to add that I have a few gray hairs and it didn't cover them at all! so not only it doesn't wash out after 28 shampoos but it doesn't cover grays either. Don't buy this stuff!


on 5/3/2015 10:33:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This review is for color 3G - light golden blonde.

I used this to tone down highlights that were too light. They were platinum blonde, while my natural hair is medium ash brown, so they looked more like grey streaks than highlights. My hair is thick and somewhat dry.

The application was a pleasant surprise; it didn't put that chemical burn in the air that makes my eyes water, and it also didn't smell! I also only had to leave it on for 10 minutes.

The result is gorgeous! The highlights are now the perfect golden blonde. The dye also warmed my natural ash brown, but didn't noticeably lighten it. Everything turned out better than I'd hoped for. Considering I only paid $5 for the box, I'm very pleased!

My hair feels just as nice as it did before the dye - it seems the dye didn't damage my hair which is a first time for me, because every other dye I've used has made my hair frizzy and parched.

Based on what my hair is like, what I used the dye for, and the end result, I'd imagine this would be *excellent* for gray hair. In case anyone with thick gray hair is looking for hair dye, try this first!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/5/2015 3:01:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I couldn't be happier that Sedona Sunset (Reddish Brown, 16RG ) is back! It's my favorite color ever, and I hope it sticks around for good, this time. It's a gorgeous shade of golden reddish brown, just as the name implies. Previously, I was using Cinnamon Stick (Medium Warm Brown), and I have found Sedona Sunset to be a lighter, more vibrant shade, that still looks completely natural. I have always avoided Cinnaberry like the plague, because I would look positively dreadful in the cool, eggplant-purple hues that I've seen it bestow on others. :) If you're warm-toned, like me, and if you're looking to add some red to your hair, definitely give Sedona Sunset a try! :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/31/2015 7:39:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I bought Clairol Natural Instincts in Linen thinking it would be an ash tone. It turned my hair bright brassy orange. I tried everything to remove it - baking soda, apple cider vinegar, dandruff shampoo, even added blue food coloring to my shampoo and conditioner, LOL! However, it's been months of DIY removal efforts and the color hasn't faded a bit, I just have 2" roots! That stuff is industrial strength color--I would not at all call it demi-permanent. So, it's off to the salon for me for a correction.

I had previously used Clairol Beautiful in Champagne from Sally Beauty Supply, which is a nice, natural color, but I bought the Natural Instincts in a pinch, as the drug store is closer to my house than the Sally Beauty Supply. From now on I will be sure to have plenty of the Clairol Beautiful on hand.

I do not recommend Clairol Natural Instincts if you want natural, subtle, healthy-looking color.


on 1/15/2015 4:41:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I used this in Dark Brown. Its more like black. It has NO depth, just blase monotone dark. SO Ugly! And its not washing out. I have washed it 5 times since I put it on yesterday. With baking soda, vitamin C powder and clarifying shampoo.

Its just so much darker than I anticipated and so drab looking. There's no depth.

Last night I tucked my ten year old into bed and gave him a hug. He said "Whats that smell? Its hurting my lungs." It was the scent of this awful product.

I will never purchase this again.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 1/5/2015 5:29:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is the best hair dye out there, and I've pretty much tried them all. I bought the shade light brown to cover my over processed, multi-colored blonde hair, and it did it beautifully, leaving it looking like a pretty shade of brown instead of the horrible bleached blonde, orange, and golden chunks I had all over my head. Now this dye does leave your hair feeling insanely, ridiculously soft, so you're going to want to dye your hair every day with this!


on 11/17/2014 7:55:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I've been coloring my level 6 blonde for about 15 years, mostly to cover grey (close to 50%) and I usually go a shade or 2 lighter. I've used Nice & Easy, Preference, and Garnier Nutrisse. The last time I colored, I used Superior Preference in Light ash brown because I wanted to go darker. For some reason, it didn't color my hair any darker (it had faded to a medium/dark blonde) and my greys were poking out everywhere. I really wanted to color again because it looked like I hadn't, but didn't want to damage my hair. So I decided to try the Natural Instincts, which is a demi-permanent color.
I bought Tweed (light ash brown), and left it on for 40 minutes instead of the 20 recommended by the package instructions.
My hair came out a nice light brown, and I didn't see any grey hair. At all. My hair is very soft and conditioned; it feels wonderful. As of yet, I don't know how long the color will last, but for now, I love it. It really isn't an ash color; I've tried a lot of ash tones and I think it's difficult to get a true one. But....my grey is covered and I do like the color.
I recommend reading the Clairol website on hair color....it is full of helpful information on what type of color to use for what you want to accomplish. If you follow the instructions, you shouldn't have any problems. The only thing I did differently was leave it on for a full 40 minutes.
Update: After almost three weeks, the color is only slightly faded and my greys are still mostly covered; I can see a few when I'm standing under the light in front of my mirror. I like this haircolor a lot!! I recommend it!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top