Alba Botanica • Original Body Lotion • Lotions/ Creams

rated 4.5(115 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.89%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 BMurphy9 on 12/28/2013 9:14:00 PM more reviews by BMurphy9

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Miracle body lotion! Feels light as air and still moisturizes extremely dry skin. Light whipped creamy feeling with no strong odors. Nice consistency that is not oily and does not leave a residue.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* crystal105 on 12/28/2013 8:50:00 PM more reviews by crystal105

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this lotion. I have normal skin with dry patches. I'm also prone to breakouts on my back/chest if I use the wrong product. This is definitely the RIGHT product. I've been using this lotion for over a year. It sinks right in, feels very smooth and is the perfect consistency. It's neither too thin or too thick. I put it on after every bath/shower and my skin is always soft. Always. It doesn't cause any breakouts. Overall, it just makes my skin look healthier. The scent is very light, and I think it's pleasant. I love this and will continue to buy.

EDIT 4/23/14: I still like this for my legs, but will not continue to buy. This caused little bumps on my arms. They're not pimples. It might be keratosis pilaris, but I have NEVER had a problem with this or anything like this in my life. It's slowly starting to go away now that I'm using different lotion.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BeFineFilipina on 1/21/2013 8:53:00 PM more reviews by BeFineFilipina

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I needed something to heal my cracked skin on my hands since my go-to lotion wasn't cutting it this winter. After searching the drugstore aisles and looking at the ingredient lists for each lotion, I settled on this one. At first, I thought it was wayyyy too greasy as I rubbed it into my hands. But, after using it for three days straight, I see a dramatic difference in the way the skin on my hands feel. Sure, the palms are still a bit greasy, but the back of my hands look and feel much softer now. As a body lotion, it works wonderfully well. My husband even likes the scent! However, for summer, I can see this lotion being too greasy and will probably switch back to 100% Pure and aloe vera.

Update: been using is all over my body now, but I still prefer it on my hands and arms. It really helps soften my skin and now that I'm used to it, I don't notice that greasy feeling that I had before. Awesome awesome stuff for the colder drier months!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SarebbeBello on 11/27/2012 9:21:00 PM more reviews by SarebbeBello

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is my favorite lotion of all time. I use the maximum formula though..my skin's super dry. This stuff soaks right into your skin and never leaves any sort of greasiness. I use this after shaving combined with tea tree oil and it helps incredibly with irritation and razor burn, dryness, etc. I also didn't love the smell when I bought it but I really like it now. It's hard to describe it's kind of a flowery earthy scent. love that the bottle is huge so it lasts me a good two months or so which isn't bad since I don't even have to moisturize at night with this stuff. I get mine at Target usually for around 20 bucks which is kinda steep but it's really worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* misslu990 on 3/27/2012 2:08:00 AM more reviews by misslu990

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I can't get over how weird this smells! It stinks to me. Idk how to describe what this smells like. I tried the unscented one and it smells very similar to this one. Too bad I bought the huge bottle too w/ the pump. I'm only using this before I go to bed at night till I finish it but I dont use it in the morning before I leave to go out or go to work or school. This does a decent job moisturizing but it doesn't stay for long. I prefer shea moisture coconut & hibiscus lotion. Smells yummy and is organic.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Seashorechic on 10/1/2011 5:06:00 AM more reviews by Seashorechic

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

The Fragrance-Free lotion is the one that I use b/c I am picky about scents. I love that this is like a basic body lotion, but instead of something bland like Curel or Jergens, its loaded with so many great antioxidants! Plus, its natural without any Parabens etc, so its a perfect lotion. Best part, my legs don't ever itch...anymore!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 beeb11 on 4/15/2011 10:55:00 PM more reviews by beeb11

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

At first I liked this, and then hadn't bought a new bottle in awhile but finally did. Maybe something changed?!?! But now, my skin is dry after an hour or two AND I get a painful rash and red skin from this. I just threw the bottle out. I see a lot of people like it, so great for them. But for me, this was such a waste! Also, I saw on vitacost reviews and a few other websites, that people used to use this with great success like me, but something changed about the formula and they are now having bad reactions to it. So it is not just me!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ghosty on 1/3/2011 8:49:00 PM more reviews by ghosty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using Alba Bontanica lotions for years.The only place I wouldn't recommend putting this lotion is on your face because face moisturizer is better for that. Maximum Dry Skin Formula is the best one for me but I will purchase their Original Body Lotion when the store is out or does not have the Maximum Dry Skin Formula.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jklayne on 10/30/2010 12:13:00 PM more reviews by jklayne

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

the smell is too much!!! After one use, I have given up. The overpowering smell makes my head swirl. I had such high hopes and was disappointed. However, I would try the unscented version if I find it as the lotion did seem like a good product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DuchessofGrapes on 10/4/2010 3:36:00 AM more reviews by DuchessofGrapes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Wonderful body lotion! I've been using the unscented version for a few years and I can't rave enough about it. Obviously others can't either. My skin glows, feels super soft, and my occasionally bumps and bruises seem to heal faster. Considering that so many people have written great reviews, I think the quickest thing to do would be to list the reasons I keep using it:
Light, whipped texture
Soaks right into the skin
Lacks irritating ingredients (fragrance, synthetic dyes, mineral oil)
Moisturizes all day
Cruelty free
I follow up with my sunscreen on the parts of me that are going to be exposed that day, and I'm protected, hydrated, and soft. The only thing that I don't like about it is that it's not enough moisture for me at night. I wash twice a day. When I wake up and go to bed, and I always follow up with lotion. I eventually found Trader Joe's Midsummer Night's Cream, which I use at night, while this is my morning lotion. It's been a staple for a while, and as long as it keeps doing it's job as good as ever, it's going to stay that way. By the way, if you get the opportunity, get the gallon size. If anyone out there is like me, I drink up body lotions like water. I could easily go through 2 gallons a year. But the best part is that the price is already cheap. For the price of a gallon, they practically give it away. Definitely recommended.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Alba Botanica products

More Lotions/ Creams products