Alba Botanica Original Body Lotion

4.5

116 reviews

89% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Water, Glycerin, Glyceryl Stearate SE, Safflower Seed Oil, Sesame Seed Oil, Cetyl Alcohol, Dimethicone, Ethylhexyl Stearate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Shea Butter, Avocado Oil, Jojoba Seed Oil(1), Grape Seed Oil, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice(1), Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract(1), Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract(1), Cucumber Fruit Extract, Echinacea Angustifolia Extract, Lavender Extract(1), Allantoin, Panthenol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Lecithin, Polysorbate 60, Potassium Hydroxide, Xanthan Gum, Alcohol(1), Benzoic Acid, Dehydroacetic Acid, Phenoxyethanol, Amyl Cinnamal, Benzyl Benzoate, Benzyl Salicylate, Citronellol, Geraniol, Hexyl Cinnamal, Hydroxycitronellal, Linalool, Fragrance (Parfum). (1)Certified Organic Ingredient


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have this in the Unscented version. I love it! Really moisturizers my dry and sensitive skin so well and leaves it calm and smooth. No irritation whatsoever. Thumbs up!



on 12/28/2013 9:14:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Miracle body lotion! Feels light as air and still moisturizes extremely dry skin. Light whipped creamy feeling with no strong odors. Nice consistency that is not oily and does not leave a residue.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/28/2013 8:50:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I love this lotion. I have normal skin with dry patches. I'm also prone to breakouts on my back/chest if I use the wrong product. This is definitely the RIGHT product. I've been using this lotion for over a year. It sinks right in, feels very smooth and is the perfect consistency. It's neither too thin or too thick. I put it on after every bath/shower and my skin is always soft. Always. It doesn't cause any breakouts. Overall, it just makes my skin look healthier. The scent is very light, and I think it's pleasant. I love this and will continue to buy.

EDIT 4/23/14: I still like this for my legs, but will not continue to buy. This caused little bumps on my arms. They're not pimples. It might be keratosis pilaris, but I have NEVER had a problem with this or anything like this in my life. It's slowly starting to go away now that I'm using different lotion.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Warm

Hair: Other, Other, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I needed something to heal my cracked skin on my hands since my go-to lotion wasn't cutting it this winter. After searching the drugstore aisles and looking at the ingredient lists for each lotion, I settled on this one. At first, I thought it was wayyyy too greasy as I rubbed it into my hands. But, after using it for three days straight, I see a dramatic difference in the way the skin on my hands feel. Sure, the palms are still a bit greasy, but the back of my hands look and feel much softer now. As a body lotion, it works wonderfully well. My husband even likes the scent! However, for summer, I can see this lotion being too greasy and will probably switch back to 100% Pure and aloe vera.

Update: been using is all over my body now, but I still prefer it on my hands and arms. It really helps soften my skin and now that I'm used to it, I don't notice that greasy feeling that I had before. Awesome awesome stuff for the colder drier months!


on 11/27/2012 9:21:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is my favorite lotion of all time. I use the maximum formula though..my skin's super dry. This stuff soaks right into your skin and never leaves any sort of greasiness. I use this after shaving combined with tea tree oil and it helps incredibly with irritation and razor burn, dryness, etc. I also didn't love the smell when I bought it but I really like it now. It's hard to describe it's kind of a flowery earthy scent. love that the bottle is huge so it lasts me a good two months or so which isn't bad since I don't even have to moisturize at night with this stuff. I get mine at Target usually for around 20 bucks which is kinda steep but it's really worth it.


on 3/27/2012 2:08:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I can't get over how weird this smells! It stinks to me. Idk how to describe what this smells like. I tried the unscented one and it smells very similar to this one. Too bad I bought the huge bottle too w/ the pump. I'm only using this before I go to bed at night till I finish it but I dont use it in the morning before I leave to go out or go to work or school. This does a decent job moisturizing but it doesn't stay for long. I prefer shea moisture coconut & hibiscus lotion. Smells yummy and is organic.


on 10/1/2011 5:06:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

The Fragrance-Free lotion is the one that I use b/c I am picky about scents. I love that this is like a basic body lotion, but instead of something bland like Curel or Jergens, its loaded with so many great antioxidants! Plus, its natural without any Parabens etc, so its a perfect lotion. Best part, my legs don't ever itch...anymore!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/15/2011 10:55:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

At first I liked this, and then hadn't bought a new bottle in awhile but finally did. Maybe something changed?!?! But now, my skin is dry after an hour or two AND I get a painful rash and red skin from this. I just threw the bottle out. I see a lot of people like it, so great for them. But for me, this was such a waste! Also, I saw on vitacost reviews and a few other websites, that people used to use this with great success like me, but something changed about the formula and they are now having bad reactions to it. So it is not just me!


on 1/3/2011 8:49:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've been using Alba Bontanica lotions for years.The only place I wouldn't recommend putting this lotion is on your face because face moisturizer is better for that. Maximum Dry Skin Formula is the best one for me but I will purchase their Original Body Lotion when the store is out or does not have the Maximum Dry Skin Formula.


on 10/30/2010 12:13:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

the smell is too much!!! After one use, I have given up. The overpowering smell makes my head swirl. I had such high hopes and was disappointed. However, I would try the unscented version if I find it as the lotion did seem like a good product.


Back to Top