Bobbi Brown • Extra Soothing Balm • Skincare - Face

rated 4.6(27 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.92%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* julia178 on 11/27/2013 2:53:00 PM more reviews by julia178

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have to admit I was skeptical to even try this balm because after talking a brief look at the jar at a Bobbi Brown counter I had thought of it as sort of overpriced, glorified vaseline. After seeing so many rave reviews here on MUA I decided to test drive it on my skin and as usual, I have to agree with the majority of positive statements made: This is a fabulous product and it has become a staple for me.
Pros:
- Nice texture, rich, but not greasy
- Effective to combat flakes, even on the non-dry areas of my face
- Does not break me out
- Pleasant faint smell upon application, does not linger
- Multi-purpose product: All dry areas, cuticles, blemishes, unruly eye brows
- Very little product goes a long way, justifies the high price tag, a jar easily lasts over a year
Cons:
- Heavy glass jar is beautiful, but not practical for travel
Overall: A winner product for me, I would like to see a small travel size tin of this, similar to Bobbi Brown's silver lip balm. Retails for $58 for .5oz/15ml.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SaraLee2 on 11/26/2013 10:34:00 AM more reviews by SaraLee2

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Once I figured out how to best use this on my skin, its become a staple that I can't live without and I agree with all the positive reviews. I've had it for almost a year and there's hardly a dent. I love the heavy glass packaging for my vanity, but wish they had a travel version as I must take it with me everywhere and its really a heavy little jar!

It makes the flakes around my nose disappear, tames brows all day, adds depth when lightly patted on top of blush, and actually makes me look like I have cheek bones and healthy skin...not an easy feat these days. I have combo skin that is dry on cheeks, super oily on T-area, and very non-sensitive as very little irritates it. This doesn't makes my oily areas any worse and doesn't migrate into my eyes making my contacts filmy like some products do. There are a few 'natural' ingredients (ginger root, bitter orange, citronellol) that can irritate some skin types, as well as the strong scent (which disappears almost immediately) so I wouldn't recommend for sensitive skins. Otherwise I highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Andrea400 on 9/28/2013 10:04:00 PM more reviews by Andrea400

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I use this as an eye cream and on the bridge of my nose where the skin is thin and I have a few lines. This plumps up my skin and fills in fine lines and is not greasy if you use only a dab which is all it takes. I also recently developed horrible eczema after having my third child and it is the only thing that soothes it.

As far as using it as an eye cream, I have probably tried every high end eyecream( been on makeup alley a long time) and although this is not marketed as an eyecream, it is unbelievable for me. Exactly what I have been looking for all these years- something that plumps up the skin and moisturizes without looking greasy or accentuating bags. Even after I wash my face in the morning my eye area is still moisturized and I just dab a tiny bit more on for day wear. I tried Bobbi Browns 3 eye creams and I prefer the soothing balm to her creams intended for the eye. Love it and will always buy!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 elmoroque on 2/13/2013 6:54:00 PM more reviews by elmoroque

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I'm having a major skin issue. With constant battling with acne for years, my skin has become super sensitive and weak. Especially I'm currently using benzoyl persoxide 5% wash, clindamycin topical lotion, and tretinoine (RentinA I believe) cream, all these harsh chemicals contributed to dried, burning, inflamed, cracking skin around my eyes. I tried not to touch those prescriptions around my eyes, but still I get that unwelcomed side effects. Since it's so dried, and top of burning and inflammation, I absolutely need an eye cream. To make it worse, most eye creams made my condition worse. I have used chanel, cle de peau, clinique, etc (Thank god they were sample jars that I got before!) Somehow the regular eye cream burn so bad that I had to wash off immediately. I think it is the chemicals in the eye cream. I happen to have Extra Soothing Balm becuase I bought it to use on winter dried skin. The ingredient in this balm is mostly or all natural oils, so I guessed it may help with my conditon when i use it as an eye cream. I was right!!! There was not any burning sensation. It was very soothing and my inflammation starts to go away within a day or two. This stuff is so amazing. I love the scent and color of it too. I use it as lip balm as well. Very moisturizing and soothing. I was worried this will make me a grease ball which is not the case at all! I will buy this forever.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LilLexy100 on 12/22/2011 10:48:00 AM more reviews by LilLexy100

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

A lippy has been knocked off for the packaging - as mentioned before by other reviewers, as much as it's a beautiful glass jar, I buy multi purpose balms so I can take them with my in my handbag every day! So I've decanted some of this into one of those wee MAC foundation sample pots so I can carry this with me!

It's so expensive for a balm - �40 in the UK. But I've read the great reviews about it and *had* to buy some. I've had it for about 4 months now and actually really like it.

I have sensitive skin and like most people get the odd spot. I find dabbing a bit of this on the spot makes the spot go away! I have no idea what's in this stuff but it certainly IS extra soothing. It's nice as a lip balm too (though expensive if you're just using it as a lip balm!!). It's nice for dry cuticles too as it's not in the slightest bit greasy. But best of all it's a great heavy duty facial night cream and leaves you waking up to youthful plumped up skin. I have no qualms about using this around the eye area.

I've said I wouldn't buy this product again though, because it's too expensive what what is basically a moisturising balm and I'm sure there's other products out there that are similar for less price.

EDIT - I've bought it again. I love it too much and I have no willpower.

EDIT JAN 2014 - whooooo! There is a travel size version of this jar at 7ml!!
Good times :-) .....however, it's only sold at airports in the 'Bobbi's Travel Essentials' kit (this balm, 15ml moisturiser, 15ml full size eye cream, eye mask and full size lip gloss) and retails at a very reasonable £35 in the UK. I got mine from London Heathrow Terminal 5. If other airports stock this, then buy it immediately! It's ideal for decanting some of the bigger jar into once this jar is used up!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ruffee10 on 11/6/2011 9:46:00 PM more reviews by ruffee10

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This stuff is truly magic. It really does sooth irritated skin, regardless of why it's irritated. It's potent, but not oily. My skin can be rather oily and this never adds to it. It can also help makeup stay in place if needed. A cannot-live-without-it product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 wonderhj on 10/16/2010 3:58:00 PM more reviews by wonderhj

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This balm is $55. I got this during Bobbi Brown's Friends and Family for 20% off (yay!).

I know that this is expensive but it does what it say it will do. I got this because I have super dry skin but for some reason, I didn't really reach for the balm as frequently as I thought I would.

Recently, I got really bad hives all over my body from a bad allergic reaction (including my face). Once the hives started to subside, patches of skin were peeling (eww, I know -_-). I didn't want to keep putting cortizone on my face so I started applying the BB extra soothing balm on my face, especially on the areas that were affected (cheeks).

It immediately soothed the peeling skin and now my face looks smooth, my freckles faded, and my skin more radiant... so turns out the hives on the face were a mixed blessing :-P like my boyfriend says, it's like a free chemical peel- except for the chemical part LOL.

I would definitely buy this again when I run out. In fact, I will run out pretty soon as I reach for this every night to apply to my face before I go to bed. I think you get all good benefits of a really good moisturizer but without the breakouts.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 k8folly on 6/2/2009 8:18:00 PM more reviews by k8folly

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I'm on Accutane and am very very dry. I have dry flakey patches, as well as all over dryness. I got this to use throughout the day, over my m/u. I am so in love. My cheeks get very dry as the day progresses, and I can just warm a little of this between my fingers and pat it on. It instantly sooths, plumps and relieves the tightness that I feel. I also use it around my nose and under my eyes which are suffering as well. Yes, it is expensive, and I did rate that lower, but I love the jar, I'm a BB fan, and this product is really very nice. It isn't greasy in the slightest, just a bit glowy, and very soothing. I apply it many times throughout the day and highly recommend it for those with dry skin.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chanelmontes on 9/23/2008 1:43:00 PM more reviews by chanelmontes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Can't stress enough how moisturizing this balm is without being greasy. You definitely feel the quality of this product after applying. My routine now is to pat some on my cheeks after putting on BB Pot Rouge. They immediately look refreshed and fabulous but not over done. Love this stuff!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MaryEllen on 1/18/2008 12:03:00 AM more reviews by MaryEllen

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

What IS it with Bobbi Brown and all the fragrance she puts in her products? Especially lavender? I like fragrance, but not in something I'm going to put on my face. This is a very thick, waxy pink balm that's got an herbal/medicinal fragrance. It's meant to be used on dry patches. It's OK, but it's really glorified Vaseline with scent and a little more staying power. Luckily I was able to snag a 7 ml. pot of this on eBay, so I didn't pay full price for it. There are much better, cheaper products out there for those dry areas--Qtica Cuticle Balm, Nuxe Reve de Miel lipbalm, Kerasal ointment for feet--that do each job better, with added benefits, and without the scent. I'd recommend those over this any day. I do not recommend this product unless you like the all-in-one convenience and the scent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bobbi Brown products

More Skincare - Face products