Essie • Bordeaux • Polishes

rated 4.5(80 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.87%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 JazzComplex on 11/21/2014 9:19:00 PM more reviews by JazzComplex

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Olive   Hair: Brown, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I'm going to clarify some things about this nail polish for those of you confused about what it actually looks like. A lot of people are posting pictures that look entirely different in color, and that may be confusing!
Depending on how many coats you use, you will get different results. With one coat, the color is much more of a blue-toned red. The more and more coats you put on, the darker the nail becomes, ultimately turning into a dark, vampy ox-blood nail.
You can get more than 1 color out of this bottle, and that in itself is great for whatever occasion you want to get ready for! :)

The color is great. I love how vampy it becomes and it is definitely a high-gloss polish. Although, I took off one lippie because it achieves this high-gloss shine by being gel-based, sometimes making it difficult to put on an even coat without streaking. Regardless, as long as you put on more than one coat, your nails will look flawless.

Great product! Favorite Essie nail polish yet!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Justteaformethanks on 11/21/2014 5:13:00 PM more reviews by Justteaformethanks

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I always go back to this colour. I have very pale skin and this colour works great with that. Two coats suffice. It's my go-to winter shade. Been through a number of bottles already and will definitely repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* felgoj on 10/7/2014 11:36:00 AM more reviews by felgoj

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I don't like this color as much as I do 'Skirting The Issue' which is (to me) the same but darker than Bordeaux. I'm not in love w/this color, but maybe it'll grow on me. Swatters' review below got it just right in terms of color & consistency. While Skirting The Issue isn't the easiest to apply (both colors being jelly), Bordeaux gave me anxiety trying to get the color even. It balds very easily, but at least the formula didn't seep into the cuticles.

EDIT 10/9/14 -
Three coats of this is more to my liking than 2 coats - comes out much deeper & vampier but not black.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 koridixon on 9/21/2014 8:48:00 PM more reviews by koridixon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Finally! I've found the sexy, sophisticated deep red I've been searching for. Like other reviewers have said, it looks nothing like the picture above. It's much darker. The perfect blood red. I love the jelly finish and pretty much everything about it. Even my fiancÚ (who never notices a polish change) commented on it, saying it's the BEST color I've ever worn on my nails.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 swatters on 1/23/2013 12:00:00 PM more reviews by swatters

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I usually love Essie polishes, but this was a big NO for me.
I was hoping the color would be more of a blood red than a blue-based red, but I didn't get my wish. This isn't a deep oxblood color like you would expect from something named 'Bordeaux'. It's more of a crimson or maroon.

Formula was very streaky, even with a steady hand and three thin coats. I will probably be putting this on eBay since this is a popular color, but it's not for me :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 StrawberryKisses23 on 11/2/2012 9:52:00 PM more reviews by StrawberryKisses23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

First of all, WOOOOWWW! I believe there is an Essie nail polish called 'After Sex'. Well this one should have been called 'Before Sex'.

I was on the hunt for a deep burgundy cream jelly polish and purchased 'Bordeaux' online for $7 NZD (bargain!). I have this on right now (3 thin coats no top coat) and can I just tell you never have I owned such a deep-sexy-sultry-shiny color.

Pure amazingness in a bottle! I'm in love - and you will be too!


3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kirbipittman on 9/14/2012 12:34:00 AM more reviews by kirbipittman

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am SO IN LOVE with this color. It is the most beautiful deep blood red. It goes on perfectly in two coats. I just adore it. Can't say enough about it.

Just to update how I feel about this product... I still love the color, but I took away two lippys because I feel like it's just a mess to use now. It has gotten so thick and goopy. It was already a jelly consistency so now that I've used quite a bit of the bottle it is even less easy to apply.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 KirRoyal on 9/13/2012 1:15:00 PM more reviews by KirRoyal

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I was a bit disappointed with the fact that this nail polish seemes slightly different in a bottle that it actually is on the nails. I am still looking for a perfect wine colour, and this just didn't do it for me. The jelly feel is also quite confusing, the application is not very even after two coats. Doesn't streak, which is a good thing. Has a bluish, purplish undertone, which looks good on my generally cool-toned skin, but I'm not sure if this would be very flattering on a yellow-toned skin.
Overall, just a nice basic dark reddish colour that tries it's hard to look like a wine colour. If you are new to nail polishes in general, or to dark nail polishes, definitely check that out, you'd probably love it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 anthropologie on 7/30/2012 10:50:00 PM more reviews by anthropologie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Beautiful deep jelly blood red. I was looking for a bloody red, not a bright cherry. This leans to be bluish, but it looks like the most perfect red. The jelly finish makes it more interesting than a regular creme finish. This formula is wonderful, not too thick or runny, and never streaky. I love Essie :3

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MsHepburn on 7/13/2012 5:29:00 PM more reviews by MsHepburn

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Love this :)

(PLEASE NOTE: the colour is nothing like the one in the picture with this post! It's a lot darker.)

I'm a real idiot when it comes to nail polish... I never get it on evenly and it always chips within a day. But this I put on perfectly in one go, which has NEVER happened to me before. I used the 'nourish me' base coat and the high shine top coat with two coats of Bordeaux in between. I put it on on Sunday and it's now Friday and not one chip on it.

The colour (with the 2 coats) is a really deep, dark red, but not black red like Rouge Noir from Chanel. The latter was a bit too goth for my taste and also didn't stay on that well. The consistency seems very thick and sort of sticky (jelly-ish I guess?) and the brush is pretty wide, so I could almost get my nail covered in one sweep. It took a while to dry, so application in a hurry might not be a great idea.

I really like this and I'm planning to buy a few more Essie colours. The price is reasonable compared to Chanel and MAC and it's definitely better quality.


Edit 11 October 2012:

This is easily the nicest nailpolish I have ever found. It's glossy, classy and suits every occasion. This is the polish I've been looking for all my life! It's the only proper deep, dark RED I have ever found. Other similar polishes have always proved too black or too purple for my taste. This shade is perfect and I will keep buying it until they discontinue. Lasts about a week with a good topcoat.

(Actually I've noticed that some people here are disappointed that this isn't a real wine colour polish. That, for me, was actually the up side to it: it's dark, but definitely still recognisable as red. If you prefer more purply or black-ish colours, I think Wicked might be more to your liking. Or OPI's Mrs O' Leary's BBQ.)

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products