Essie • Bordeaux • Polishes

rated 4.5(78 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.87%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* felgoj on 10/7/2014 11:36:00 AM more reviews by felgoj

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I don't like this color as much as I do 'Skirting The Issue' which is (to me) the same but darker than Bordeaux. I'm not in love w/this color, but maybe it'll grow on me. Swatters' review below got it just right in terms of color & consistency. While Skirting The Issue isn't the easiest to apply (both colors being jelly), Bordeaux gave me anxiety trying to get the color even. It balds very easily, but at least the formula didn't seep into the cuticles.

EDIT 10/9/14 -
Three coats of this is more to my liking than 2 coats - comes out much deeper & vampier but not black.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 koridixon on 9/21/2014 8:48:00 PM more reviews by koridixon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Finally! I've found the sexy, sophisticated deep red I've been searching for. Like other reviewers have said, it looks nothing like the picture above. It's much darker. The perfect blood red. I love the jelly finish and pretty much everything about it. Even my fiancÚ (who never notices a polish change) commented on it, saying it's the BEST color I've ever worn on my nails.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 swatters on 1/23/2013 12:00:00 PM more reviews by swatters

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I usually love Essie polishes, but this was a big NO for me.
I was hoping the color would be more of a blood red than a blue-based red, but I didn't get my wish. This isn't a deep oxblood color like you would expect from something named 'Bordeaux'. It's more of a crimson or maroon.

Formula was very streaky, even with a steady hand and three thin coats. I will probably be putting this on eBay since this is a popular color, but it's not for me :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 StrawberryKisses23 on 11/2/2012 9:52:00 PM more reviews by StrawberryKisses23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

First of all, WOOOOWWW! I believe there is an Essie nail polish called 'After Sex'. Well this one should have been called 'Before Sex'.

I was on the hunt for a deep burgundy cream jelly polish and purchased 'Bordeaux' online for $7 NZD (bargain!). I have this on right now (3 thin coats no top coat) and can I just tell you never have I owned such a deep-sexy-sultry-shiny color.

Pure amazingness in a bottle! I'm in love - and you will be too!


3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kirbipittman on 9/14/2012 12:34:00 AM more reviews by kirbipittman

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am SO IN LOVE with this color. It is the most beautiful deep blood red. It goes on perfectly in two coats. I just adore it. Can't say enough about it.

Just to update how I feel about this product... I still love the color, but I took away two lippys because I feel like it's just a mess to use now. It has gotten so thick and goopy. It was already a jelly consistency so now that I've used quite a bit of the bottle it is even less easy to apply.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 KirRoyal on 9/13/2012 1:15:00 PM more reviews by KirRoyal

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I was a bit disappointed with the fact that this nail polish seemes slightly different in a bottle that it actually is on the nails. I am still looking for a perfect wine colour, and this just didn't do it for me. The jelly feel is also quite confusing, the application is not very even after two coats. Doesn't streak, which is a good thing. Has a bluish, purplish undertone, which looks good on my generally cool-toned skin, but I'm not sure if this would be very flattering on a yellow-toned skin.
Overall, just a nice basic dark reddish colour that tries it's hard to look like a wine colour. If you are new to nail polishes in general, or to dark nail polishes, definitely check that out, you'd probably love it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 anthropologie on 7/30/2012 10:50:00 PM more reviews by anthropologie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Beautiful deep jelly blood red. I was looking for a bloody red, not a bright cherry. This leans to be bluish, but it looks like the most perfect red. The jelly finish makes it more interesting than a regular creme finish. This formula is wonderful, not too thick or runny, and never streaky. I love Essie :3

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MsHepburn on 7/13/2012 5:29:00 PM more reviews by MsHepburn

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Love this :)

(PLEASE NOTE: the colour is nothing like the one in the picture with this post! It's a lot darker.)

I'm a real idiot when it comes to nail polish... I never get it on evenly and it always chips within a day. But this I put on perfectly in one go, which has NEVER happened to me before. I used the 'nourish me' base coat and the high shine top coat with two coats of Bordeaux in between. I put it on on Sunday and it's now Friday and not one chip on it.

The colour (with the 2 coats) is a really deep, dark red, but not black red like Rouge Noir from Chanel. The latter was a bit too goth for my taste and also didn't stay on that well. The consistency seems very thick and sort of sticky (jelly-ish I guess?) and the brush is pretty wide, so I could almost get my nail covered in one sweep. It took a while to dry, so application in a hurry might not be a great idea.

I really like this and I'm planning to buy a few more Essie colours. The price is reasonable compared to Chanel and MAC and it's definitely better quality.


Edit 11 October 2012:

This is easily the nicest nailpolish I have ever found. It's glossy, classy and suits every occasion. This is the polish I've been looking for all my life! It's the only proper deep, dark RED I have ever found. Other similar polishes have always proved too black or too purple for my taste. This shade is perfect and I will keep buying it until they discontinue. Lasts about a week with a good topcoat.

(Actually I've noticed that some people here are disappointed that this isn't a real wine colour polish. That, for me, was actually the up side to it: it's dark, but definitely still recognisable as red. If you prefer more purply or black-ish colours, I think Wicked might be more to your liking. Or OPI's Mrs O' Leary's BBQ.)

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cloroxcowgirl on 6/26/2012 2:38:00 AM more reviews by cloroxcowgirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have been looking for a dupe to my favorite dark red, Essie Private Wine Cellar (now DC'd). I was encouraged by the fact that Bordeaux looks *exactly* the same in the bottle as PWC, but it is a much brighter red on the nail. Not so much a wine color as a deep apple red. I also found the formula to be fairly streaky and sheer, unlike PWC which was opaque in 2 coats. It is an ok color I suppose, just not what I was looking for. Oh, well, the hunt continues . .

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Narustar on 6/26/2012 2:04:00 AM more reviews by Narustar

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Goooooorgeous color. I will most certainly be repurchasing this color again. The jelly-feel of this color makes your nails look flawless and not a streaky mess! It actually makes you look like you're wearing fake nails. Depending on the light and how many layers you paint on, it looks like a vampy/sultry color. On my NC30 skin I think it pulls more brown and looks deeper. In artificial light it looks like a bright berry color. Lol. But all in all I would recommend this color to anyone - it looks so classy, sexy and mysterious ;)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products