Essie Bordeaux

4.5

85 reviews

83% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 7/26/2015 9:59:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

A beautiful deep wine polish that was super easy to apply. Fully opaque in 2 coats. Topped with Essie's Good to Go top coat it stayed chip free for over a week.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 7/3/2015 10:03:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I had to do three coats to get a good even coverage but like mast of these kind of colours it was a tiny bit patchy... tiny though and that's just me being picky.
I don't like the brush I felt like it was too small so doesn't give you the nice even line at the base of my nail and also it would bend to one side whilst I was painting.
Really nice colour though. I'm a plum shades fantatic and this is a nice lush deep plum. I just wish it was easier to apply

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/2/2015 9:22:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is a dark red "jelly" color, meaning it is not totally opaque. I really needed 3 coats to get the bottle color and to even out the streaks.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/27/2015 1:52:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love Essie polishes and I grabbed this shade as it was on sale and I love the colour.
It's that beautiful vampy blood red that makes nails look glam.
I figured there wouldn't be a problem with applying the polish as it's a dark shade (Essie's pastel shades tend to be very streaky) but I was wrong.
The formula is runny and if you're not careful, it can easily 'run' to the sides of the nail.
This one requires patience and a steady hand.
I give it four lipsticks because I love the colour so much and I love Essie polishes, but I think there are other better formulas in a similar shade.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is an absolutely beautiful vampy color with incredible color payoff. After two coats you're left with opaque and shiny nails. The bad? It does apply goopy so you need to be very careful and patient when painting your nails. Also, when it gets to the middle of the bottle, due to its gel quality, it makes it nearly impossible to get any product out of the bottle and when you do it's super goopy. For that reason alone, I would not repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/21/2014 9:19:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm going to clarify some things about this nail polish for those of you confused about what it actually looks like. A lot of people are posting pictures that look entirely different in color, and that may be confusing!
Depending on how many coats you use, you will get different results. With one coat, the color is much more of a blue-toned red. The more and more coats you put on, the darker the nail becomes, ultimately turning into a dark, vampy ox-blood nail.
You can get more than 1 color out of this bottle, and that in itself is great for whatever occasion you want to get ready for! :)

The color is great. I love how vampy it becomes and it is definitely a high-gloss polish. Although, I took off one lippie because it achieves this high-gloss shine by being gel-based, sometimes making it difficult to put on an even coat without streaking. Regardless, as long as you put on more than one coat, your nails will look flawless.

Great product! Favorite Essie nail polish yet!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I always go back to this colour. I have very pale skin and this colour works great with that. Two coats suffice. It's my go-to winter shade. Been through a number of bottles already and will definitely repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/7/2014 11:36:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I don't like this color as much as I do 'Skirting The Issue' which is (to me) the same but darker than Bordeaux. I'm not in love w/this color, but maybe it'll grow on me. Swatters' review below got it just right in terms of color & consistency. While Skirting The Issue isn't the easiest to apply (both colors being jelly), Bordeaux gave me anxiety trying to get the color even. It balds very easily, but at least the formula didn't seep into the cuticles.

EDIT 10/9/14 -
Three coats of this is more to my liking than 2 coats - comes out much deeper & vampier but not black.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/21/2014 8:48:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Finally! I've found the sexy, sophisticated deep red I've been searching for. Like other reviewers have said, it looks nothing like the picture above. It's much darker. The perfect blood red. I love the jelly finish and pretty much everything about it. Even my fiancÚ (who never notices a polish change) commented on it, saying it's the BEST color I've ever worn on my nails.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/23/2013 12:00:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I usually love Essie polishes, but this was a big NO for me.
I was hoping the color would be more of a blood red than a blue-based red, but I didn't get my wish. This isn't a deep oxblood color like you would expect from something named 'Bordeaux'. It's more of a crimson or maroon.

Formula was very streaky, even with a steady hand and three thin coats. I will probably be putting this on eBay since this is a popular color, but it's not for me :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Polishes


Miracle Gel
Miracle Gel
150 Reviews
Ballet Slippers
Ballet Slippers
347 Reviews
Bubble Bath
Bubble Bath
360 Reviews
Dior Nail Glow
Dior Nail Glow
38 Reviews


Top Rated Essie Products

image

Lollipop

40 reviews
image

Lady Like

66 reviews
image

Chinchilly

135 reviews
image

Watermelon

55 reviews
Back to Top