Essie Bordeaux

4.5

81 reviews

86% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is an absolutely beautiful vampy color with incredible color payoff. After two coats you're left with opaque and shiny nails. The bad? It does apply goopy so you need to be very careful and patient when painting your nails. Also, when it gets to the middle of the bottle, due to its gel quality, it makes it nearly impossible to get any product out of the bottle and when you do it's super goopy. For that reason alone, I would not repurchase.



on 11/21/2014 9:19:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm going to clarify some things about this nail polish for those of you confused about what it actually looks like. A lot of people are posting pictures that look entirely different in color, and that may be confusing!
Depending on how many coats you use, you will get different results. With one coat, the color is much more of a blue-toned red. The more and more coats you put on, the darker the nail becomes, ultimately turning into a dark, vampy ox-blood nail.
You can get more than 1 color out of this bottle, and that in itself is great for whatever occasion you want to get ready for! :)

The color is great. I love how vampy it becomes and it is definitely a high-gloss polish. Although, I took off one lippie because it achieves this high-gloss shine by being gel-based, sometimes making it difficult to put on an even coat without streaking. Regardless, as long as you put on more than one coat, your nails will look flawless.

Great product! Favorite Essie nail polish yet!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I always go back to this colour. I have very pale skin and this colour works great with that. Two coats suffice. It's my go-to winter shade. Been through a number of bottles already and will definitely repurchase.


on 10/7/2014 11:36:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I don't like this color as much as I do 'Skirting The Issue' which is (to me) the same but darker than Bordeaux. I'm not in love w/this color, but maybe it'll grow on me. Swatters' review below got it just right in terms of color & consistency. While Skirting The Issue isn't the easiest to apply (both colors being jelly), Bordeaux gave me anxiety trying to get the color even. It balds very easily, but at least the formula didn't seep into the cuticles.

EDIT 10/9/14 -
Three coats of this is more to my liking than 2 coats - comes out much deeper & vampier but not black.


on 9/21/2014 8:48:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Finally! I've found the sexy, sophisticated deep red I've been searching for. Like other reviewers have said, it looks nothing like the picture above. It's much darker. The perfect blood red. I love the jelly finish and pretty much everything about it. Even my fiancÚ (who never notices a polish change) commented on it, saying it's the BEST color I've ever worn on my nails.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/23/2013 12:00:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I usually love Essie polishes, but this was a big NO for me.
I was hoping the color would be more of a blood red than a blue-based red, but I didn't get my wish. This isn't a deep oxblood color like you would expect from something named 'Bordeaux'. It's more of a crimson or maroon.

Formula was very streaky, even with a steady hand and three thin coats. I will probably be putting this on eBay since this is a popular color, but it's not for me :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

First of all, WOOOOWWW! I believe there is an Essie nail polish called 'After Sex'. Well this one should have been called 'Before Sex'.

I was on the hunt for a deep burgundy cream jelly polish and purchased 'Bordeaux' online for $7 NZD (bargain!). I have this on right now (3 thin coats no top coat) and can I just tell you never have I owned such a deep-sexy-sultry-shiny color.

Pure amazingness in a bottle! I'm in love - and you will be too!


3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 9/14/2012 12:34:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I am SO IN LOVE with this color. It is the most beautiful deep blood red. It goes on perfectly in two coats. I just adore it. Can't say enough about it.

Just to update how I feel about this product... I still love the color, but I took away two lippys because I feel like it's just a mess to use now. It has gotten so thick and goopy. It was already a jelly consistency so now that I've used quite a bit of the bottle it is even less easy to apply.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/13/2012 1:15:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I was a bit disappointed with the fact that this nail polish seemes slightly different in a bottle that it actually is on the nails. I am still looking for a perfect wine colour, and this just didn't do it for me. The jelly feel is also quite confusing, the application is not very even after two coats. Doesn't streak, which is a good thing. Has a bluish, purplish undertone, which looks good on my generally cool-toned skin, but I'm not sure if this would be very flattering on a yellow-toned skin.
Overall, just a nice basic dark reddish colour that tries it's hard to look like a wine colour. If you are new to nail polishes in general, or to dark nail polishes, definitely check that out, you'd probably love it.


on 7/30/2012 10:50:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Beautiful deep jelly blood red. I was looking for a bloody red, not a bright cherry. This leans to be bluish, but it looks like the most perfect red. The jelly finish makes it more interesting than a regular creme finish. This formula is wonderful, not too thick or runny, and never streaky. I love Essie :3

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Popular Polishes


Big Apple Red
161 Reviews
Cajun Shrimp
115 Reviews
Marshmallow
113 Reviews
Watermelon
48 Reviews


Top Rated Essie Products

image

A-List

29 reviews
image

Lady Like

65 reviews
image

Watermelon

48 reviews
image

Chinchilly

134 reviews
Back to Top