Maybelline • Great Lash Mascara Blackest Black • Mascara

rated 2.9(683 reviews)

Average Rating.2.9
Would buy this product again.47%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 arlenerubio27 on 10/30/2014 12:04:00 AM more reviews by arlenerubio27

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Just not as good as the cult classic.... It feels like it's old since its a bit dry......PASS

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Pinksk8wax on 10/10/2014 7:43:00 AM more reviews by Pinksk8wax

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'm a complete sucker for cute packaging, and there's something nostalgic about this mascara that always catches my eye. I have tried literally every version (big lash, lots-o-lashes, intense, doll eye....) and without fail, they all fail. Every time. If I put one coat on they seem to work better. I'm sure in the 70s when this first came out it was a great product, but now there are so many other better options out there ! As much as this mascara sucks , I still gave it 2 stars for the packaging alone . And I'll probably continue to give it "one more try" for that very reason lol.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 shelby22b on 9/6/2014 10:35:00 AM more reviews by shelby22b

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Worst. Mascara. Ever.

I bought this on a whim because I needed a new mascara, so I picked this up. My mom said it worked well for her, and since I was blessed with her ultra-fine and short lashes, I listened to her and bought this stuff.

The wand is this weird, coiled-looking thing. When I first saw that, I didn't know what I had gotten myself into. I ignored my objecting thoughts against this mascara and began applying it to my curled lashes. IT IS THE WORST BRUSH EVER, CAN I JUST SAY THAT. It literally brought my lashes TOGETHER, clumping them as if they were supposed to be brought together by fate or something. I swear I seen them hugging each other. By the end of the application, I looked like Spongebob where he only has 3 eyelashes on each eye. Not cool, Maybelline.
Oh, and on top of that, it gave me raccoon eyes and smudged everywhere under my eyes and somehow on my browbone. Yeah...

This mascara is literally the definition for crushed hopes and dreams. I had high expectations for this product and they were demounted within seconds of application.
Thank you, Maybelline. I will not be purchasing again.

But on the bright side, the packaging makes it look like a mascara that works. That's how they sucked me in.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cocoadolly on 9/5/2014 4:37:00 PM more reviews by cocoadolly

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is for the one with the black top. I love this mascara! I have naturally long lashes and this makes them black, full, and separated. It's not for crying occasions because it is certainly not waterproof, it's not claiming to be. I love it. No complaints.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 TheGingerSnap on 7/17/2014 1:00:00 AM more reviews by TheGingerSnap

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This product has great reputation and a huge following, and after hearing so many rants and raves about it I decided to give it a try. But it did not perform as I expected.
The wand clumped my lashes together, rather than providing a clean separated look. The pigmentation provided a nice jet black color as expected.
For the price, I prefer Cover Girl Last Blast (my go to mascara). It provides better volume, separation, and the wand is, in my opinion, of better quality.
This mascara provides a more natural sense of volume, so if you are expecting big lashes I suggest you look else where. While it may be the go to mascara for some, I think I'll stick to my ol' favorite.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kristyb114 on 7/16/2014 9:10:00 PM more reviews by kristyb114

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have no clue why so many magazines recommend this garbage or why it has so many faithfuls. I am not anti drugstore makeup I must say first. There are plenty of fantastic choices there. I'm just saying this is not it.

This mascara never really dries completely. It will end up half way down your face by then end of the day. And FORGET it if it's humid out. You're definitely SOL then. I once opened the oven and my lashes immediately stuck together.

To top it off this stuff smells nasty. It may not be expensive but seriously don't waste your money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Stark77 on 6/20/2014 10:26:00 AM more reviews by Stark77

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I got a HUGE allergic reaction to this. It's made me unable to wear eye makeup or contact lenses, and my eyelids have been itching, burning, and puffy for days now. This has NEVER happened to me before, so I'm still somewhat shocked. (FYI, it was the "Blackest of Black Noir" kind, or whatever.)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Rowannkatrine on 6/5/2014 5:24:00 PM more reviews by Rowannkatrine

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love it so much!! I have really short lashes and eyelash curlers dont work very well for me, and I finally found a mascara that keeps my eyelashes from pointing downwards and gives them an eyelash curler effect! It's not super expensive either and the brush is AMAZING. I very highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DEbeachgirl74 on 5/30/2014 2:16:00 AM more reviews by DEbeachgirl74

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've tried other mascaras but I always come back to this one bc all of the others, including other Maybelline mascaras, clump and look like crap. I like separated defined lashes and Great Lash does that. I use several coats and have no clumping problems except for when it's time to replace the tube. I get the Big Brush kind bc that wand seems to work the best. It's affordable which is definitely a plus.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mia315 on 4/28/2014 8:58:00 PM more reviews by mia315

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

this product was super cheap. i got it for around $3 and tbh i wasnt expecting anything great out of this mascara. when i applied it, it was really easy and it didnt do much but darken my already dark lashes. it did not give me length, it did not give me good volume, but it gave me decent separation. since i didnt want to waste it, i now keep it in my makeup bag that i carry to school just in case im not wearing makeup that day and i need to look a little bit better afterwards. its really fast to apply and i think its a really good mascara for beginners. hope this helped! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products