Nioxin • Bionutrient Protectives Cleanser (formerly 1C cleanser) • Shampoo

rated 4.0(114 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.74%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* barberree on 1/26/2014 3:47:00 PM more reviews by barberree

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

i was pretty disappointed in this. i have thin, fine, blonde hair that i constantly keep colored whatever color strikes my fancy. so i get breakage and slow growth at times. this cleaned my hair, but made it very dry and flyaway. it was certainly not moisturizing, but it did also weigh my hair down. finally, the packaging isn't that great. the bottle isn't flexible enough to squeeze properly with one wet hand to get payback-- or perhaps i just have weak upper-body strength. :) regardless, won't purchase again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 gurlypowa on 5/30/2013 1:43:00 AM more reviews by gurlypowa

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I used this shampoo for about 5 yrs to help with hairloss. It did help, but left my hair very very dry, and I think there was something in it that made my skin itchy. I kept using it tho, since it got rid of my bald spot. even my hairdresser commented on how my hair became so much thicker. but after I had my kid, my hairloss came back - which is normal - but it didn't stop falling out, so I had to try something new - Hairmax laser comb - which worked for me!! also, I went on Accutane which left my hair completely parched, so I knew it was time to switch shampoos.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Donnie130 on 8/27/2012 9:24:00 AM more reviews by Donnie130

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Oily   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I used this product after an operation back in 2003, caused me to lose and inordinate amount of hair.
It worked really well.
Saying that, something has changed about the product since that time
It is no longer the blue minty formula it once was. It has changed hands and the new company that took it over changed the formulation.
I am still going to try it however I worry I may be wasting my time and money. I will update

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 iconoclast on 2/17/2012 9:45:00 PM more reviews by iconoclast

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've used this for a few years and never had any probs. It didn't dry my hair out like it did for some. I didn't like spending so much, but dh liked it so I kept buying it. Last time I bought it I noticed they changed the formula a bit. It still has the nice minty smell and it lathers more than it used to, but now it tangles my hair horribly! Even when I use conditioner it still tangles. Dh doesn't like the changes either, so I won't be buying this again. I'll save my money and go back to drugstore brands. The only reason I didn't give it a 1 is for the smell and lather. On a side note, they changed the conditioner too. grrr

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jr_mint on 8/15/2008 8:22:00 PM more reviews by jr_mint

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

So let's talk about my hair, which is now medium length and naturally flat, straight, and thin; and my scalp which would feel like an oil slick if I neglected to wash daily, and how this product has made my hair look much fuller, thicker and healthier. While it's not the miracle shampoo I've been searching for (as I clearly don't have diva locks) after the first few weeks of using it, I noticed a fullness and shine that I hadn't seen much of before. I know people dislike the minty smell, but I really love it. My scalp feels so clean and refreshed after using it, and I will most definitely be buying again.
I paid about $50 (Canadian) for this product. Although I've NEVER paid that much for shampoo, I've been using it daily for about three months and there's still about 35% percent left. All you really need is a small bit, and it builds a good lather for me, and the bottle's pretty sizeable, so it should last you a long time. In fact, I strongly believe that I'd have even more left in that bottle at the moment if my brother and my dad didn't use it as well!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 middleblondie on 7/27/2008 8:02:00 PM more reviews by middleblondie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

okay, people, make sure you are using the right system for your hair. after reading some of the reviews and their negative comments, i had to explain. the system one is for naturally thin hair. NOT for hair that is thinning. if your hair is thinning, use system 2.
system 3 is for chemically treated hair (color,perm,etc.) for naturally thin hair.
system 4 is for chemically treated hair that is thinning.
systems 5, 6, 7, and 8 are for thicker or more coarse hair. by thicker, i mean the individual hair is thick.
huge difference. if your hair is thinning and your using system 1, no wonder it doesnt work because you have the wrong system!
if you have the correct system for your hair, its an amazing product with awesome results. and delicious smell

22 out of 23 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Harmony80 on 7/4/2008 1:21:00 PM more reviews by Harmony80

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I had high hopes for this for my thinning hair. I used it for a while and it increased my hair loss by a LOT. So now i am trying to fix the mess that is my hair thanks to Nioxin. And if you have hair loss problems you know progress is slow going. Do not purchase if you value your hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 megaboy on 6/18/2008 1:27:00 PM more reviews by megaboy

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

A shampoo i don't gonna buy again i disliked the smell of it.
It's cleans you hair very well, but nothing special further.
Not one for me. Also contains it a lot of variety synthetic ingredients a little bit to much for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 LindseyZ on 5/21/2008 12:10:00 AM more reviews by LindseyZ

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I can't say it's made my hair thicker or reduced the amount of shedding, but it's a gentle cleanser with a minty scent that doesn't dry out my hair or leave any sort of build-up. My major complaint is that it doesn't lather well with hard water, so I have to use twice the normal amount of shampoo just to get it evenly distributed across my scalp. I have to admit that I've never used it with Nioxin's scalp treatment. Even though this is not a miracle product, I will continue to repurchase because this shampoo is gentler than any of the other salon brands I've tried.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TheGypsyChicks on 2/28/2008 6:39:00 PM more reviews by TheGypsyChicks

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I got the shampoo, conditioner and foam for system 2 (non chemically treated hair) and this stuff did not regrow my hair at all, after months of using it. it maybe slowed it down a tiny bit, but not worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Nioxin products

More Shampoo products