DHC Extra Nighttime Moisture

3.8

89 reviews

68% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

water/aqua/eau, butylene glycol, cetyl ethylhexanoate, triethylhexanoin, glycerin, squalane, olea europaea (olive) fruit oil, hydrogenated palm oil, glyceryl stearate SE, stearic acid, behenyl alcohol, pentylene glycol, polysorbate 60, leuconostoc/radish root ferment filtrate, isostearoyl hydrolyzed collagen, phenoxyethanol, carbomer, serine, dipotassium glycyrrhizate, tocopherol, sodium hyaluronate, citric acid, potassium hydroxide


on 3/21/2014 6:22:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I really appreciate DHC for providing samples all the time with their catalog. Iíve tested many of their products, including their cleansing oil & pore face wash and ended up purchasing full bottles. This review is based off of four uses from their catalog sample. I used only a dime-size of sample product & it spread quite easily on my entire face.

The texture of the product kind of reminded me of Betty Crocker frosting. Unfortunately, it did not smell like it. The scent is not strong, but if I had to describe the scent, then I would say it smells a bit like elmerís glue.

After massaging the cream into my skin, my face felt a bit greasy, which is a similar feeling as their olive oil . Went to bed and woke up with no greasy feeling nor any breakouts in the morning.

I have combination skin Ė oily in T-zone areas and normal/dry on my cheeks. I canít speak of the long-term effect of this product on my skin, since Iíve only had a sample pack. Other reviews have raved about how their skin feels the next day, but unfortunately, I did not have the same feeling. This product might be more effective for drier skin types or dry climates/winters. As for me, the sample didnít wow me enough to actually purchase this product (like the pore face wash did). Perhaps Iíll try this again in the future when my skin might need the extra moisture.



on 1/30/2014 6:14:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Having received a sample of this I've been really impressed. my skin has been so sensitive and trilogy sensitive moisturisers were the only ones that didnt annoy but I felt I wasnt getting hydration. although this stuff is reckoned to be greasy I apply a tiny amount over a damp face and its brilliant. not too greasy (not even the next morning) and my skin is lovely and calm. DHC products have really helped my skin. I do agree that the jar packaging isnt the best for hygiene or antioxident preservation, but I use a clean spoon to get the cream out and I keep it with the little lid and in the outer packaging also


on 11/24/2013 9:15:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I love this. It is a creamy, unscented, totally moisturizing and non-irritating moisturizer. It makes my 45 year old skin feel plump and great in the morning. I also use it in the winter before makeup (in the summer it might be a bit too much, but I live in a really humid climate). I think the price is WONDERFUL since most other high-end moisturizers are 100 dollars or more. It never breaks me out (and I'm PRONE to breakouts) and it is simply the perfect moisturizer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/6/2013 1:18:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

EDIT: Crap!! This started to break me out, which I was praying it wouldn't but no, stopped everything and this was the culprit. So sad :(

I like many others tried a sample of this, I was literally amazed in the morning when I woke up, it soaked in completley and I could tell when I rinsed my face because nothing came off! At the time of purchase, I thought it would just be a good thing to plump my face up and I just like the extra moisture. I did also purchase this with the Orjene Organics face serum (dif brand) but I thought that serum would be amazing. Well it caused me to breakout really bad and then I got dry round rough patches too. I immedialtey stopped that and continued this. I feel like this helped me heal my skin faster, the redness is gone and my dry patches are smoothing out. It helped calm my skin and for that I am grateful! It's pricey for me, BUT a little goes a long way! And if its too greasy try using a little less. :)


on 12/17/2012 5:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This is an oily but not too oily balm that really moisturizes and keeps your face plump till the morning! I love it and will repurchase whenever I can afford it again!


on 10/18/2012 12:04:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Tried a bunch of samples for the heck of it because now that the weather is changing my skin turns dry. Loved it after Day One. I woke up to skin that was so soft and smooth it shocked me. And even through the day my skin was perfectly hydrated and my foundation looked better all day. I immediately bought a full size. It isn't greasy to me (but like I said I lean dry) and it doesn't break me out (however I am not acne prone). Somewhat expensive at about $35 a jar but worth it to me ~ I have hard water and live near Chicago so winters are tough on my skin. So I will for sure buy again!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have very oily skin and found that I can use this any time of the day. Before, I tended to listen to suggestions to try gel or light moisturizers, which is actually not adequate for re-moisturizing most skin. Then my oil glands went overboard trying to compensate for the moisture loss and I was left with even oilier skin, possibly dry patches if I hadn't caught on to the problem soon enough. I can't say that this reduces my oiliness because sometimes it does and sometimes it doesn't (I don't even believe there's a miracle product that can solve this problem, so...)
All in all, I love this stuff and I store it in the fridge. It somehow feels oilier when applied at room temperature and I feel like I get too much product that way. The cream also feels firmer when cool, but it's up to you. Just something to experiment with. :)
Keep in mind if your skin type is oily: a little goes a long way.


on 3/13/2012 10:29:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

TOO OILY/heavy for my oily skin. I was wondering how could this be fore 'everyone's' skin. I got few samples and ended up using them on my hands , won't recommend at all for people with combination to oily skin.


on 11/22/2011 3:12:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I really like this stuff! I have combination skin, slightly oily t zone and sesonally dry patches on my cheeks and next to my nose. Dry patches that actually get so bad they itch and flare up and flake, yuck! As we transition into colder weather I thought I would give this a try based on some previous samples I had tried. It is a bit "greasy" when initially applied but seems to sink in and do it's job overnight. My skin feels so plump and hydrated in the morning and baby soft.


on 11/11/2011 9:21:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Full Disclaimer: I reviewed a sample of this product a few years ago when I probably shouldn't have due to my skin type. I'm combination oily so this product felt as if it was just sitting on my face - much too greasy, better for dry skin.


Popular Moisturizers


Moisturizing Cream
1267 Reviews
Strobe Cream
432 Reviews
Sweet Almond Oil
197 Reviews
Back to Top