Laura Mercier Eye Colour in Topaz

4.5

76 reviews

85% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Talc, Dimethicone, Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, Nylon-12, Zinc Stearate, C26-28 Alkyl Dimethicone, Silica, Chlorphenesin, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Potassium Sorbate, Tetrasodium EDTA, Isononyl Isononanoate, PCA Dimethicone, Cetearyl Ethylhexanoate, Octyldedecanol, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate. (+/-): CI 77019 (Mica), CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 19140 (Yellow 5 Lake), CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77492 (Iron Oxides), CI 77499 (Iron Oxides), Tin Oxide, CI 75470 (Carmine), CI 77007 (Ultramarines), CI 77510 (Ferric Ferrocyanide).


on 1/18/2015 11:40:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Topaz is a shimmery taupe brown. I have it in the LM Artistís Palette for Eyes and Cheeks, a Sephora exclusive for Holiday 2014. I find it a bit warmer than I prefer. I use it on the outer third, or so, of my eyelid. Not only is the color not quite right for me, but it also has terrible fallout. I get almost as much fallout from the LM shadows as I have from loose mineral shadows. This is very disappointing and has turned me off of LM shadows.

Ingredients: Talc, Mica, Isononyl Isononanoate, Zinc Stearate, Corn Starch, Silica, Dimethicone, Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, Polyethylene, Isopropyl Isostearate, Pentaerythrityl Tetraisostearate, Squalane, Chlorphenesin, Diisostearyl Malate, Potassium Sorbate, Tetrasodium EDTA, Trimethylsiloxysilicate.
May Contain: Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Ferric Ferrocyanide, Carmine, Yellow 5 Lake, Ultramarines, Manganese Violet.



on 1/11/2015 4:24:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is a great basic for your eye shadow wardrobe. "Topaz" is a light brown/grey taupe. Subtle shimmer means this is workable for day or night. The texture is soft, creamy and easy to blend. Wears all day over my LM Eye Basics in "Linen." A must have for making blue, green, or hazel eyes pop.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/15/2014 7:47:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

All Laura Mercier shadows provide excellent, crease-proof color payoff. A pan easily lasts a year. Topaz, with it's mauve undertone, is a brilliant color for green eyes.


on 9/12/2013 7:21:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is a pretty taupe with a subtle hint of eggplantish purple in it . It goes on like a dream and has just the right amount of shimmer to make the eyes sparkle without emphasizing a few lines/ a touch of crepiness on the lid or crease. Younger women may be abe to buy a similiar color for less, but if you are over 50 you will appreciate this for more than the color.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 9/10/2012 1:38:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This is literally the taupe e/s shade I have been searching forever for. I wanted a light taupe with a slight shimmer without a wet/sheen look that most DS taupes offer.

I got this in the Luxe color portfolio palette and as soon as I swatched it, I said to myself "Yep, this is the one." The texture is very smooth and not powdery at all. Pigmentation is really great for being a lighter e/s shade.

I'm NC30 and this isn't too light or ashy on my lids. I'd say it's more on the cool side of taupe but I warm it up a bit by wearing Bad to the Bronze cream e/s underneath.

When worn on the lid and lightly blended into the crease it gives me that subtle, sophisticated look I've been pining over.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 6/29/2012 2:36:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I bought this to replace my HG avon eyeshadow in precious taupe which is now discontinued. Although, there is a huge difference in the prices of the two, I searched high and low to find the perfect match to the Avon one, and after searching many brands, I finally came across this one. The price wasn't an issue to me as much as the quality was. I found this product to have the perfect shade of taupe with a nice shimmer, great pigmentation, and a nice buttery application. This shade does wonders for my blue eyes, so even if I had to pay about 20.00 more than I was used to paying with the Avon counterpart, it was worth it for such a great product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/23/2011 7:19:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

A winner for brunettes in search of a wearable, soft, everyday taupe that is also buildable into a more dramatic evening look. But then when you discover Laura Mercier's 'Sable' eye shade, 'Topaz' is kicked into second place in this taupe race. Sable is just so much more complex and interesting it leaves Topaz looking a little jaded by comparison.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/31/2011 12:38:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

As far as taupe goes, this is fairly average. It's elegant and iridescent, with understated shimmer. I pair it with LM's "Coffee Ground," a dark brown, for a work look. I prefer LM's "Chocolate" e/s, which is a lot more pigmented and probably transitions to the evening better, but that was a limited-edition for Fall 2011 and is all sold out now.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is my holy grail taupe eyeshadow. I love it so much! The buttery smooth texture and pigmentation are outstanding. It blends like a dream. I use Laura Mercier Buttercream, then Topaz, then top it off with Bobbi Brown Black Plum. It's one of my favorite every day, neutral looks. Topaz is perfect because it's not too warm. Although I have yellow undertones, I look better in cooler eyeshadows. Warm eyeshadows make me look jaundiced. I have never in my life bought a back up, but will with this!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.


on 1/22/2011 3:25:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Lovely taupe shade! This was my first foray into LM shadows--I must be on a mission to own taupe shadows from every m/u line out there.


This one is lovely. It's got just the right amount of shimmer and it's a softer version of MAC Satin Taupe. It's buttery smooth and blends beautifully with other shadows.


This is not a shadow that will stand out and get your makeup noticed, but it's very flattering and gives a polished look. The only reason that I didn't give this 5 stars is that like other reviewers have said, I do have to either pack it on or swipe it over my eyelid a few times to get it to *really* show up. It's not cheap, but it's very finely milled and lasts all day--signs of a good high quality shadow IMO.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top