Laura Mercier • Eye Colour in Topaz • Eye Shadow

rated 4.5(73 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.86%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 IceCheerMom on 9/12/2013 7:21:00 PM more reviews by IceCheerMom

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is a pretty taupe with a subtle hint of eggplantish purple in it . It goes on like a dream and has just the right amount of shimmer to make the eyes sparkle without emphasizing a few lines/ a touch of crepiness on the lid or crease. Younger women may be abe to buy a similiar color for less, but if you are over 50 you will appreciate this for more than the color.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dddoxie on 9/10/2012 1:38:00 PM more reviews by dddoxie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is literally the taupe e/s shade I have been searching forever for. I wanted a light taupe with a slight shimmer without a wet/sheen look that most DS taupes offer.

I got this in the Luxe color portfolio palette and as soon as I swatched it, I said to myself "Yep, this is the one." The texture is very smooth and not powdery at all. Pigmentation is really great for being a lighter e/s shade.

I'm NC30 and this isn't too light or ashy on my lids. I'd say it's more on the cool side of taupe but I warm it up a bit by wearing Bad to the Bronze cream e/s underneath.

When worn on the lid and lightly blended into the crease it gives me that subtle, sophisticated look I've been pining over.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* staci13 on 6/29/2012 2:36:00 PM more reviews by staci13

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this to replace my HG avon eyeshadow in precious taupe which is now discontinued. Although, there is a huge difference in the prices of the two, I searched high and low to find the perfect match to the Avon one, and after searching many brands, I finally came across this one. The price wasn't an issue to me as much as the quality was. I found this product to have the perfect shade of taupe with a nice shimmer, great pigmentation, and a nice buttery application. This shade does wonders for my blue eyes, so even if I had to pay about 20.00 more than I was used to paying with the Avon counterpart, it was worth it for such a great product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ceen on 10/23/2011 7:19:00 PM more reviews by ceen

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

A winner for brunettes in search of a wearable, soft, everyday taupe that is also buildable into a more dramatic evening look. But then when you discover Laura Mercier's 'Sable' eye shade, 'Topaz' is kicked into second place in this taupe race. Sable is just so much more complex and interesting it leaves Topaz looking a little jaded by comparison.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LibertyRose on 7/31/2011 12:38:00 PM more reviews by LibertyRose

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

As far as taupe goes, this is fairly average. It's elegant and iridescent, with understated shimmer. I pair it with LM's "Coffee Ground," a dark brown, for a work look. I prefer LM's "Chocolate" e/s, which is a lot more pigmented and probably transitions to the evening better, but that was a limited-edition for Fall 2011 and is all sold out now.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* playsomevinyl on 4/9/2011 9:58:00 PM more reviews by playsomevinyl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is my holy grail taupe eyeshadow. I love it so much! The buttery smooth texture and pigmentation are outstanding. It blends like a dream. I use Laura Mercier Buttercream, then Topaz, then top it off with Bobbi Brown Black Plum. It's one of my favorite every day, neutral looks. Topaz is perfect because it's not too warm. Although I have yellow undertones, I look better in cooler eyeshadows. Warm eyeshadows make me look jaundiced. I have never in my life bought a back up, but will with this!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CoonieR on 1/22/2011 3:25:00 PM more reviews by CoonieR

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Lovely taupe shade! This was my first foray into LM shadows--I must be on a mission to own taupe shadows from every m/u line out there.


This one is lovely. It's got just the right amount of shimmer and it's a softer version of MAC Satin Taupe. It's buttery smooth and blends beautifully with other shadows.


This is not a shadow that will stand out and get your makeup noticed, but it's very flattering and gives a polished look. The only reason that I didn't give this 5 stars is that like other reviewers have said, I do have to either pack it on or swipe it over my eyelid a few times to get it to *really* show up. It's not cheap, but it's very finely milled and lasts all day--signs of a good high quality shadow IMO.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* iuhooch625 on 12/12/2010 11:10:00 AM more reviews by iuhooch625

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a nice medium taupe shade that leans more on the side of brown. I prefer my taupes to have a bit more gray in them. A good thing about this shade is that it seems pretty neutral and doesn't scream too warm or too cool, so it's very wearable. The color applies quite sheerly, and it takes a bit of effort if you want to build it up. I guess in some ways it's nice to have the buildable option, but I find it to be kind of irritating most of the time. The formula of the shadow isn't very soft and easy to pick up with a brush. This isn't a horrible shadow...I'm just "meh" about it. I wouldn't repurchase as I don't think it's worth the price.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 LittleLee on 11/7/2010 12:18:00 PM more reviews by LittleLee

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I agree with the former review from guccigrl. This shadow doesn't show very well! The color is pretty, just wish I could see it. Mac and Lancome shadow formulations are much better for me. Product way too expensive.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 guccigrl on 10/21/2010 6:04:00 PM more reviews by guccigrl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Awful... hate the color (what little color there is) and hate the product. When i swatched it , nothing happend! i thought i was touching a piece of cardboard. I Tried to wear it on my eyes "shock horror" and got absolutely NOTHING!! nothing on the brush and nothing on my lids... what is this stuff?
Complete waste of money. I have 2 up for swap if anyone wants them....

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Laura Mercier products

More Eye Shadow products