Ben Nye • Bella Luxury Powder in Banana • Loose Powders

rated 4.3(261 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 p206p206 on 2/26/2015 5:58:00 AM more reviews by p206p206

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Other    

I apologise that my review is so long but REALLY WORTH READING!

Just look at those ingredients! talc, zinc stearate, corn starch, rice starch, iron oxides (color), diazoludinyl urea, propylparaben, methylparaben, and fragrance

Talc (quote from cancer.org website) "It has been suggested that talcum powder might cause cancer in the ovaries if the powder particles (applied to the genital area or on sanitary napkins, diaphragms, or condoms) were to travel through the vagina, uterus, and fallopian tubes to the ovary. (...)Some studies of talc miners and millers have suggested an increased risk of lung cancer and other respiratory diseases, while others have found no increase in lung cancer risk."
Did you know that your favourite powder can contain asbestos?

Diazolidinyl Urea is FORMALDEHYDE derivative, Ill give you quote from ewg.org:
"The International Agency for Research on Carcinogens (IARC) has classified formaldehyde as 'carcinogenic to humans,' and the U.S. National Toxicology Program has classified it as 'reasonably anticipated to be a human carcinogen,' based on emerging evidence in humans and robust evidence in animals (IARC 2004; NTP 2005). Occupational exposures to formaldehyde gas are linked to nasal and nasopharyngeal cancers (IARC 2004; NTP 2005). Animal studies confirm this link, and also suggest an association between formaldehyde in drinking water and stomach and gastrointestinal cancer and leukemia (NTP 2005)."

Parabens are known to almost all of you so I won't say more.

Everyone likes fragranced cosmetics (my nose like them too) but some can be allergic.

I used banana few times without looking at ingredients, it is well pigmented and covers natural pink cheeks. However, there are many more (check mineral makeup) powders what are not harmful to us and I will stick to them.

Thanks for reading
I really hope it will help someone
Paula

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LFrancis18 on 2/8/2015 6:27:00 PM more reviews by LFrancis18

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Great powder for setting make up. The only down side is that it doesn't last all day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SimpleNSexy on 2/8/2015 11:39:00 AM more reviews by SimpleNSexy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    


I got the smalled size that goes for around $10-15 CAD last summer and holy crap, it's one of the best loose powders I have ever tried.

I wasn't put off by the yellow tone as I am Asian and have neutral to yellow undertones. One of my biggest challenges when buying foundations is finding the one that's yellow enough but not too yellow in undertones.

Anyway, I had bought this after having her tonnes and tonnes of rave reviews on the 'net and I almost got the Buff shade instead. My reasoning for choosing this was that the Buff one might be too dark once winter arrived.

I love the powder because
A) it mattifies without magnifying the pores on and around my nose
B) doesn't feel like it's clogging my pores
C) offers slight colour correction for when my foundation is a hair to peach/pink toned

The way I typically wear this is that (when I'm wearing foundation) prime my skin, slap on sunscreen, apply the foundation and concealr of choice, powder using theFACEshop powder brush, spritz a bit of NYX Matte (/or Dewy depending on my mood) setting spray, and then powder just my T-Zone lightly. This set-up tends to last 6-8 hours without me needing to touch up or fix anything.

It doesn't have a strong smell and it doesn't flare up my sensitive skin. I know that in Canada, you can either buy it online at camerareadycosmetics or at IMATS (where I got it last summer)

HG loose powder candidate for sure<3

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 taniaandrea on 2/3/2015 6:28:00 PM more reviews by taniaandrea

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is an okay powder i have extremely dry skin and this makes any dry area even more noticeable and flaky if you have oily skin this will be a good powder for you its also not great for light skin if you are anything below an nc 35 this might look a bit orange. Packaging is okay, What I do really like is that its affordable,you get a great amount of product and its really fine and soft i wouldn't repurchase because of my dry skin. If you have dry skin and you're looking for a good powder i recommend the nars light reflecting loose powder its a kind of pricey but it works great on dry skin !!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kandi28 on 1/14/2015 6:59:00 AM more reviews by kandi28

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

best setting powder after rice powder. it's super fine milled and easy to blend out. sets my foundation with ease

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lalalovee on 12/30/2014 4:25:00 AM more reviews by lalalovee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

This powder will only work if you have skin tone darker than NC 40/ NW 35 + overall great powder

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sugabaabe on 12/14/2014 10:04:00 PM more reviews by sugabaabe

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

So after hearing soon many people rave about this being such a great under eye setting powder, I decided to order it. I use it to set my under eye concealer and it truly does keep it from creasing however I don't think it's a good match for my skin tone because I feel like it's too yellow for me :/ Other than that it's a pretty good setting powder.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Chanel1993 on 11/26/2014 12:04:00 AM more reviews by Chanel1993

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Love this product makes my face glow and is great for setting my foundation I use it has my hilight with my yellow nyx hd concealer great combination the only powder I use on my skin great for olive skin tones and oily skin a little pricey but I don't care well worth it

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DaniellaD on 11/16/2014 7:00:00 PM more reviews by DaniellaD

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Excellent for setting and concealing underye circles. Sometimes I wet my beautyblender and use it as a highlighter. I just put a good amount under my eyes in an inverted triangle down my cheek, down the middle of my nose, top of the lip then let it set for 5-10 minutes. Then I bush it well and it gives off a nice glow. No, you will not turn into Kim K but you will have a nice powder to cover circles. Very finely milled powder, doesn't cake - even on drier skin. And it's cheap for the amount you get. Definitely a must have in my make up arsenal.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tigirlyly on 11/9/2014 9:26:00 PM more reviews by tigirlyly

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I'm loving this as an all over setting powder. Just the lightest hand equals a brightened complexion. Just as contour matte bronzer and you are good to go. Although it is yellow, it works very well with my fair skin and cool undertones. I run more pink then yellow. (Im pretty fair, I use MAC face and body in N1 or Smashbox BB in fair)

As I only use 1 light shake to set my makeup...this powder will last at least a 1 year..made more.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Ben Nye products

More Loose Powders products