St. Ives • Make-up Remover & Facial Cleanser with soothing chamomile • Cleansers

rated 3.5(86 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 shenavian on 3/12/2014 3:25:00 AM more reviews by shenavian

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I as I was so upset to hear that this product has been discontinued I wonder if we get enough complaints will they bring this product back it works wonders and I haven't found any other products that works for my skin tight and remove them

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BrendaX on 10/1/2013 11:50:00 PM more reviews by BrendaX

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This product is discontinued and I, like most others here, was devastated. This product worked so well at removing eye make-up and was so inexpensive and readily available. And then one day without warning I was not able to get it anywhere. I searched for and tried many other products. Many burned my eyes. Some were very expensive. Then one day I tried organic coconut oil. The same coconut oil I use for cooking. It removed my eye make-up without burning my eyes. It did not leave a greasy residue on my skin. My skin around my eye feels very conditioned afterwards and that absorbs into my skin as the day progresses. And this method is even cheaper than the St. Ives.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mricha14 on 8/3/2013 12:24:00 PM more reviews by mricha14

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Holy crap, I think this was discontinued!! This was the PERFECT eye make up remover and now I can't find it anywhere! Please, please, please bring this back. I can't find anything like it nor at such a good price. :( :( :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sayfam on 5/8/2013 1:07:00 PM more reviews by Sayfam

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Oily   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I am furious----I think this is discontinued. I used it as precleanser before I used a foamy cleanser--it was perfect for that. Looking for a substitute to no avail--most makeup remover cleansers are sooo greasy, i.e. cold cream. Oh well, I switched to Noxema and it's OK, but I loved this stuff!. Please St. Ives, bring this back!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 judydd on 3/20/2013 5:18:00 PM more reviews by judydd

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I've used this product for years, and now can not find it in stores. Has St. Ives stopped making it?
It's great because one can massage it into dry face, clean off with wet wash cloth, and not have to splash water all over the place. I hate those cleansers which require wetting face first, lathering, rubbing, then rinsing and most of the make up comes off on the towel instead of on the wash cloth/rinse water.
It is gentle on my skin and does not require rubbing which is irritating.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Melonblob on 2/25/2013 7:29:00 PM more reviews by Melonblob

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is very similar to a cold cream. It works, but you just have to find the perfect method to make it work. It's really creamy and feels oily on the face, but here's how to make it work the best:
you need to wet your face with warm water to open your pores and relax your skin. Then pat your skin dry with a towel. I like to leave my skin moist. Then rub the cream around your face and let it sit for ten minutes. I recommend you massage the cream into your makeup and your face. Then wash it all off with warm water and finish with a cleanser. It is very good for loosening makeup but you still have to use something to wash your face again to remove all traces of makeup.
I just tried this on eyeshadow and it is very effective! You just have to massage the cream in.
Also, it does not foam, it is not a soapy cleanser. It has mineral oil in it which does the makeup "removing" part but it's not heavy, it's not like putting oil makeup remover on your face, it's lighter.
I personally would not purchase again because I already have makeup remover wipes and cleanser, but I recommend it if you're looking for something like this. It is certainly cheap and works at what it is for.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 KikkomanLady on 2/23/2013 7:20:00 AM more reviews by KikkomanLady

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is HORRIBLE. Do NOT buy this. It removes 0% of your makeup. It just smears your makeup around your face. The consistency reminds me of the original Olay facial cleanser... only MUCH more oily... and it leaves that slick feeling on your skin even after you have rinsed it off. Water was BEADING on my face after i rinsed it off, so you could tell there was an OBVIOUS residue. Please, people, DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS PRODUCT.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mikaavila94 on 9/1/2012 10:42:00 AM more reviews by mikaavila94

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Do not buy this. "Makeup remover"? This is the only cleanser I've had that when used alone leaves a lot of makeup still on my skin PLUS residue from the cleanser itself. It doesn't foam like it says it does and is cream more than anything. Has a funky chemical smell, ironic. Doesn't smell like chamomile at all. I don't even trust to reuse it to wash my makeup brushes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 paperskater on 8/11/2012 2:33:00 PM more reviews by paperskater

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Bought this on a whim, since it was so inexpensive. I have normal skin and don't wear much makeup. At most, I have BB cream and eye makeup on, so I wasn't looking for a heavy duty makeup remover or anything. It didn't really touch the eye makeup and I had some difficulty removing BB cream from the sides of my nose and stuff. Definitely doesn't feel as drying as some other face cleansers that I've tried, but this product makes my face feel almost greasy, even after I pat my face dry. The product is very creamy. I haven't experienced any breakouts, which is good. There is a definite smell to it. I don't know if it's the chamomile, but it's a very acrid, sharp smell that I really cannot stand. I'd continue using this just for the sake of using it up, but I find that the smell is pretty awful.

Overall: Decent buy for the money, but nothing to write home about. If you wear a lot of makeup, I'd find something else.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 smile244 on 8/3/2012 2:10:00 AM more reviews by smile244

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

to start off i don't like the way this product felt on my skin. the product felt rather oily and i felt like it didn't do anything to remove my make-up. personally i would have liked this product a bit more if it lathered up just so i can have that satisfaction that something is being removed from my skin. this product didn't break me out, which is the reason i added and extra star, but the product didn't do anything to benefit my skin either.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More St. Ives products

More Cleansers products