St. Ives • Make-up Remover & Facial Cleanser with soothing chamomile • Cleansers

rated 3.5(88 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 minusthegirl on 11/13/2014 8:06:00 PM more reviews by minusthegirl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I really miss this cleanser. My mom used St. Ives for YEARS to cleanse her face and she by the way, has this gorgeous, unlined, flawless skin. She's in her late 50's but her skin remains fabulous. As I'm in my late 20's you might think that it's odd for me to use a product that was marketed to older women, but I really think that the older generation knows something we don't about gorgeous skin. Every skin lotion or cream my mother has suggested to me over the years has worked magically for me as well. And she NEVER used gel cleanser. Not once. That says something about those, doesn't it?

It took me awhile to figure out how to use this stuff, but after I did.....HEAVEN. My skin is combination with oily spots in my t-zone and dry cheeks and chin. I've found that I really do not like using gel cleansers (the majority of which are what is sold on the market) as they tend to leave my face feeling uncomfortable and tight after a wash. I have been using Neutrogena Naturals Facial Cleanser and Makeup Remover, but I really don't like it, for the aforementioned reasons. It also claims to be fragrance free, but it DEFINITELY has a strong fragrance to it, and it irritates the delicate skin around my eyes.

St Ives Chamomile Cleanser (which I happen to have a little bottle left) is perfect after using the Neutrogena. My routine is 4 parts: Neutrogena Naturals (which I will be replacing) to take off heavy makeup such as foundation, Almay Oil Free Eye Makeup Remover (the BEST!), St. Ives Chamomile Cleanser to smooth and moisturize, and Neutrogena Oil Free Moisturizing Lotion to lock it all in. The St Ives doesn't leave my face feeling tight. It gives me a moisturized, soothing, baby clean feel on my face. My skin is always so smooth and soft after using this. I'm really quite upset that I have to find ANOTHER cream cleanser to use after I run out of this, especially since creams don't remove all of my makeup, and I MUST use a gel cleanser or soap before using the cream to get all of my makeup off. I'm reluctant to use Neutrogena Naturals Cream Cleanser since I hate the smell (same as their natural facial cleanser-by the way, WHY is a 'natural' product fragranced? Mind boggling), and something in it just makes my skin angry after awhile.

I will really miss this product once it's gone. I hope and pray that St Ives will bring it back again, because it was really perfect. If I cannot find anything to replace this, I will go to using an all natural bar soap and Albolene to cleanse with cream. Ridiculous that something so wonderful and inexpensive was removed and now the useless, toxic crap that clutters up shelves is allowed to stay.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Granddabby on 7/24/2014 11:25:00 AM more reviews by Granddabby

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Although I've been unable to find this product in stores for quite awhile, I had not officially heard it was discontinued until reading the reviews on this website. It was a wonderful product. Just use a cool damp wash cloth to moisten face, rub a small amount of St. Ives cleanser all over face and clean off with a wet wash cloth. It did not make my skin tight like soap does. The only St. Ives cleansers that seem to be available now are scrubs which in my opinion are awful and can't understand how people are able use them. I've tried a couple and have had to trash them because no matter how careful I try to be, pieces of the scrub get into my eyes and mouth, plus I have a hard time getting all those tiny particles off my face. It feels like grains of sand. Ugh! I pray that St. Ives will return this product to stores.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shenavian on 3/12/2014 3:25:00 AM more reviews by shenavian

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I as I was so upset to hear that this product has been discontinued I wonder if we get enough complaints will they bring this product back it works wonders and I haven't found any other products that works for my skin tight and remove them

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BrendaX on 10/1/2013 11:50:00 PM more reviews by BrendaX

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This product is discontinued and I, like most others here, was devastated. This product worked so well at removing eye make-up and was so inexpensive and readily available. And then one day without warning I was not able to get it anywhere. I searched for and tried many other products. Many burned my eyes. Some were very expensive. Then one day I tried organic coconut oil. The same coconut oil I use for cooking. It removed my eye make-up without burning my eyes. It did not leave a greasy residue on my skin. My skin around my eye feels very conditioned afterwards and that absorbs into my skin as the day progresses. And this method is even cheaper than the St. Ives.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mricha14 on 8/3/2013 12:24:00 PM more reviews by mricha14

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Holy crap, I think this was discontinued!! This was the PERFECT eye make up remover and now I can't find it anywhere! Please, please, please bring this back. I can't find anything like it nor at such a good price. :( :( :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sayfam on 5/8/2013 1:07:00 PM more reviews by Sayfam

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Oily   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I am furious----I think this is discontinued. I used it as precleanser before I used a foamy cleanser--it was perfect for that. Looking for a substitute to no avail--most makeup remover cleansers are sooo greasy, i.e. cold cream. Oh well, I switched to Noxema and it's OK, but I loved this stuff!. Please St. Ives, bring this back!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 judydd on 3/20/2013 5:18:00 PM more reviews by judydd

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I've used this product for years, and now can not find it in stores. Has St. Ives stopped making it?
It's great because one can massage it into dry face, clean off with wet wash cloth, and not have to splash water all over the place. I hate those cleansers which require wetting face first, lathering, rubbing, then rinsing and most of the make up comes off on the towel instead of on the wash cloth/rinse water.
It is gentle on my skin and does not require rubbing which is irritating.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Melonblob on 2/25/2013 7:29:00 PM more reviews by Melonblob

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is very similar to a cold cream. It works, but you just have to find the perfect method to make it work. It's really creamy and feels oily on the face, but here's how to make it work the best:
you need to wet your face with warm water to open your pores and relax your skin. Then pat your skin dry with a towel. I like to leave my skin moist. Then rub the cream around your face and let it sit for ten minutes. I recommend you massage the cream into your makeup and your face. Then wash it all off with warm water and finish with a cleanser. It is very good for loosening makeup but you still have to use something to wash your face again to remove all traces of makeup.
I just tried this on eyeshadow and it is very effective! You just have to massage the cream in.
Also, it does not foam, it is not a soapy cleanser. It has mineral oil in it which does the makeup "removing" part but it's not heavy, it's not like putting oil makeup remover on your face, it's lighter.
I personally would not purchase again because I already have makeup remover wipes and cleanser, but I recommend it if you're looking for something like this. It is certainly cheap and works at what it is for.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 KikkomanLady on 2/23/2013 7:20:00 AM more reviews by KikkomanLady

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is HORRIBLE. Do NOT buy this. It removes 0% of your makeup. It just smears your makeup around your face. The consistency reminds me of the original Olay facial cleanser... only MUCH more oily... and it leaves that slick feeling on your skin even after you have rinsed it off. Water was BEADING on my face after i rinsed it off, so you could tell there was an OBVIOUS residue. Please, people, DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS PRODUCT.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mikaavila94 on 9/1/2012 10:42:00 AM more reviews by mikaavila94

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Do not buy this. "Makeup remover"? This is the only cleanser I've had that when used alone leaves a lot of makeup still on my skin PLUS residue from the cleanser itself. It doesn't foam like it says it does and is cream more than anything. Has a funky chemical smell, ironic. Doesn't smell like chamomile at all. I don't even trust to reuse it to wash my makeup brushes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More St. Ives products

More Cleansers products