Unlisted Brand • Prell Rinse Clean Shampoo • Hair

rated 4.2(60 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 BlackHoleDiver on 9/23/2014 7:59:00 PM more reviews by BlackHoleDiver

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This won't kill hair color, especially dark hair. That said, it does clean hair and skin very well. In fact...nothing drained into the water yesterday, compared to a shampoo I was using supposedly designed for color treatments. I have dark brown hair which I dye black, and my "color care" shampoo turned the water light brown, until yesterday.
When I used my Prell.
Allegedly a harsh cleanser.
No way!
This shampoo is technically for all hair types but if your hair is oily or flat, it adds body. It also doubles as a fragrant body wash. For those with dry hair or recent redheads, try a nourishing conditioner and leave-in afterward, because red is difficult to keep and dry hair needs special attention, but also requires thorough cleansing.
If you still want to use a creamy, moisturizing product, this is perfect for clarifying.
Edit: I need to add that men will probably like this product. The fragrance is musky, a little sexy, beachy, unique, and lingers in wet hair for a little while. Because it has unisex appeal, I think it's an enduring favorite. In fact...I like to imagine my secret crush--a clever, intelligent, intensely creative man--lying beside me wrapped in the sensual fragrance of sexy clean. Wink. Girls, you know what I'm talkin' about. Holla at me if you get me!
Ladies, I shout out to those of you who love and dream. Guys, I know you all are the same way! Keep dreaming.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 gmmace80 on 9/8/2014 11:11:00 AM more reviews by gmmace80

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Like others, I bought this because I wanted to strip out some hair color that came out too dark. Quite honestly, I don't think really stripped out much color. But I did like that it made my scalp feel really clean. Sometimes I'll get spots on my scalp that are sore to the touch, even though there doesn't appear to be anything there, and Prell really seems to help with that. But,unfortunately since I started using Prell, my face has been getting little red bumps. I looked at the ingredient list and the culprit is most likely benzophenone-2, which is a sunscreen. Chemical sunscreens always irritate my face. I may use it once it a while, but I will have to be careful to wash any traces of it off my face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LilMissMatched on 8/8/2014 6:03:00 AM more reviews by LilMissMatched

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I thought I was the only one who used this as a clarifying shampoo! Reading the reviews I see I was very wrong. I love the way it makes my hair literally squeaky clean, as mentioned by another member. I don't use this everyday, I sorta rotate this with a more moisturizing shampoo, whatever it may be at that moment because it varies. So Sexy Line by VS, bedhead, or just Herbal Essences or something like that. I like the clean, simple scent that reminds me a bit of pine. I have a tendency towards dry scalp/dandruff, and Prell does not dry my scalp or cause flakes.
I like the fact that it strips my hair down, freeing it of oil and the little product I actually use. I like the scent. I like the price tag. It's a good shampoo to have in your shower repertoire, and sets the stage for bouncy, clean and healthy hair with the right conditioner and serums. Love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lifeinfuschia on 6/6/2014 3:59:00 PM more reviews by lifeinfuschia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the clarifying shampoo to buy if you have extremely fine and very oily hair like me. It may be too harsh for most and perhaps not the most beneficial for the hair, but if you need to get out and go with fresh hair, it's perfect.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 oldiesgirl on 3/1/2014 11:59:00 AM more reviews by oldiesgirl

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Prell has been my shampoo of choice for many years. I have tried many other shampoos but keep coming back to this. It leaves my hair soft, clean and bouncy. I used to use it every day but now that my hair is drier I use it every 3 days. The scent is sort of floral which isn't bad
but would prefer a coconut scent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* niclyf on 2/13/2014 2:46:00 PM more reviews by niclyf

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I picked this up mostly to use for stripping hair color. It's fairly ineffective in that regard for me & didn't strip much color at all. I hung into it for the purpose of being a good clarifying shampoo & while it does leave my hair *literally* squeaky clean, it's also very drying to the point that I get flakies when I use it. Good at removing styling product build up, but I can't deal with the presence of flakes as a result. I'll be sticking with Suave Daily Clarifying from now on.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CordulaM on 1/24/2014 8:43:00 PM more reviews by CordulaM

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I got this as a recommendation for getting build up out and enhancing shine. I also do sometimes want to strip out some hair color (and sometimes I don't) so it's on hand for that. However, I don't want to risk over drying my hair and I do find this is a bit harsh for me. So I tend to stick to the Head and Shoulders instead, which feel a bit more moisturizing or at least less stripping and works well for getting color out too. I also didn't feel like it added *that* much shine. I don't wear a lot of product in my hair to begin with so lately I feel the lack of shine has to do with stripping and dying and having a courser hair texture than from overusing products. So while this works for some, I'm going to pass on getting it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PISALISA on 12/29/2013 9:10:00 PM more reviews by PISALISA

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I would have never even thought of using Prell shampoo had it not been for a certain MUA member on the hair board...(I'm looking at YOU, Nitromusk!). I've been shampooing with Prell for about a month and my hair loves it. For reference, I have extremely thick, frizzy and wavy hair. I flat iron several times a week and I have double processed hair color. Everything I've used to shampoo with has either dried my hair out and stripped the color, or it doesn't clean well and leaves my hair feeling heavy and dull. Prell has single-handedly stopped my itchy scalp, cleans without drying out my hair, and leaves my hair full of life and shine. This is HG shampoo for me! I would purchase this $3.00 shampoo even if it cost $20. Total game changer... :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Katras on 11/24/2013 2:20:00 PM more reviews by Katras

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this shampoo - I like the fact that it doesn't make my scalp red and itchy, which is a common problem for us sensitive types. I like the fact that very little is needed to throughly and satisfyingly clean the scalp and hair without over-drying or stripping (I have long hair; middle of my back and I use roughly a nickels worth of shampoo). I really like the smell - its just clean; not cloying sweet or over-fragrenced, just clean. I like the price (about $4 USD) for the amount of product you get (about 14 oz.) and it's made in the USA (which I love). The only thing I dislike, is that I don't know if the company tests on animals, which is a huge thing for me. Apparently the original manufacturer sold Prell to another manufacturer and then they in turn sold it another company, and I can't seem to find any information on the current company's policy on the matter. I did find one bit of information stating that Prell DOESN'T test on animals but that was in 2009. Until I can find more information of the subject to state otherwise, I'm sticking with Prell.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jdbly11 on 8/24/2013 11:34:00 AM more reviews by jdbly11

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

When I was a teenager, my hair stylist recommended this shampoo to me because I have very oily, wavy, fine hair. My hair is not color treated and I use very few products. She said to use it twice and then use a conditioner on the ends of my hair. Many shampoos just do not clean my hair very well. I started using this product again a couple times a week a few weeks ago. The results have been good. My hair has a nice shine and is much less oily. I have some problems with hair thinning that I am still trying to deal with. I used to have such nice thick hair but since I became an adult it does not look like it did when I was younger.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Hair products