Unlisted Brand • Prell Rinse Clean Shampoo • Hair

rated 4.2(64 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.82%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 BlackHoleDiver on 2/6/2015 4:08:00 PM more reviews by BlackHoleDiver

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I strayed from this for a year or so but I'm back. Why? I missed the fragrance. I missed the amazing cleaning frenzy generated by its abundant lather. And I missed smelling like Bath And Body when I use it as a body wash.
I enjoy dying my dark hair black and notice no color change. My hair is clean, healthy, not much falls out in my brush, and my skin isn't chapped even though it's mid-winter in the northeast and we're having brutal weather. Girls with dry hair should definitely condition after this but as a clarifier or basic shampoo, I think it's perfect. It has no oil, conditioning agents, or silicone so it gets down to the scalp for a super cleansing. I hope this is here forever! It works.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BrownEyedBrunette on 1/6/2015 7:18:00 PM more reviews by BrownEyedBrunette

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using Prell for years and years now and it is amazing. Originally, it was recommended to me by a coworker to get brassy tones out of my (at the time) highlighted blonde hair, which I honestly don't remember if it helped with that at all, but I did like how clean it made my hair feel. Then I had several horrendous experiences where I went to the hair salon and asked to go back to my natural medium to dark brown hair which turned out being jet black and looked awful. I rinsed my hair 3 times in the shower with Prell over the next 3 days each time this happened and it lifted the color 2-3 shades! But you will need a deep conditioner or hair mask for this because rinsing your hair that many times with Prell will make your hair super dry. Fast forward a few years and I finally have butt length virgin hair again after letting all then old color(s) grow out and get cut off. Now I only wash my hair about once a week sometimes but rarely twice because I have a lot of heavy long brown hair where I can get away with not washing it for about 3 days before it even starts looking greasy, after that I use dry shampoo to mask it until I wash it. So compile all my leave in conditioners, heat protectors, shine sprays dry shampoos and on occasion hair sprays and I have myself an incredible amount of buildup that won't get washed out with using just a regular shampoo. That's where my holy grail Prell comes in! This shampoo is by far the best clarifying shampoo I've ever used. It has a very clean scent which is great since I am very weird with scents, it's affordable between 2-4 dollars a bottle depending on where you purchase it (I recommend walmart because it's usually the cheapest there) and it makes your hair so clean, you can literally hear your hair squeak! After I rinse with this shampoo (sometimes I rinse with it twice) I then use my regular shampoo and conditioner which currently is John Frieda brilliant brunettes for natural or colored brunettes or dove daily moisture. Some may say it's a lot to do but like I said I don't wash my hair very often as it's unnecessary for me not to mention it's a chore considering how long and thick my hair is haha but I refuse to cut it I love it long! On the flip side if you have color treated dark hair or red hair it will really strip the color out, as would any clarifying shampoo, so if you do use this I wouldn't use it every time you wash your hair like I do. I would also recommend you use a color depositing shampoo for your respective color if you decide to use this! Anyway that's my Prell story. I've loved and used this product for years and will continue to do so to keep my long hair clean and healthy!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SmaugtheMagnificent on 12/8/2014 1:45:00 AM more reviews by SmaugtheMagnificent

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have a heard time finding shampoo i like, shampoo usually weighs my hair down and makes it look awful. I thought i'd give this ago. My great grandmother uses it. I wasnt expecting anything spectactular to happen but wow this shampoo made me hair light as a feather and gave it more bounce. I love it, i dont love the one chemical in it i cant remember the name so thats one bad thing but i'll continue to use it until i can find another shampoo that makes my hair amazing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* laumar27 on 11/24/2014 11:14:00 AM more reviews by laumar27

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

My hair always looks great when I use Prell. I recently rediscovered this super afforbable drugstore staple after many years. I have literally paid 10 times as much for salon and high end shampoos that do not deliver such good results. This lathers extremely well, smells fresh in that "classic clean" shampoo sense, and makes my hair look healthier, smoother, AND I can go longer in between shampoos when I use this. For reference, I have longish, fine/color treated hair.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 crystalradium on 11/22/2014 more reviews by crystalradium

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I like how clean and shiny it gets my hair, but it gives me eczema inside/behind my ears, so I probably won't repurchase. I also don't like how liquid it is.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 gmmace80 on 9/8/2014 11:11:00 AM more reviews by gmmace80

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Like others, I bought this because I wanted to strip out some hair color that came out too dark. Quite honestly, I don't think really stripped out much color. But I did like that it made my scalp feel really clean. Sometimes I'll get spots on my scalp that are sore to the touch, even though there doesn't appear to be anything there, and Prell really seems to help with that. But,unfortunately since I started using Prell, my face has been getting little red bumps. I looked at the ingredient list and the culprit is most likely benzophenone-2, which is a sunscreen. Chemical sunscreens always irritate my face. I may use it once it a while, but I will have to be careful to wash any traces of it off my face.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LilMissMatched on 8/8/2014 6:03:00 AM more reviews by LilMissMatched

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I thought I was the only one who used this as a clarifying shampoo! Reading the reviews I see I was very wrong. I love the way it makes my hair literally squeaky clean, as mentioned by another member. I don't use this everyday, I sorta rotate this with a more moisturizing shampoo, whatever it may be at that moment because it varies. So Sexy Line by VS, bedhead, or just Herbal Essences or something like that. I like the clean, simple scent that reminds me a bit of pine. I have a tendency towards dry scalp/dandruff, and Prell does not dry my scalp or cause flakes.
I like the fact that it strips my hair down, freeing it of oil and the little product I actually use. I like the scent. I like the price tag. It's a good shampoo to have in your shower repertoire, and sets the stage for bouncy, clean and healthy hair with the right conditioner and serums. Love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lifeinfuschia on 6/6/2014 3:59:00 PM more reviews by lifeinfuschia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the clarifying shampoo to buy if you have extremely fine and very oily hair like me. It may be too harsh for most and perhaps not the most beneficial for the hair, but if you need to get out and go with fresh hair, it's perfect.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 oldiesgirl on 3/1/2014 11:59:00 AM more reviews by oldiesgirl

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Prell has been my shampoo of choice for many years. I have tried many other shampoos but keep coming back to this. It leaves my hair soft, clean and bouncy. I used to use it every day but now that my hair is drier I use it every 3 days. The scent is sort of floral which isn't bad
but would prefer a coconut scent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* niclyf on 2/13/2014 2:46:00 PM more reviews by niclyf

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I picked this up mostly to use for stripping hair color. It's fairly ineffective in that regard for me & didn't strip much color at all. I hung into it for the purpose of being a good clarifying shampoo & while it does leave my hair *literally* squeaky clean, it's also very drying to the point that I get flakies when I use it. Good at removing styling product build up, but I can't deal with the presence of flakes as a result. I'll be sticking with Suave Daily Clarifying from now on.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Hair products