Unlisted Brand • Prell Rinse Clean Shampoo • Hair

rated 4.1(58 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.82%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 LilMissMatched on 8/8/2014 6:03:00 AM more reviews by LilMissMatched

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I thought I was the only one who used this as a clarifying shampoo! Reading the reviews I see I was very wrong. I love the way it makes my hair literally squeaky clean, as mentioned by another member. I don't use this everyday, I sorta rotate this with a more moisturizing shampoo, whatever it may be at that moment because it varies. So Sexy Line by VS, bedhead, or just Herbal Essences or something like that. I like the clean, simple scent that reminds me a bit of pine. I have a tendency towards dry scalp/dandruff, and Prell does not dry my scalp or cause flakes.
I like the fact that it strips my hair down, freeing it of oil and the little product I actually use. I like the scent. I like the price tag. It's a good shampoo to have in your shower repertoire, and sets the stage for bouncy, clean and healthy hair with the right conditioner and serums. Love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lifeinfuschia on 6/6/2014 3:59:00 PM more reviews by lifeinfuschia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the clarifying shampoo to buy if you have extremely fine and very oily hair like me. It may be too harsh for most and perhaps not the most beneficial for the hair, but if you need to get out and go with fresh hair, it's perfect.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 oldiesgirl on 3/1/2014 11:59:00 AM more reviews by oldiesgirl

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Prell has been my shampoo of choice for many years. I have tried many other shampoos but keep coming back to this. It leaves my hair soft, clean and bouncy. I used to use it every day but now that my hair is drier I use it every 3 days. The scent is sort of floral which isn't bad
but would prefer a coconut scent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* niclyf on 2/13/2014 2:46:00 PM more reviews by niclyf

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I picked this up mostly to use for stripping hair color. It's fairly ineffective in that regard for me & didn't strip much color at all. I hung into it for the purpose of being a good clarifying shampoo & while it does leave my hair *literally* squeaky clean, it's also very drying to the point that I get flakies when I use it. Good at removing styling product build up, but I can't deal with the presence of flakes as a result. I'll be sticking with Suave Daily Clarifying from now on.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CordulaM on 1/24/2014 8:43:00 PM more reviews by CordulaM

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I got this as a recommendation for getting build up out and enhancing shine. I also do sometimes want to strip out some hair color (and sometimes I don't) so it's on hand for that. However, I don't want to risk over drying my hair and I do find this is a bit harsh for me. So I tend to stick to the Head and Shoulders instead, which feel a bit more moisturizing or at least less stripping and works well for getting color out too. I also didn't feel like it added *that* much shine. I don't wear a lot of product in my hair to begin with so lately I feel the lack of shine has to do with stripping and dying and having a courser hair texture than from overusing products. So while this works for some, I'm going to pass on getting it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PISALISA on 12/29/2013 9:10:00 PM more reviews by PISALISA

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I would have never even thought of using Prell shampoo had it not been for a certain MUA member on the hair board...(I'm looking at YOU, Nitromusk!). I've been shampooing with Prell for about a month and my hair loves it. For reference, I have extremely thick, frizzy and wavy hair. I flat iron several times a week and I have double processed hair color. Everything I've used to shampoo with has either dried my hair out and stripped the color, or it doesn't clean well and leaves my hair feeling heavy and dull. Prell has single-handedly stopped my itchy scalp, cleans without drying out my hair, and leaves my hair full of life and shine. This is HG shampoo for me! I would purchase this $3.00 shampoo even if it cost $20. Total game changer... :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Katras on 11/24/2013 2:20:00 PM more reviews by Katras

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this shampoo - I like the fact that it doesn't make my scalp red and itchy, which is a common problem for us sensitive types. I like the fact that very little is needed to throughly and satisfyingly clean the scalp and hair without over-drying or stripping (I have long hair; middle of my back and I use roughly a nickels worth of shampoo). I really like the smell - its just clean; not cloying sweet or over-fragrenced, just clean. I like the price (about $4 USD) for the amount of product you get (about 14 oz.) and it's made in the USA (which I love). The only thing I dislike, is that I don't know if the company tests on animals, which is a huge thing for me. Apparently the original manufacturer sold Prell to another manufacturer and then they in turn sold it another company, and I can't seem to find any information on the current company's policy on the matter. I did find one bit of information stating that Prell DOESN'T test on animals but that was in 2009. Until I can find more information of the subject to state otherwise, I'm sticking with Prell.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jdbly11 on 8/24/2013 11:34:00 AM more reviews by jdbly11

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

When I was a teenager, my hair stylist recommended this shampoo to me because I have very oily, wavy, fine hair. My hair is not color treated and I use very few products. She said to use it twice and then use a conditioner on the ends of my hair. Many shampoos just do not clean my hair very well. I started using this product again a couple times a week a few weeks ago. The results have been good. My hair has a nice shine and is much less oily. I have some problems with hair thinning that I am still trying to deal with. I used to have such nice thick hair but since I became an adult it does not look like it did when I was younger.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Eeeeelicia on 8/9/2013 3:31:00 AM more reviews by Eeeeelicia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

By far one of the worst clarifying shampoos I have ever encountered. Snagged it on sale at Walgreens for $1.99 and I figured I had nothing to lose. But this stuff only leaves my hair feeling gummy and matted down at the same time. I didn't know that was possible. Prell has a fair amount of fans on the hair board and has very good reviews, but it just didn't work for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JenPhil1313 on 7/31/2013 5:10:00 PM more reviews by JenPhil1313

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I have to say that I was quite pleasantly surprised by this shampoo. It gets such a bad rap for being very drying- and I did not find that to be the case. This shampoo caught my eye at the drugstore because it was on sale. I read the ingredients and saw that it did NOT contain any SLS cleansers. It does contain ALS and Cocamide DEA- cleansing agents that my hair seems to like. Plus they're supposed to be gentler. This shampoo has minimal ingredients and has no added moisturizing ingredients in it. I was thinking that this looked perfect to use a clarifying shampoo. I have used it a couple of times and it always seems to make my hair fell very clean and leaves it shiny and bouncy. It does not dry out my waves/curls or my hair in general. Just leaves it very clean without weighing it down with any moisturizers. I like this a lot better than the V05 Kiwi Lime clarifying shampoo that I was using. The Prell seems gentler but just as effective. Though I am not a fan of the neon green color or the strong scent, I think this is a particularly awesome no-frills, gentle clarifying shampoo. Leaves hair very clean and bouncy but not dry. Good stuff!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Hair products