The Body Shop • Mango Body Butter • Lotions/ Creams

rated 3.9(408 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fuzzysham on 12/15/2014 7:39:00 PM more reviews by fuzzysham

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I really want to give this 4.5 stars, but since I can't, I'm gonna follow the rules I learned in school and round it up to 5.
I'm not a huge fan of super fruity scents, but I decided to sniff this at Ulta the other day because I know that mango is their most popular body butter scent. I was BLOWN away. Not because I love mango, which I just mentioned that I don't, but because this smells exactly like a Apricot childrens shampoo I used to use when I was a little girl in Germany- I'm a huge sucker for nostalgic scents. Right then I knew I had to buy it! It was like my childhood in a tub of body butter. What could be better?
As far as moisturizing goes, it's not as moisturizing as the coconut body butter but it is greasier, so apply lightly. The scent is heavenly and stays on for a long time!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Arrosynn on 7/21/2014 12:14:00 PM more reviews by Arrosynn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I really like the consistency of this and the smell is totally awesome, I love mangoes. However the one thing I really don't like is the fact that I could put this on in the morning, and by the time I go to bed, I still feel like I have lotion on and I feel a bit greasy. I really don't like that because it feels like it hasn't soaked in at all, then I feel like it's all over my clothes too. I think it does an OK job at hydrating my skin and keeping it moisturized and soft, but like I said, I don't feel as though it completely soaks in. That's about the main reason for the 3 lippies. Also, even though I do really like the smell of it, it does get a bit over powering after a while. And since this doesn't soak in all the way, I do find the smell sticks around all day until I wash it off. Which is the only other downside I found about this product. Otherwise, I don't have any other issues with it. But it's not the greatest. I'm a sucker for Hempz lotion though, absolutely ADORE that stuff. The pomegranate and triple moisture ones are my two favourites. =p

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Milicica on 7/21/2014 9:02:00 AM more reviews by Milicica

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Im a bit torn with this one - love the consistency and it makes my skin feel great. BUT the smell is just crazy strong...i prefer to use this at night after shower,and the next day my whole bedroom smells like it and it doesnt go away unless i change the sheets and i really dont wanna be changing them daily. It was a present so im glad i didnt waste money on this

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 aidabit on 7/15/2014 11:55:00 AM more reviews by aidabit

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This smells like a peach soda to me:) kind of fake, I much prefer the vineyard peach one. I don't find it too greasy, I can use it in the summer, but my skin is normal to dry.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 fennyjunita on 7/12/2014 9:19:00 AM more reviews by fennyjunita

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy   Eyes: Black    

moisturize and soften my skin, has a nice scent and not maked my skin sticky when i used it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 anonyym on 5/7/2014 5:30:00 PM more reviews by anonyym

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Not my favorite of the range. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* honestopinions on 5/1/2014 4:37:00 PM more reviews by honestopinions

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not generally keen on mango scent but I got it as a present and right enough it smelt of mango and quite strongly too. It is a very thick cream. I found it too greasy for me although my skin isnt especially dry. Its a large tub so a lot of product And money to waste if you don't like it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* djsaphira on 3/23/2014 11:55:00 PM more reviews by djsaphira

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

The mango body butter from TBS is hands down my favourite body butter consistency wise. It's so luscious and creamy I could just sit there and rub it into my skin the entire day. This past winter was one of the harshest I've faced here in NJ over the last 13 years, and I had sadly developed huge dry patches from daily showers and no moisturizing afterwards (bad, bad Stephanie). This body butter saved my poor scaly skin within a week of almost daily use. I experienced no breakout on my body, and the driest parts just sucked it up. It was wonderful. If I lived in a super-dry climate I would be buying this by the Jumbo tubful. As I am only this insanely dry during the winter I will be waiting to replace my completely empty tub in the coming fall. Adore this butter so much.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lalalalila on 3/11/2014 10:55:00 PM more reviews by lalalalila

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This is my favorite TBS Body Butter!

It smells divine and is EXTREMELY moisturizing. Unlike some of the other TBS butters which are solid and don't move around in the container, this one is more of a soft cream. It does tend to leave somewhat of an oily/greasy sheen, but I don't mind this at all. I apply this at nighttime after showering and my skin stays soft and hydrated all through the next day. I'd suggest spending just $5 more and getting the jumbo size, since it's double the amount of product. TBS is frequently having sales so those are the best times to stock up. Love this so much! I will repurchase forever!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 meilin69 on 3/9/2014 9:29:00 AM more reviews by meilin69

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

amazing stuff. TBS body butter with the best consistency.

this is my 5th body butter after shea, cherry, coconut, and olive.
shea and coconut are amazing and perfect except one thing, they dried down to a powdery feeling, cherry is too watery, as well as the other "normal skin" butters, olive is not too watery and not too powdery and has a nice consistency, but still not hydrating enough for my skin so i have to use more products. so i went for this one instead, i thought why not if it sucks then i can go back to olive.
people said this is too greasy for dry skin, although i'm not sure if my skin is very dry, but it doesn't feel greasy at all on me, enough oiliness to feel moist but also not too sticky to make me feel uncomfortable. i apply it straight after showering when my skin is still damp. i think it does the trick.

the only downside is i hate the smell, i hate it so much, it doesn't smell like mango at all, it doesn't smell like anything i can think of, it smells like only god knows and it's too powerful for me. but not as strong as the mango beautifying oil. my aunt have a bottle on her bathroom and i applied it on my arms once i nearly killed myself with the headache after. i'd rather sniffing shea or coconut on my skin all day, but this mango really make my skin feels nice and moist, without the annoying powdery feeling so i can ignore the smell.

and people please stop whinning about how "expensive" this is cause it's NOT. you get what you pay for. if you want to buy cheap stuff with only chemicals in it then feel free to stay with drugstore, but TBS body butters contains a lot of oils and natural ingredients in it. just be honest, your skin can't be fooled like your wallet. spending more on a body butter doesn't mean a scam.

bottomline, it's a win. i will purchase again when i run out. and hopefully stock up during sale. it's near summer in my city, but this butter works just fine. or maybe my skin is just very dry.

ps; i'm glad they changed the packaging. the old picture looked like va-jay-jay, if they haven't i think it might scare me from buying.

EDIT: i still hate the smell, but getting used to it. sometimes it can be subtle and fresh and not so sickly anymore.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More The Body Shop products

More Lotions/ Creams products