Maybelline • Wet Shine Diamonds Liquid in Spoiled in Rubies • Lip Gloss

rated 3.0(36 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.47%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 unicornlily on 1/28/2013 7:22:00 PM more reviews by unicornlily

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I bought this one with the wet shine liquid diamond gloss, I didn't use this one very much because it was too red, and wasn't my style. But still it's a good one if you want some super red and glossy lips.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mondenkind on 8/19/2010 12:37:00 AM more reviews by Mondenkind

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really love the color on this but I wish it had more staying power! I constantly had to reapply this all day and forget about eating! The formula its self goes on very light and because of the glitter its grainy meaning it can scratch and damage your lips so it can't be worn without a base which is another draw back.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 circelilith on 8/20/2009 8:58:00 PM more reviews by circelilith

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This product is ok for a carry in your handbag emergency gloss, but i did find it really sticky and it does smudge very badly on anything that comes in contact with your mouth ( glasses and mugs esp!) its a lovely colour but it does stain. Would probably try this again but in another colour. This colour just didnt suit me in the end

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ClarityRose on 3/8/2008 11:28:00 PM more reviews by ClarityRose

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

My overall impression of this product is "meh".

I bought it so I could have something in my bag to use as a quick touch up, and it certainly does serve that purpose well.


However...
The product fades rubs off very quickly, and smears, too. God help you if y ever accidentally get any of it on your face or fingers (the tube tends to leak, so that scenario is not at all unlikely) because it leaves a rather obvious trace of glitter. Not only that, the color itself is quite hard to get rid of. If only it would stay on my lips as well as it stayed on my skin.

I did notice the grit, but only when I was rubbing my lips together to get a feel for the consistency. Otherwise, it was fine.

And as everyone else said: the color does turn into very bright fuchsia.

I didn't notice any strong smell or taste. At times, I did notice a hint of petroleum, but it's very weak.

It didn't dry out my lips, but it left a slightly sticky residue.


I wouldn't repurchase because of the lack of staying power and whatnot, but I'm not too disappointed since I made the purchase with the idea of "you get what you pay for" in mind.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 soniawonia on 12/2/2007 3:45:00 PM more reviews by soniawonia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

Pretty!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 amya on 9/26/2007 1:27:00 PM more reviews by amya

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I happen to like this. It is a pigmented gloss, which I wanted. The name is misleading, but you can tell by looking at it in the tube that is is not a true red. It is a pink/red- I liken it to a Marachino cherry. I apply with a lighter hand, so it does not overwhelm. Sparkly and brightening on me. I have dark hair/light skin/hazel eyes. EDIT: Ok, maybe this is a bit bright for me, but pretty nonetheless. I think if your skintone is darker, you may be able to pull this off.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ekym on 1/4/2007 3:57:00 PM more reviews by ekym

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I agree with previous reviews: this is NOT RED it is a very bright, reddish fuchsia. The name “ruby” is misleading. In the tube it looks like a gorgeous, very sparkly, blue-red. Also, it is not sheer, if it were I could tolerate it and have other uses for it, but it is bright, bold, and opaque. Very disappointing. I will not buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Kjnawrocki on 1/9/2006 9:18:00 PM more reviews by Kjnawrocki

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I agree that this is far more gawdy pink than the look of it in the tube in drugstore lighting and display. Very misleading. Because it is the deepest shade, does this mean Wet Shine has NO RED?
Anyway, it is also too goopy, thick on, sticky, not one of those sheer, fruity, fun glosses you would wear over a lip pencil. It is porn star red. LOL
Recommendatin for those experimenting with red. Try Neutrogena Moisture Shine Gloss in GLAM. It is not a dark but medium red. Great for fair complections that may find red glosses too "made up looking." It is wonderful consistency, goes on clean, easy to apply, and you can often get Neutrolgen multi gloss packs at Costcos.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 cuteboringlove on 10/1/2005 12:27:00 AM more reviews by cuteboringlove

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I was very disappointed in this stuff..mainly because it isn't red! when I think of rubies, I think of RED..what about you? Well, this is fuchsia! It's more like a hot pink with maybe a little bit of red and some "diamonds". It's so bright that I think it makes your lips look ridiculous. If you do use this and like the color, I'd still suggest that you blot because it tends to be runny and globby.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jnugget21 on 9/7/2005 2:28:00 PM more reviews by jnugget21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Great consistency but the gloss looks pretty garish fuschia on me. I thought it would be more red but beware-This is a very BRIGHT color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Lip Gloss products