The Body Shop • Honey & Oat Scrub Mask • Masks

rated 3.9(137 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TurtleMoon on 11/14/2014 4:44:00 AM more reviews by TurtleMoon

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Iím not a massive fan or user of face masks, so it has to be a pretty special one for me to use on a regular basis and consider repurchasing. And in the case of this face mask it's ticked both of those boxesÖ

Although this says itís a moisturising mask for normal/dry skin, Iíve actually found this to be perfect for my oily/combination skin. Unlike the face masks that are supposedly aimed at my skin type Ė which often leave my face feeling sore and stripped of moisture Ė this feels like itís doing something beneficial. Itís great to apply just before getting into a warm bath as itís quite cooling on the skin, and it doesnít dry out or go all flaky either.

The consistency of this is quite thick (think slightly cooled porridge) and as you would expect from a honey and oat mask, it has pieces of oat in it. Itís very easy to apply, but it can get quite messy so I would recommend applying this in the bathroom, close to a sink so you can wash your hands afterwards (and avoid the risk of dropping it on your bedroom carpet). I donít think this smells of anything in particular, but the scent is quite pleasant and not astringent in any way.

I usually leave this on for about 10 minutes Ė 15 minutes if Iím feeling particularly indulgent and donít have to be anywhere Ė and then wash off gently with a facecloth soaked in warm water. This leaves me face feeling really smooth and hydrated, and looking quite radiant. It doesnít exacerbate my oily skin or irritate the dryer parts of my face either, so as far as Iím concerned thatís a win all round.

At £10.00 this is much cheaper than most of the high-end brands, but I would say itís comparable to a number of them in terms of the positive results Iíve experienced since using it. I would have no hesitation in repurchasing this and would definitely consider choosing this over a higher-end brand in the future.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 shizznizz on 9/18/2014 4:55:00 PM more reviews by shizznizz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Most importantly; it smells like heaven.

The mask smells so good I want to eat it, but it doesn't taste as good as it smells, so don't do that. Other than that; an okay/good mask, that keeps the skin soft and clean. But that's about it. It's an alright product, that happens to smell amazingly good. The smell itself is wort buying it again and again.

Final summation:
No big superpowers to it, just a ridiculously heavenly smell. But that's okay.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 solzae on 8/1/2014 11:31:00 AM more reviews by solzae

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

If you don't want to read the rest of my blab, here is the short version: This mask made my skin soft and glowy. It's good.

And here is the rest of my blab:
Before I used this mask, the skin on the left side of my forehead was really dry and scaly, and would peel. It was just that spot giving me problems, and no matter how much moisturizer I put on that area, after a while the skin would still go dry and peel. My skin also gets pretty dull because I sit in front of the computer a lot and I don't always get enough sleep. The mask definitely helped with these issue, and it made my skin soft and bright.

The mask has a sweet smell, though it might be a bit strong for some people. It says that the mask exfoliates but the pieces of oats in the mask don't do that. I just use an exfoliator before applying the mask. I'm also not sure about the cleansing aspect either. I tried to use the mask after just rinsing my face and after I washed the mask off, my pores were still visibly clogged. If I wash my face with a cleanser beforehand, this does not happen.

I let the mask sit for 15-30 min, even though the packaging says you don't need that long. I tried letting it sit for different amounts of time, and I found that I got the best results when I let it sit for about 30 min. The suggested 10 min was not enough to get the same glowy result, and once I let it sit for an hour, but the result wasn't much different from 30 min. There is a tingly/cooling sensation when the mask is sitting, I don't know what that is supposed to do. After a while it goes away/you get used to it so it shouldn't be a big problem.

After washing it off, my skin is noticeably softer with no dry spots, and my face has a peachy glow. I never bothered with face masks before but after using this I cannot go back to my old ways. The price for a 100ml tub is $18 CAD, so it's not cheap. My mom bought this on sale later on, 3 items for half price, and now I have 3 tubs of this stuff. Buy it on sale and your wallet and your face will thank you.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 elizabethyong on 7/3/2014 1:25:00 AM more reviews by elizabethyong

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Check out my little video review here:





I love using this product, especially when my skin feels irritated. Oatmeal helps calm my skin down, and I like that this product is mess-free, and smells divine.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lushyluxe on 3/8/2014 4:04:00 PM more reviews by lushyluxe

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Simply the best TBS skincare product by far. I cannot do without this weekly sumptuous treatment. I leave it to dry for 10 minutes, and after a good rinse with warm water, I find my skin is radiant and soft. The lumpy texture and yummy smell make it for a special experience.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 meltaylor114 on 1/10/2014 5:11:00 PM more reviews by meltaylor114

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I had to review this product because it's a life saver. I use it once a week for about 15-20 mins.

The first time I used it, I felt like it tingled a lot so, thinking I was having a bad reaction, I washed it off within about 5 mins. My skin looked fine and actually felt quite nice so a few days later I tried it again and I felt the same tingling feeling but it subsides within about 5 minutes. I think it's just how it works and it doesn't feel painful or anything!

The smell isn't that wonderful to me but it isn't unpleasant, either. It feels nice going on, as it exfoliates your skin as well as moisturises it. After I rinse it off using a muslin face cloth, my skin is glowing and extremely soft! It seems to reduce any spots or blemishes, and evens out my skintone too. I follow with Vitamin E face cream from The Body Shop and I'm left with really soft and radiant skin. My HG product, can't live without it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 joana7 on 2/1/2013 5:38:00 AM more reviews by joana7

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Nice mask for dry winter skin! It's mild and the smell is nice. Does not tingle or irritate my skin in any way. One thing I really like about it is that it's not runny so you can actually have it on your face and do stuff around the house without it dripping down. Because I feel that it is not very exfoliating by itself, I wet my hands and remove it with circular movements when it's time to take it off... I can then feel a gentle exfoliation. After removing the mask, my skin is left soft and more even.
This is not a miracle worker BUT it is definitely a nice treat for your skin. Extra points for being reasonably priced and not tested on animals!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PetuniaCom on 1/20/2013 5:41:00 PM more reviews by PetuniaCom

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This stung my face right when I applied it when I first bought it. So I washed it off right away. Decided not to throw it out, and about almost a year later, I thought I'd give it another shot. It stung like it did, but I kept it on, and the feeling went away completely after a few minutes. I washed it off and applied my usual cream on, and noticed my face was GLOWING. I expected red spots or something, but it definitely did its job. Just get past the stingy feeling, since it's only temporary, you'll be happy with the results. Don't rely on this for the exfoliating properties though, because the oats won't do that.

Definitely repurchasing.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Rosse86 on 11/1/2012 3:56:00 PM more reviews by Rosse86

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Kaolin and honey are good ingredients for a face mask, but I don't think this one does any wonders, and I don't think it's worth the price. Also, the exfoliating pieces don't do anything, so the "3 in 1" is a joke. Plus the ingredient list is a long tirade of unnatural stuff including lots of parabens.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mauvellous on 8/17/2012 10:25:00 AM more reviews by mauvellous

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

Wish I read reviews here before buying because it felt as though it was burning my skin, particularly on my cheeks (I'm combination-dry). Scent is nice, though. But I can't bear to throw it away, so now I'm using it as a shaving cream.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More The Body Shop products

More Masks products