Origins • Ginger souffle • Lotions/ Creams

rated 3.9(153 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cathykl on 11/23/2013 3:14:00 PM more reviews by cathykl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I know scent is a personal preference - but to me this smells bad. It just smells sharp and like some cleaning product to me. I got a sample while shopping and when I used it one night, the sheets stank of this and I could smell it in the morning too. My husband (who loves ginger) complained about the scent as well saying it was "chemical and weird". . .and he usually does not even notice any scent on me.

Also it is sticky and tacky, my legs felt like there was a layer of slime after I put this on. Didn't absorb or moisturise well. I wanted to shower about an hour after applying. Thank god I didn't buy a full size. I would recommend getting a sample and trying it out first - because again, scent and product texture are very personal.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alina08 on 2/4/2013 10:23:00 PM more reviews by alina08

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I really like the ginger perfume by Origins, so I bought a set with the shower gel and the cream. Unfortunately for me, the cream does almost nothing in terms of moisturization. I think maybe there is too much fragrance in the cream for it to be moisturizing, but I always have to layer on extra cream afterwards. Other than that, I love the scent and I like how the packaging is made of a flexible plastic (that you can take a lot of the air out of) to save space.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* spaflam on 1/10/2012 2:59:00 PM more reviews by spaflam

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Ginger essence is a strong scent - but its better as a souffle - nice texture and a gingery-lemony bite. Not too harsh. Not a HG but OK for a while. Good in the winter.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pkkatalina on 11/9/2011 3:53:00 PM more reviews by pkkatalina

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I dislike and have intolerance to artificial perfumes.

I can tolerate this Ginger Souffle with no problem. It smells fantastic on the skin and is subtle. As far as moisturizing ability, I'd rate it about an 8 out of 10.

Sometimes I also mix it with my unscented Alba Botanica just to make the container last a little longer. I think this runs about $28 for the plastic jar.

I've also tried the Ginger Essence spray and that's very strong and lasts all day, so be careful with that...it can be overwhelming.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* denns on 5/22/2011 2:38:00 PM more reviews by denns

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

To think I was going to spend $30+ online to buy this - so glad I smelled it first! I usually love ginger but this smells a little funky to me. Its more like a citrusy ginger, and I don't really care for it. I'm sure its moisturizing properties are excellent, as Origins is a great brand but the scent is blegh for me. But others love it, so give it a smell for yourself - just don't buy online! The scent is really strong and you may be turned off. I recommend going into Origins [free facials right now too :D] and testing...while you're their try out the Lavender soufflé, the smell is divine!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Audrey0 on 2/21/2011 9:04:00 PM more reviews by Audrey0

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

You have to smell it yourself to decide if you like the scent; that's just personal preference. I LOVE it and so does my husband. So we're happy!

As a reference point for the fragrance the following essential oils are ingredients:
-ginger
-cardamom
-apricot
-coriander
-eucalyptus
-lime
-sweet orange
-bergamont
-grapefruit
-lemon

So we're talking concentrated citrus/spicy fragrance. Based off of some others' reviews, that's not everyone's cup o tea. But hey, I hate Chanel no5 and every other florally, sugary VS perfume that dominates that market. Different strokes for different folks.

As for function, the product is perfect for winter dry skin on my legs and elbows. I use it on my legs after I shave and then I go to bed. It's very moisturizing. I have used it for the past 5 years, every winter. I will keep using it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Reptilia22 on 1/30/2011 3:41:00 PM more reviews by Reptilia22

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

When I use this body cream I automatically feel healthier, like the ginger is reinvigorating my senses and suddenly my metabolism is awakening! Hahah! This is true though, at first I thought the scent was a little too pungent and I'm sure it's not to everyone's tastes. But not being a sugary, sweet, cakey kind of person myself this scent really warmed to me. Although I sound like I am reviewing some kind of perfume here there is also much to be said for the moisturizing properties of this product! The cream is rich in skin-nourishing oils and after a couple days of using this product I can really feel a difference! When I apply the product it only takes 30 seconds, up to a minute, to settle in to my skin and then I am not left with a sticky residue, as I have read in some other reviews, but a velvety smooth, sleek finish. It is one of the only moisturizers where I can really, truly feel the difference in my skin's texture, appearance and overall well-being in a matter of days. I am truly a convert and will no longer be lusting after the sickly sweet, Palmer's Cocoa Butter, or Laura Mercier's Body Creams but for the gingery, heavenly, fresh Origins Ginger Souffle.... My only disappointment with this product is that the tubs aren't bigger! Where is the large, pump bottle for this product Origins? I always seem to run out as soon as I've bought it! I will be on your case over this one!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 visageaparis on 1/26/2011 3:04:00 PM more reviews by visageaparis

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I am not a fan of this product. I had read such positive reviews that I thought that I would love it. First of all, I don't like the scent. It is kind of a sickly weird smell to me. It is too strong to wear during the day because it fights with perfume, so in order to try to use up the product I began applying it to my legs at night so that I didn't smell it so much.
The moisturizer/souffle itself is very disappointing as well.
It sits on top of the skin even with massaging--never really absorbed to hydrate and leaves a sticky, tacky texture on top.

Needless to say, I won't be repurchasing this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 JenniferPickner on 4/10/2010 10:09:00 PM more reviews by JenniferPickner

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

I love Origins ginger products. The smell is absolutely magnificent! And the lotion has a great light non greasy feel. If your prone to dry skin, however, it may leave something to be desired for your thirsty skin. It's really better for summer or those you don't need to much moister. And I don't really like the packaging. I prefer easy to handle tubes or a nice pump dispenser instead of a big awkward tub. Overall though, I love it! The smell is fantastic and it feels great.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Graceful26 on 11/11/2009 8:47:00 PM more reviews by Graceful26

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm almost through my jar of this product. I must say, when applying it, it really does feel like you're treating your skin to soemthing luxurious. I love the smell of ginger and it has a lovely creamy texture.

Problem is, the smell doesn't last! Not even hints of it! Each time I apply about 2 hours later any whiff of this lovely scent has evaporated. It is also not moisturizing enough for my dry skin. It may work nicely as a summer moisturizer, but it's a little pricey for me to buy this product again since I really didn't love it.

The ingredient list is also on the long side for my tastes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Origins products

More Lotions/ Creams products