Giorgio Beverly Hills • Giorgio • Fragrances

rated 2.7(113 reviews)

Average Rating.2.7
Would buy this product again.33%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SorceressOfTheDark on 10/3/2013 12:12:00 AM more reviews by SorceressOfTheDark

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Many of us have our '80's stories of Giorgio Beverly Hills. When this was first introduced, I was working a fragrance counter, pushing Opium, Ralph Lauren, White Shoulders and Shalimar and other more staid perfumes. Whenever a woman wearing Giorgio would walk by, her perfume would preface her and she'd leave a trail behind her. Those of us working cosmetics would never wear the stuff on the floor, because of its enormous sillage and we'd quietly snicker about the customers that did. It was just that loud and it seemed no one explained to these ladies that "less is more". Unfortunately, the bad rap of Giorgio began.
This should never have been a spray-on perfume. Why they manufacture it this way is beyond me. This is a walk into the mist fragrance. Or dab a cotton ball that you've sprayed. It's overwhelming otherwise in its beauty. And it is truly beautiful, if you allow yourself to appreciate its fumes.
There are many conflicting strong notes here-florals, fruits, woods, musks and more. They all envelop you in a glorious perfume that's bright, cheerful and powerful. As far as the haters? I don't think they truly understand this concoction. If you close your eyes, breathe delicately, you can discern the sandalwood, the vanilla, the musk, the tuberose, the gardenia, the orchid, the jasmine, the rose, the ylang-ylang, the chamomile, the oakmoss and cedar in the drydown. Yes, there is a lot going on here. And when it's all done? Vanilla and light musk. Who would have figured? And what a delight to be able to appreciate it all!
Now as far as who can wear this with chutzpah? The woman who doesn't give a rat's ass. The woman who wears black to a wedding. The woman who comes home at 6 a.m. to change for work. The woman that wears pearls with her jeans just to wear them. The woman that truly adores perfumes in all their variety. The woman with a mature sense of life.
After so many years, I'm delighted to wear this perfume. It's bursting with vivacity and happiness. I've forgotten my old perceptions and given Giorgio a new lease on life. I'm so glad I did. I'm enjoying every minute I wear it!
Top Notes: Apricot, Orange Blossom, Peach, Bergamot.
Middle Notes: Tuberose, Gardenia, Orchid, Jasmine, Ylang-Ylang, Rose.
Base Notes: Sandalwood, Amber, Chamomile, Patchouli, Musk, Oakmoss, Vanilla, Cedar.

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cadej1998 on 7/20/2013 11:08:00 PM more reviews by cadej1998

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Giorgio reminds me of the best parts of the late '80's/early '90's. A family friend wore this as her signature, and when I smell it these days, I remember the fun summer nights all of my family and friends had. Giorgio, when worn in light strength, is actually a fresh white floral chypre of tuberose, moss, vetiver and soft patchouli. This '80's shoulder padded powerhouse has been causing a stir since its launch in November 1981, and when Vogue advertised it for the first time in May 1983 with a tear out scent strip page(Giorgio was the first perfume to start the scented page ads) the perfume world was changed forever. Giorgio is a whole lot of fun to wear now days because it is no longer around every turn. It's a great one to wear while listening to Madonna's "Crazy For You" or watching "Sixteen Candles"....it brings back those types of good memories for many of us.

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 YoHarajuku on 7/31/2012 3:14:00 PM more reviews by YoHarajuku

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is very 80s but in a good way! I've tried many fragrances from this era and they all tend to be so outdated that they are unwearable. Giorgio isn't however. I personally can't wear it as its too strong.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 danavig on 3/18/2012 8:55:00 AM more reviews by danavig

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Oh gosh. This is so nostalgic. I remember the first scent strips ever to appear in any magazine back in the '80's were the yellow and white Giorgio strips. They were the first to use them and it resulted in a worldwide marketing phenomenon When I smell this now, I am taken back to reading Vogue, Bazaar and Mirabella and smelling the strips, which would make the whole magazine smell rather nicely. I'm now a closet Giorgio wearer (I will purchase a bottle at Harmon cosmetics and just wear it around the house). I'm embarrassed to say I would never wear it in public, but I wouldnt, only because it is too loud and too '80's. I'd have to get my big, frosted hair back, along with my rubber bracelets, bad eyeshadow and thick eyebrows!

Dana Vigilante

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* awesomeness2 on 2/20/2012 11:36:00 PM more reviews by awesomeness2

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

OMG, I can not believe I am about to say this. Giorgio is wonderful & so much better than I remember her. She's pretty heavy on the white florals, but she's not girlie-girlie. She's a spry, yet refined, California woman with a backbone.


I already own Giorgio Red and Giorgio Blue, both of which I wear frequently. I'm not sure why it took me so long to test the original again. OK, maybe not-so-original, but the not-so-new formulation by P&G Prestige Beaute. (Now the GBH brand is owned by Elizabeth Arden.) However, I do remember the intensity & sillage of the original, & the P&G version is a WHIMPER in comparison.


4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Olfactoria on 2/19/2012 10:44:00 AM more reviews by Olfactoria

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

OK, I know it's strong, contentious, and potentially pneumotoxic-- but I LOVE Giorgio and have since it came out. There is nothing remotely like it, and how refreshing is that in a world of lychee-waterlily-cupcake flanker frags that all dry down to the same vague, scented-candle basenotes? In fact, Giorgio dries down to... Giorgio. That doesn't mean it's simplistic-- far from it-- just that all the notes stick around 'til closing time.

Giorgio is bright, optimistic, tangy, and gorgeously multifloral. The tuberose comes through loud and clear, but it's good-quality tuberose and it's saved from mustiness by the tang of pineapple. It's just a beautiful creation, from a time when fragrances were formulated with more care because there were fewer in production. I want to emphasize that the EA Fragrances version now on the market (with the logo in white letters edged with blue) is not worth the money. It's not Giorgio, it's weak and klutzy and wrong. To really experience the glory of this thing, get vintage on eBay (the logo is inside a tilted white rectangle).

I wear this verrrry judiciously, and only the EDT/cologne (parfum concentration is only for those who enjoy clearing out elevators and making pregnant women barf at 50 paces). Youthful, timeless, sophisticated.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* crysna on 12/21/2011 8:50:00 PM more reviews by crysna

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

First of all, this fragrance is a classic, introduced in the 80's, at that moment was one of the most desirable fragrances, classy, elegant and feminine! It comes from a different time, nothing to do with the newest fragrance releases. So the people hate it for what it is! Well for me it's an example of a survivor cuz it's still sold on the stores, online; I grown up smelling this cuz is one of my moms signature fragrance, it's loud, heavy, floral, and feminine! Smells so beautiful on my mom, sophisticated and classy. I learned to use properly, now I got my own bottle (cheap price) and use with 3 spritz and ready for going to party!
I didn't have a headache, or bad feeling while wearing it, even people complimented me saying what lovely fragrance are u wearing? So I guess it's not a waste of money. So this is only for people with class!!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pjw1209 on 9/8/2011 3:20:00 AM more reviews by pjw1209

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Anyone and everyone in the 1980's owned this fragrance. I worked as an Asst Buyer at a major department store, and when you walked on the first floor all you could smell was Giorgio. The fragrance bay had a mister set up w/ Giorgo that started at 9:00 am, and went to 6:00 pm. Of course I had to own it then, but I wouldn't purchase it now. It probably doesn't even smell the same. I'll never forget this fragrance.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 smileybiker on 6/12/2011 9:38:00 PM more reviews by smileybiker

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I personally would never buy this perfume. However it has good memories of work for me. I used to work in P&G and they had this in the toilets along with other perfumes to try. I used to douse myself in this a few times a day. I didnt even like it so much back then in the 90s. But it did waft throughout the building and was not sure a bad "roomspray" sort of scent. A girl at uni loved it and she is one of the only people i know who used to buy bottles of the stuff. Its kinda old granny sort of smell. But brings back nice memories for me. Despite that, definitely not something i would purchase (apart from the mini samples we could buy at work in the work shop).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* felgoj on 3/30/2011 1:51:00 PM more reviews by felgoj

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was big on the knockoff of this (Primo!) when I was a teen in the '80s (didn't have the money for the real thing). Now that I bought a mini bottle of the real deal I completely understand why many ppl dislike it... I still like the fragrance... but it's SUPER strong. I still prefer the Primo! knockoff instead (which I also bought) - its much softer, less intrusive.


Giorgio shouldn't be sprayed on. The mini I bought is a dab bottle & just the tiniest bit on my finger is enough to waft all around me & fill a room. I love the nostalgia of the 80s that this fragrance brings back, but I don't want to be drowining in the smell of it. Again, dab just the TINIEST bit of Giorgio - don't spray it!


I'll rebuy the Primo! but nah I won't buy the real Giorgio again. Too strong. Primo! makes me happy enough. That's the actual version I wore when I was a teen anyway, not Giorgio.


2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Giorgio Beverly Hills products

More Fragrances products