Giorgio Beverly Hills Giorgio

2.7

116 reviews

33% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 4/26/2015 12:05:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I couldn't resist buying a bottle of the currently-available reformulation (by EA Fragrances) at Marshalls just for yuks a few months ago.

That yellow-and-white striped logo tends to activate the brainstem of anyone who came of age in the '80s-- for good or ill, we ALL knew exactly what Giorgio smelled like, and the extravagant loudness it represented! You almost *had* to wear neon prints, shoulder pads and giant hair bows if you were gonna wear Giorgio. One thing you can say about this scent: it can't be mistaken for anything else. I happened to be among its avid fans, though I often settled for the Primo! "imposter," which is fairly close.

I've greatly enjoyed wearing the EA Fragrances version on weekends. It definitely retains the bright pineapple-tuberose "feel" of the original, minus the heavy and musty drydown; it also is considerably weaker than the original and can actually withstand multiple full spritzes while drying down close to the skin. That's an advantage in my book! After all, the Giorgio I remembered could be dabbed on the end of a toothpick, lightly touched once to the skin, and still give off fumes detectable in outer space.

EDIT: I recently wore this 2 days in a row, and a sort of Beverly Hills miasma began to settle into the room I sleep in, the sheets and blankets, even my skin after a shower! My enthusiasm for Giorgio began to wane when I realized it was the fragrance equivalent of being chased by a shrieking phalanx of Cyndi Lauper impersonators. I still love this scent, but clearly the occasional use is enough.









4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.



on 3/25/2015 1:27:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I can't be near anyone who wears this fragrance it gives me a massive headache way to strong .


on 2/1/2015 7:41:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Oh this one takes me back lol Holy heavy tuberose,gardenia and amber is what I remember lol

My aunt gave me a little bottle of this for Christmas in 1987 I had just turned 13...talk about a flashback! lol I had a love/hate for this one I loved then scent but hated how heavy it was.....this was my aunts signature scent back then.


on 1/14/2015 12:25:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Kinky, Fine

Eyes: Black

Giorgio is one of those scents that you don't wear. No, no this perfume is one that wears you.
The first blast (not whiff, this one blasts) screams sweet chemically TUBEROUSE!!!!! Then after you recover from that, you get a general feel of a slight mentholy greenness, tons of sweet pineapple, sweetness & a general feeling of being covered by tons & tons of flowers. The notes in my head were tuberouse! Pineapple!citrus! Sweet! As it dries down this gets less screechy & more creamy & that's when i start liking it. Giorgio is a BIG white floral very girly. I think if worn sparringly (no more than ONE spray on the chest) this is a beauty. Anything more than that & you risk being THAT person...you know the "overperfumed" lady i'll be running away from!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Many of us have our '80's stories of Giorgio Beverly Hills. When this was first introduced, I was working a fragrance counter, pushing Opium, Ralph Lauren, White Shoulders and Shalimar and other more staid perfumes. Whenever a woman wearing Giorgio would walk by, her perfume would preface her and she'd leave a trail behind her. Those of us working cosmetics would never wear the stuff on the floor, because of its enormous sillage and we'd quietly snicker about the customers that did. It was just that loud and it seemed no one explained to these ladies that "less is more". Unfortunately, the bad rap of Giorgio began.
This should never have been a spray-on perfume. Why they manufacture it this way is beyond me. This is a walk into the mist fragrance. Or dab a cotton ball that you've sprayed. It's overwhelming otherwise in its beauty. And it is truly beautiful, if you allow yourself to appreciate its fumes.
There are many conflicting strong notes here-florals, fruits, woods, musks and more. They all envelop you in a glorious perfume that's bright, cheerful and powerful. As far as the haters? I don't think they truly understand this concoction. If you close your eyes, breathe delicately, you can discern the sandalwood, the vanilla, the musk, the tuberose, the gardenia, the orchid, the jasmine, the rose, the ylang-ylang, the chamomile, the oakmoss and cedar in the drydown. Yes, there is a lot going on here. And when it's all done? Vanilla and light musk. Who would have figured? And what a delight to be able to appreciate it all!
Now as far as who can wear this with chutzpah? The woman who doesn't give a rat's ass. The woman who wears black to a wedding. The woman who comes home at 6 a.m. to change for work. The woman that wears pearls with her jeans just to wear them. The woman that truly adores perfumes in all their variety. The woman with a mature sense of life.
After so many years, I'm delighted to wear this perfume. It's bursting with vivacity and happiness. I've forgotten my old perceptions and given Giorgio a new lease on life. I'm so glad I did. I'm enjoying every minute I wear it!
Top Notes: Apricot, Orange Blossom, Peach, Bergamot.
Middle Notes: Tuberose, Gardenia, Orchid, Jasmine, Ylang-Ylang, Rose.
Base Notes: Sandalwood, Amber, Chamomile, Patchouli, Musk, Oakmoss, Vanilla, Cedar.

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.


on 7/20/2013 11:08:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Giorgio reminds me of the best parts of the late '80's/early '90's. A family friend wore this as her signature, and when I smell it these days, I remember the fun summer nights all of my family and friends had. Giorgio, when worn in light strength, is actually a fresh white floral chypre of tuberose, moss, vetiver and soft patchouli. This '80's shoulder padded powerhouse has been causing a stir since its launch in November 1981, and when Vogue advertised it for the first time in May 1983 with a tear out scent strip page(Giorgio was the first perfume to start the scented page ads) the perfume world was changed forever. Giorgio is a whole lot of fun to wear now days because it is no longer around every turn. It's a great one to wear while listening to Madonna's "Crazy For You" or watching "Sixteen Candles"....it brings back those types of good memories for many of us.

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.


on 7/31/2012 3:14:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This is very 80s but in a good way! I've tried many fragrances from this era and they all tend to be so outdated that they are unwearable. Giorgio isn't however. I personally can't wear it as its too strong.


on 3/18/2012 8:55:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Oh gosh. This is so nostalgic. I remember the first scent strips ever to appear in any magazine back in the '80's were the yellow and white Giorgio strips. They were the first to use them and it resulted in a worldwide marketing phenomenon When I smell this now, I am taken back to reading Vogue, Bazaar and Mirabella and smelling the strips, which would make the whole magazine smell rather nicely. I'm now a closet Giorgio wearer (I will purchase a bottle at Harmon cosmetics and just wear it around the house). I'm embarrassed to say I would never wear it in public, but I wouldnt, only because it is too loud and too '80's. I'd have to get my big, frosted hair back, along with my rubber bracelets, bad eyeshadow and thick eyebrows!

Dana Vigilante

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 2/20/2012 11:36:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

OMG, I can not believe I am about to say this. Giorgio is wonderful & so much better than I remember her. She's pretty heavy on the white florals, but she's not girlie-girlie. She's a spry, yet refined, California woman with a backbone.


I already own Giorgio Red and Giorgio Blue, both of which I wear frequently. I'm not sure why it took me so long to test the original again. OK, maybe not-so-original, but the not-so-new formulation by P&G Prestige Beaute. (Now the GBH brand is owned by Elizabeth Arden.) However, I do remember the intensity & sillage of the original, & the P&G version is a WHIMPER in comparison.


4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 12/21/2011 8:50:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

First of all, this fragrance is a classic, introduced in the 80's, at that moment was one of the most desirable fragrances, classy, elegant and feminine! It comes from a different time, nothing to do with the newest fragrance releases. So the people hate it for what it is! Well for me it's an example of a survivor cuz it's still sold on the stores, online; I grown up smelling this cuz is one of my moms signature fragrance, it's loud, heavy, floral, and feminine! Smells so beautiful on my mom, sophisticated and classy. I learned to use properly, now I got my own bottle (cheap price) and use with 3 spritz and ready for going to party!
I didn't have a headache, or bad feeling while wearing it, even people complimented me saying what lovely fragrance are u wearing? So I guess it's not a waste of money. So this is only for people with class!!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
Coco Mademoiselle
1374 Reviews
Chance
Chance
960 Reviews
No.5
No.5
944 Reviews
BOMBSHELL
BOMBSHELL
139 Reviews
Si
Si
44 Reviews
Back to Top