MAC • # 239 Eye Shader Brush • Makeup Brushes

rated 4.7(457 reviews)

Average Rating.4.7
Would buy this product again.89%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 elencole on 3/22/2014 2:56:00 PM more reviews by elencole

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

A must-have eye brush, the best in its category for packing compact eye shadow. It never sheds and even after years of use, I can still use mine, although the bristles are quite shorter but not hard. Don't be put off by their white colour, a few drops of Brush Cleanser and even the darkest shadow disappears without leaving the brush stained. I have 6 or 7 of them and will keep buying and buying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 temadeamor on 3/15/2014 1:32:00 AM more reviews by temadeamor

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the best brush for packing eyeshadow in my opinion. I own the Sigma and Sedona lace shader brushes, but they don't compare, they are too big, and don't pack shadow the same way. I still like them but they arent as good as this one. This is the only MAC brush I feel there is no dupe for and so I will be getting another one ... eventually, it is expensive.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sxyleolady on 2/22/2014 10:00:00 AM more reviews by sxyleolady

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

If you're looking for a brush to pack on color on the lids, this is the best brush for that. I've had this brush for about 5 years and it's still going strong. It never sheds or loses its shape and it applies intense color directly on the lids without you having to go back into your eyeshadow pot for more color. This brush is well worth the price along with the 217.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 blackberries on 2/3/2014 12:47:00 PM more reviews by blackberries

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This necessary brush (and the necessary blending brush #217) is about $70CAD total -ridiculous but sooooooooooooo well worth the investment. Ok yeah, if I lose them, my wallet would cry because I definitely NEED this pair in my drawer. Always!

(my salary is really low, so I have only one pair and wash them daily)

The #239 brush is amazing for compact eyeshadows. Most of my eyeshadows are compact anyways. It's not so good with loose powder, but if you're careful (and if you're broke like me lol) this will do.

The hairs are short and dense, but also quite soft to touch and stiff enough to pick up eyeshadows. You have total control with this brush -you decide how much shadow goes on the brush, you decide how light/dark you want to apply your makeup, you decide where the colour is going.

NOTE: It cannot blend. That is why you'll need her sister, the #217, especially if you start playing with smokey eyes or rainbows!

P.S. totally unrelated but, can I just share this story? I went to Shoppers Drug Mart and asked if Quo (Shoppers brand) has a similar brush to #239. She looked at me (bitchy look btw) and said, "I don't know that brush. I don't know what you're talking about." Kidding me, right? I expect her to know this popular brush if she's called "Beauty Expert." I'm sorry but yes, that's my expectation.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kamberc94 on 11/18/2013 9:28:00 PM more reviews by kamberc94

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I feel like the only thing this is truly good for is packing on color. It is natural hair and I use it for my pigments. It washes well, but don't think you can use it in many ways. I've had it for over a year and a half and no shedding, ferrule is still intact and I use it almost daily.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Makeuplover1110 on 11/9/2013 10:52:00 PM more reviews by Makeuplover1110

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I think it's a good eyeshadow brush. Better than drugstore ones: definatly the best high end brush out there: I don't think so. It packs a lot of color, it's a nice brush, it's MAC. No complaints but I don't think it's extrodinary.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Makeupbymoani on 9/1/2013 2:01:00 AM more reviews by Makeupbymoani

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

It holds to much of my product! Waste of money. Generic brushes work better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 voodoodolly330 on 9/1/2013 12:32:00 AM more reviews by voodoodolly330

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

MAC 239 is not the softest brush in the world, but it's definitely one of the most efficient ones. It's well designed, packs up a lot of colour and delivers eyeshadows on the lids evenly.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 21bedofroses on 7/9/2013 10:11:00 AM more reviews by 21bedofroses

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Does a great job packing on color. Very versatile-can also highlight browbone, do crease, highlight tear duct. Very durable, I think will last for a long time without having to repurchase unless u want extra brush. Good looking, typical mac brush. Love it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 beautifulXtina on 5/12/2013 9:43:00 PM more reviews by beautifulXtina

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love how well this brush applies color to lids. Picks up and packs on color and pigments. I highly recommend picking out your MAC brushes in a store and not online. I recieved two of these in a row broken/loose. Maybe was bad luck considering this brush has good ratings? Fortunately my broken brush was replaced twice... :/ Still, I love the brush...

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Makeup Brushes products