MAC • Lustre - Mythology • Eye Shadow

rated 4.0(193 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Elmohr on 12/22/2013 1:44:00 PM more reviews by Elmohr

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I received this as a gift from someone who asked the lady at the Mac counter what would look good on redheads with green eyes. It's true, this color really does make my eyes pop and I use it all over the lid plus underneath. I prefer the texture of my Urban Decay shadows as this one does go on chunky not smooth. But the color is so pretty I don't care that much.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Parisa909 on 9/12/2013 11:30:00 AM more reviews by Parisa909

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this on impulse, in hindsight I wish I'd researched it since 'Expensive Pink' eyeshadow is virtually identical, albeit with a duochrome finish. As a lustre it has chunky glitter that results in fallout whilst I apply it to my eyelids. It's definitely one of my least used eyeshadows.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ToxicRose on 8/23/2013 3:59:00 PM more reviews by ToxicRose

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely LOVE this eyeshadow, it's surprisingly one of my favorite shades. I was very wary to use it because of the pinky color it had, but I really do love it. The finish is just so beautiful, I don't know how anyone couldn't love it. Probably not for darker skin tones, but works great on my fair skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jdmcgi2 on 8/6/2013 9:23:00 AM more reviews by jdmcgi2

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Glad I gave Mythology a try. Even though this is a beautiful color in the pan I was so afraid to try this for a long time. I guess because so many other eye shadows that are similar have showed up too orange or red on me. I love using this eye shadow all over my lid and into the crease. It brings out the flecks of amber color in my brown eyes. I was afraid it was going to show up too orange coppery but it's more of a bronze/coppery/pinkish color that is hard to describe. It is a lustre so it is glittery but I don't have a problem wearing it during the day. The glitter is uniform and not random/huge like some Urban Decay glitter eye shadows such as snatch. Mythology makes a great summer color. I like to wear it when I have a little bit of a tan. I haven't tried it during the winter yet. The only reason I gave it a 4 instead of 5 is because the glitter makes the eye shadow a little rough and I have to apply it a few times to achieve the look I want but I personally don't have issues with fall out and the color is worth it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 cpkgirl1116 on 5/17/2013 8:50:00 PM more reviews by cpkgirl1116

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Brown, Curly   Eyes: Brown    

Mythology is a bronze-copper glittery shade. Prefer to wear it when the weather is warm. It may take many applications to get your desired look. Seems to be more glitter than eyeshadow & wears off easily or you may get that glitter in your eye so make sure you definitely wear primer! To be honest, I use a stroke of this as a bronzer more so than an eyeshadow.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Sraahz1 on 5/7/2012 5:23:00 AM more reviews by Sraahz1

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I don't think i would buy this again. My mythology is really chalky and dry, I bought it in the store because it is a really beautiful color, but when you apply it you have a lot of fall out to my personal opinion. And it is a lot of glitter. Maybe that's just me because I like soft and matt eyeshadows more but I think the glitter is just to much.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* garstrieper on 4/4/2012 10:51:00 AM more reviews by garstrieper

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

This is a gorgeous, shimmery golden-bronze that I think would be flattering on everyone. I also think it could be easily duped, but I am too lazy and attached to wander away and find that dupe. Love this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 klckelso on 3/18/2012 9:15:00 PM more reviews by klckelso

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

When I was at the MAC counter I loved this color and just had to purchase it. Sadly, the one I bought was dry and chalky. It has very little pigmentation and I really had to pile it on. Hopefully it was just a bad batch. I'll be returning it :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Leannne on 3/15/2012 2:29:00 AM more reviews by Leannne

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Such a gorgeous color! its kind of a coppery/brownish/pinkish color. It doesn't pick up too well on my brush.. but other than that, it's really nice!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Kayyymbee on 2/5/2012 2:05:00 PM more reviews by Kayyymbee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I recently took the plunge into mac after dabbling a bit in make up and walking past the MAC counter at my local mall and longingly staring at all the pretty colors. So, as a treat to myself I recently bought a MAC 15 pro palette. I researched and looked at what seemed like a million swatches online of colors that would look nicely with my dark green eyes and fair skin. One color that I heard rave reviews about was MAC Mythology. On the MAC website Mythology is described as copper and is a lustre. I'm not sure if it the formula is off on the one I received but I find it dry with little pay off and excessive amounts of fallout. It also shows up with a slight pink undertone, and I often find myself using Expensive Pink (also MAC) instead. They are both extremely similar on my skin and Expensive Pink is more creamy with a much better pay off.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products