Elizabeth Arden • Eight Hour Sheer Tint SPF 15- Chestnut 03 • Lipstick

rated 3.3(10 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.40%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 digelt on 4/13/2009 2:13:00 PM more reviews by digelt

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I got this as a gift, and I loved the color. Loved the SPF, loved how moisturizing it is! It looks great on and feels great, too. Don't let the "sheer tint" thing fool you - this is a lovely, rich color that is extremely flattering. Why then, you ask, would I only give it 2 lippies? Because the smell is HORRIBLE. At first I thought I was being too sensitive, maybe it was because I'd just applied it. After several minutes, I began to realize that it was indeed that the lipstick smelled that strongly, but I hoped it would fade. It didn't fade. After about an hour, I had a headache I just couldn't take it anymore. It smells like powdered carpet cleaner or something... very perfume-y and chemical-y. I had to wipe it off. Such a shame! I only hope they get enough complaints that they make a fragrance-free version soon. YUCK.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ECMac25 on 1/3/2007 8:17:00 PM more reviews by ECMac25

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I too, love this product. What more can you ask for with a moisturizing treatment lip balm which has the added benefits of sun protection, and sheer tint? "Chestnut" is my favorite shade - I normally steer clear of brownish lipcolors because they either don't show up enough or they're just too dark. This is one actually has enough tint to be noticeable & I swear it has some rosy undertones to it, because it actually boosts the natural color of my lips. Even though I bring a whole stash of lipcolors with me when I travel, this one is the one I reach for most often. It layers well with other lipsticks too.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mosesmom on 2/23/2006 9:59:00 PM more reviews by mosesmom

Age: Unknown   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I'm another who just can't get past the smell/taste. It has the quality of those little cakes of lemon toilet bowl freshener you place in the commode...pungent, anticeptic, faintly citrusy. That said, the color is very pretty - a sheer brown that stays well, doesn't overpower (well, at least not visually). It's a shame, for it's the only brownish lipstick color I've found flattering. Received in a GWP, but will not purchase on its own.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ocarina on 10/26/2004 2:04:00 AM more reviews by ocarina

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I really really love this lipstick. I'm on my second tube, in fact. The color is a sheer neutral red-brown, almost exactly the color of "chestnut" colored hair. The texture is moist and silky and lasts decently long for a lipstick of this type. The SPF is a marvelous bonus. And as for the much-maligned smell, I actually lilke it. It's herby and somewhat peppery. If they called it "Aromatherapy" or some such thing, some people would probably like it better. All in all, a great buy IMHO.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TeaRoses77 on 6/6/2004 4:07:00 PM more reviews by TeaRoses77

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I tried this lipstick at the Elizabeth Arden makeup counter and LOVED it! It goes on silky smooth and looks really fabulous (at first looked dark in the tube but if you put it on and blot your lips together, it is definitely much more sheer than you think it is). I have medium, Asian complexion, w/ black hair and dark eyes, and the chestnut is beautiful!

I think that this is my favorite lipstick. I used to love wearing Toast of New York by Revlon, and also, I like how this is like a lip stain, and is silky, lightweight, doesn't dry your lips out and is also very durable and long wearing!

I am going to pick up a tube next time I am at the mall and I often NEVER buy dept store makeup. It'll cost twice what my normal long wearing lipstick (Revlon, L'Oreal) would cost but well worth it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nikness30 on 11/30/2003 9:43:00 PM more reviews by nikness30

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'm surprised at how much people disliked this product--I loved it! It has a great sheer color and SPF15--a tough combination to find. I've gone through a tube each of the Chestnut and Plum colors. They look very dark in the tube, but are lovely sheer colors on. The Plum reminds me of the Clinique Semi-lipstick in Black Honey, and the Chestnut is a warmer reddish-brown color on me (dark hair & eyes, pale skin). I've also tried the Honey color, which is a paler tan color, and too yellow for me. These were so moisturizing that I did not need additional lip balm or gloss; since I would otherwise spend all winter slathering on lip balm, this was a welcome respite.
A couple of notes on the downside: After reading people's comments on the smell of the lipstick, I decided it does have a distinct smell of Blistex or similar product rather than a flowery smell. However, since I use Blistex anyway, this did not bother me.
One tube I took to the beach melted a bit.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mskim on 9/7/2003 2:52:00 PM more reviews by mskim

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

It smells and tastes terrible. I thought it would be a great product from all the hype, but it's just awful. It made my lips numb and the smell made me sick. Ugh.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 goldee on 1/13/2003 11:09:00 PM more reviews by goldee

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

the look of this lip balm was just ok. the smell was awful.i will not buy this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ElanaB on 12/31/2002 12:38:00 AM more reviews by ElanaB

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

The colour was nice (a reddish-brown that was neither too orange nor too red/bright as so many lipsticks in this shade tend to be), but I found the texture sort of waxy and couldn't *stand* the smell. It also seemed to give me clogged pores on my lipline. Too bad because the idea was good and the colour worked well for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aparrish on 12/24/2002 3:13:00 PM more reviews by aparrish

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Beautiful subtle, sheer brown/red color that lasts and leaves just the nicest hint of a stain once it wears off.



It has SPF 15, which is nice. It also works well as a base to darker lipsticks. I like to use it with MK's Downtown Brown, or for a lighter look with MAC's Spice liner.



It moisturizes well and left my lips feeling silky.



Just took one lipstick off for the packaging, which seems a bit flimsy. My cap broke the second day after being in my makeup bag, hardly what I'd call heavy wear and tear!



Oh well, I'd still repurchase after I run out, and would like to try some of the other colors as well!



UPDATE: After awhile the smell/flavor did get to me and I couldn't get past it. I ended up swapping this away and would not now re-purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Elizabeth Arden products

More Lipstick products