NARS • Lipstick in Dolce Vita • Lipstick

rated 4.1(438 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 smeepsmop on 10/22/2014 8:11:00 PM more reviews by smeepsmop

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I got this as a gift, which I'm really thankful for because I don't think I would have ever been willing to spend 26 USD on a lipstick, especially one that is this sheer. But wow, I am in love with this lipstick. It's described as a "sheer, dusty rose" which I think is accurate. It's very easy to apply--it glides on smoothly and sort of melts into your lips. I have extremely dry lips, but this lipstick is quite moisturizing which I love. The finish is somewhat glossy because it is so hydrating. I like the matte black packaging a lot. Overall I find myself reaching for this color daily because it's so easy to wear and goes with everything.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* julia178 on 10/2/2014 5:04:00 PM more reviews by julia178

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

My first NARS lipstick purchase. Dolce Vita is a safe choice for my pale, cool toned skin (NW15 for reference) and very pigmented lips. It is a flattering shade on me, I would describe it as a dusty rosy mauve. The formula is quite sheer and feels comfortable on the lips, but lasting power is not very long, about 2 hours max, and the overall impact not very high, which lowered my rating. Basically, on my lips it feels and looks like a tinted lip balm. Because of its sheerness, it is easy to apply right out of the tube, which makes it a good lipstick for on the go. The black rubberized packaging is very compact which is another plus for travel. Time will tell how well it holds up day to day in a purse. At least NARS lipsticks contain the same amount that other brands offer in larger tubes. Price is $26, will likely look for a similar shade with a bit more lasting power rather than repurchasing this shade.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 missbioniclegs on 7/18/2014 8:58:00 AM more reviews by missbioniclegs

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Was really excited to try this after loving the lip pencil in the same shade, well I wish I had just bought another lip pencil in Dolce Vita. I get that it's sheer but it hardly has any pigment to my eyes and I have very unpigmented lips. Feels like I've wasted my money, I'd recommend the lip pencil of this shade more than this, the colour of that lip pencil is beautiful. This is very very sheer rosy sort of MLBB and the pencil is more a very neutral red, sort of a brick red and very wearable.

I won't repurchase this but I'd like to try other NARS lipsticks as the texture is lovely and feels moisturizing. Maybe another finish will be better for me if I buy another lipstick.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* upinspace on 7/15/2014 10:39:00 PM more reviews by upinspace

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Looove! I got it in a Sephora favorites box awhile back and its a really moisturizing formula that makes my lips a light rosey color.

My only problem is that, though I'm pretty sure I'm the only one, for some reason it has hard chunks in it? I dunno, I think its a problem with mine but I still love it. I can just take the chunks off my lips, hah. Only reason it got a lippie off. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Asianlily on 6/7/2014 7:53:00 PM more reviews by Asianlily

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I don't usually wear lipstick but after watching YouTube and saw it being used, I knew I had to try it on. I was right. It was the perfect MLBB shade that compliments my natural makeup style. It feels very creamy and moisturising on the lips and since purchasing it, I don't leave the house without it. The only small downside is the smell - it smells like plastic, luckily the smell wears off shortly after application.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 msyu on 5/20/2014 1:39:00 AM more reviews by msyu

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I read reviews on this shade and bought it without trying it on. I was not disappointed, although I'm sure I could've found a better mlbb shade, I thought this was good enough. I bought two tubes so far.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ad0rableTam on 5/13/2014 2:17:00 PM more reviews by Ad0rableTam

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Olive   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I love my Nars Dolce Vita! It's one of those lipsticks you jus don't regret buying! It's something I can use everyday! As opposed to my large collection of MAC's that kind of sit there daily because I can't use them to work due to their off textures and bold colors. Anyway, my dolce vita is something I can throw in my bag and rely on to give me a fresh, natural, look without it ever caking on me or drying out my lips. The color really is flattering, it's really natural especially without glitter, you can count on this to make it your MLBB lippie. I only knocked off a star for the price because it's pretty expensive at $26.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LeMinx on 4/13/2014 2:48:00 AM more reviews by LeMinx

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

You know how there are certain lipsticks that routinely get praised for being "universally flattering" but end up being "universally flattering to everyone but you"? Nars' Dolce Vita isn't like that at all. For once, all the blogs and reviews are right!

I held off on buying this because, in general, I've been rather underwhelmed by Nars products. Most are ok but not worth the high price tag. For the last couple of months, I've been trying to shake up my makeup routine (ie Going from "barely there and blah to well made up and vava voom!"). As such, I've been trying to get away from boring glosses and ChapStick to actual grown up lipstick. Since I'm incapable of going from zero to 90, I still have to ease in to certain things and "loud" lipstick is one of those things. I wanted something flattering, not too in your face but still noticeable. Dolce Vita is just that. I was hesistant when I first saw the tube because this seems very pink and pinks looks terrible on me but somehow, miraculously, Dolce Vita flatters my olive/tan skin. It's like my lips but much, much better. It is rather sheer and if you want a lot of color you do have to apply quite a bit but I like that. It's one of those lipsticks you can apply without a mirror and not worry about it looking insane. The staying power is a bit iffy. If you don't apply quite a bit, it seems to wear off quickly but I found if you layer it, it stays put quite nicely.

If you're looking for something truly flattering, I would suggest giving Dolce Vita a try. Naturally, your skin tone or general opinion will change things but I think this is an awesome lipstick for scaredy cats like me who love makeup but just can't pull off the fully made up look.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Dimanta on 3/17/2014 4:31:00 PM more reviews by Dimanta

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Nice color, very natural brownish/pinkish.. However it feels little bit too light for me, almost feels like I have no lipstick on at all. I love the formula and the fact that it feels creamy and hydrating. However it's not worth $25.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nostradamus on 2/23/2014 5:29:00 PM more reviews by nostradamus

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Dolce Vita is a "sheer dusty rose" that can be built upon for a deeper colouring. For me, this means something close to my natural lip colour, but slightly on the plummier side. It's rather demure and almost MLBB material, but not quite as rose-coloured as I'd like it (my ideal is a blush rose kind of shade). The moisture in this lipstick is great for winter and I appreciate that it is relatively neutral in scent. My only caveat is that I have to frequently reapply this throughout the day because it wears off so easily. This is my first Nars lipstick and overall I'm pleased with it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Lipstick products