Stila Berry Convertible Eye Color

3.4

12 reviews

50% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 12/21/2012 7:52:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is my HG eyeliner. Hope they never discontinue this product. I have brown eyes and the purple really makes them pop. It's not exactly purple, just more berry, which I like.



on 5/6/2011 10:00:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

First off, let me say that I generally love the Stila Convertible Eye products. The packaging is convenient and I like the texture of the eyeliner--it goes on without pulling my delicate eyelid skin. But, my local Sephora was out of my go-to every day color (Violet), so I picked up Berry thinking it would be somewhat similar. Wrong! The color of this eyeliner has too much reddish pigment for my skin tone and I had red rimmed eyes that made me look like I had been on a bender the night before. Not a good look when you have a professional job! I promptly went online to purchase the Violet.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Idea is brilliant and the Berry is great. I like the pink and purple aspect of this. It is a very simple combination and is great for a quick day look. I think the idea of this is fantastic, all in one, made getting dressed easy!. I do wish it were easy to clean the blending tips though.


on 5/2/2008 9:08:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I just got this in a swap and here are my initial impressions. I love the idea of this product because it is so convenient. When I head off to work, I like to pack as few products for mid-day touchups as possible, so that would make this product great. I'm not totally disappointed in the eyeliner, like many of the other reviewers seem to be. It seems just like most automatic eyeliners, which aren't known for making precision lines. That's just the nature of automatic liners: they're wider and thus less precise, but that's to keep the product from breaking. I have to second the problem with the eyeliner getting smooshed in the cap issue. Its totally annoying! Most eyeliners have caps long enough that you don't have to twist the eyeliner all the way back. This will have to be my biggest beef with this product. Otherwise, I would consider repurchasing, just not this color. Its a cooler shade, and doesn't work terribly well with my skintone. It washes me out and not a terribly noticeable or dramatic color. So I'd consider purchasing again, but in a warmer and more noticeable color. As for the smudger, it seems like all automatic eyeliners have one, but I've always found that they are too rough on my eyes, so I always use my finger instead, so I can't say whether this one is good or not.


on 10/5/2005 10:36:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The Convertible Eye colors are a nice idea but unfortunately the product isnt as good as I like. Each convertible eye color has a soft smudgey liner on one end with a smudger foam tip on the other end. In the middle is where the unique part is. A foam shadow filled applicator with a soft shimmery eyeshadow powder. Usually the color corresponds to the color of the liner but not in every set. THe problem with this product is the eyeliner. Pretty colors and easy to apply but smudge horribly and quickly. Total raccoon eyes. The shadow part is very cool but you always run out of that first. Berry consists of a dark matte brown with a hint of violet undertones to it, giving it a sort of reddish tint to it like a burgandy. I compared this with the other purples, Violet is a much darker blackened purple while Port is a vivid bright purple like MAC Macroviolet. Lilac is the lightest of the purples shades. The shadow part is a light shimmery pink. Pretty shade. THese originally retailed for $28 but then Stila lowered its prices to a more reasonable $18. Hate the liner but love the shadow but not worth $18.


on 10/5/2005 10:35:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The Convertible Eye colors are a nice idea but unfortunately the product isnt as good as I like. Each convertible eye color has a soft smudgey liner on one end with a smudger foam tip on the other end. In the middle is where the unique part is. A foam shadow filled applicator with a soft shimmery eyeshadow powder. Usually the color corresponds to the color of the liner but not in every set. THe problem with this product is the eyeliner. Pretty colors and easy to apply but smudge horribly and quickly. Total raccoon eyes. The shadow part is very cool but you always run out of that first. Berry consists of a dark matte brown with a hint of violet undertones to it, giving it a sort of reddish tint to it like a burgandy. I compared this with the other purples, Violet is a much darker blackened purple while Port is a vivid bright purple like MAC Macroviolet. Lilac is the lightest of the purples shades. The shadow part is a light shimmery pink. Pretty shade. THese originally retailed for $28 but then Stila lowered its prices to a more reasonable $18. Hate the liner but love the shadow but not worth $18.


on 6/1/2005 12:24:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

i had an SA introduce me to this product during a stila promotion- otherwise i would have probably passed it by. it's an eyeliner/shadow duet that i originally bought for the eyeliner shade only. berry has a beautiful plummy brown liner that makes my blue eyes pop when i smudge it into my lashline. the shadow is one of those small, bullet shaped sponge tipped shadows that have the color contained in the cap, and the shadow is a beautiful pink that looks great when smudged above the crease. my only gripe was that this was over $30 CAD, but i really love the liner and would probably repurchase.


on 5/16/2005 3:29:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

these would be so cool if the tips could be sharpened and/or wouldn't keep breaking off. such a cute concept but each time i buy one i swear it will be the last. i love the colors but just can't get the liner to behave. this time i won't get another one unless they change the liner for the better.


on 12/3/2004 10:26:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is the second convertible eye color I have tried and am again impressed. The eyeliner goes on very easily and blends nicely. I dab the shadow on my lids and then blend it out with a separate shadow brush to avoid over applying. I thought the purple and pink might look over the top on me, but I was pleasantly surprised at the subtle blended look I was able to acheive.


on 4/12/2004 5:03:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

well, i really wanted to like these, but i had both berry and violet and finally swapped them away. i bought them as eyeliner, which came with an eye shadow inside (not as eye shadow with liner, if you get the difference). maybe other people bought them more for the shadow, since there are so many reviews here filed under "eye shadow" for this product.

anyway, as an eye liner, these are hard and difficult to draw onto my eye lids. as an automatic liner, it's not so fine a point, so it's also tough to get a thin line with it. MAC's kohls and powerpoints go on soooo much easier, i can't see why one would buy these. plus, these colors are fine but flat, and therefore nothing special.


the eye shadow on both of these was really nice (nice color, smooth finish, etc.), but the applicator packaging is a bit of a pain, and you end up getting more shadow than you really wanted.


so all in all, i don't recommend this product. yes, i paid $28 and now they're $18, but i still don't recommend them.




Back to Top