Smashbox Lipstick- Improv

3.3

12 reviews

41% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/18/2010 7:10:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought it from Curtain Call section for an LDL, not sure if it's because it's d/ced and it's been sitting in their CC section for too long or something, because this thing is DRY. If it's meant to be a cream l/s, this thing is more like brick mortar kinda texture. like a thick but overly dried out cream. It still applies (though with some drag) and the result is a rather thick feeling and opaque layer, and looks completely matte. feels a bit like i just applied clay over my lips. O__O

the color itself is also a bit ashy kinda nude. I'm NC25 and it's dark enough to not be a concealer lip kinda look, but because there's no shine and slightly ashy, it just looks like my lips are completely flat (rather than rounded out, like lips should be). completely unnatural.

This was one of my first forray into lipsticks, and I'm completely disappointed. Thank god i paid only a few bucks for this.



on 5/7/2007 11:23:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is my HG pink/nude lipstick. I have NW20/BE Fairly Light/LM Real Sand skintone and this stuff is a perfect shade for me. Too bad it is discontinued. The forumula is nice too...very creamy and long lasting.


on 11/15/2006 6:36:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I bought this thinking it would be the pefect nude for me (NC 20, rosy undertones, hazel eyes and medium blonde hair). It was too overpowering for my lips, too beige. But I discovered that if used with NARS Chelsea Girls lip glaze it worked. I don't I'll buy, since I found Nars Blonde Venus and Mac Hug Me.


on 2/2/2004 1:36:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is the lippie equivalent of MAC Spice pencil on me. Orange "flesh" toned zombie lips.

Bleaugh!


on 1/23/2004 12:08:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a really pretty shade overall...I have a complicated med/olive/tannish complexion, and this lipstick works on me (most nudes do NOT compliment my skin)I like to wear Bonne Belle Cappucino over it, for a J-Lo lip look. :)


on 10/30/2003 7:25:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This looked like a pinkish/nude color in the tube but when i applied it it looked brown-grey on me!Thats definatley not a good thing especially since I am a PPP.This was a big disapointment.


on 3/19/2003 1:19:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

a great color..i just wish it was a regular lipstick color..it gives a very pretty and healthy peachy light brown nude color..and i really love it. the only reason i didnt give it a 5 is because when i apply it without a lipbrush, it flakes my lips...hopefully ill find a way to apply the lipstick so that doesnt happen anymore..but overall this lipstick is really pretty and suitable for anyone who wants a nude lip look but doesnt want to go extreme..its very pretty, so i think you should give this one a try...eventhough you have to get a $55 set..everything else that come along in the set is great too


on 2/26/2003 9:08:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is a bit browner than nude, but looks perfect with pixel gloss over it for a nude look.


on 2/11/2003 6:45:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I am a little disappointed in Improv because it was the main reason that I caved in and bought the Smashbox TSV on QVC. On television, it looked like the perfect pinky-nude color. On me, it looks like a nude brown with orange undertones. I just happened to pick up a Jane Weatherwear Lipstick in the shade Next to Nothing today for 50% off, and it is almost a dead-ringer for Improv.


on 2/2/2003 7:13:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

A perfect matte, neutral shade. The formulation is great, but the color is a bit too...well, nude. A bit too brown.


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
191 Reviews
Provocalips
73 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin



Top Rated Smashbox Products

image

Brow tech

358 reviews
Back to Top