Smashbox • Lipstick- Improv • Lipstick

rated 3.3(12 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.41%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bailuli on 3/18/2010 7:10:00 PM more reviews by bailuli

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought it from Curtain Call section for an LDL, not sure if it's because it's d/ced and it's been sitting in their CC section for too long or something, because this thing is DRY. If it's meant to be a cream l/s, this thing is more like brick mortar kinda texture. like a thick but overly dried out cream. It still applies (though with some drag) and the result is a rather thick feeling and opaque layer, and looks completely matte. feels a bit like i just applied clay over my lips. O__O

the color itself is also a bit ashy kinda nude. I'm NC25 and it's dark enough to not be a concealer lip kinda look, but because there's no shine and slightly ashy, it just looks like my lips are completely flat (rather than rounded out, like lips should be). completely unnatural.

This was one of my first forray into lipsticks, and I'm completely disappointed. Thank god i paid only a few bucks for this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 olivia1173 on 5/7/2007 11:23:00 AM more reviews by olivia1173

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is my HG pink/nude lipstick. I have NW20/BE Fairly Light/LM Real Sand skintone and this stuff is a perfect shade for me. Too bad it is discontinued. The forumula is nice too...very creamy and long lasting.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 norina on 11/15/2006 6:36:00 PM more reviews by norina

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this thinking it would be the pefect nude for me (NC 20, rosy undertones, hazel eyes and medium blonde hair). It was too overpowering for my lips, too beige. But I discovered that if used with NARS Chelsea Girls lip glaze it worked. I don't I'll buy, since I found Nars Blonde Venus and Mac Hug Me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sunshine34 on 2/2/2004 1:36:00 PM more reviews by sunshine34

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the lippie equivalent of MAC Spice pencil on me. Orange "flesh" toned zombie lips.

Bleaugh!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Beauty2326 on 1/23/2004 12:08:00 AM more reviews by Beauty2326

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This is a really pretty shade overall...I have a complicated med/olive/tannish complexion, and this lipstick works on me (most nudes do NOT compliment my skin)I like to wear Bonne Belle Cappucino over it, for a J-Lo lip look. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 sooz222 on 10/30/2003 7:25:00 PM more reviews by sooz222

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This looked like a pinkish/nude color in the tube but when i applied it it looked brown-grey on me!Thats definatley not a good thing especially since I am a PPP.This was a big disapointment.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pinky1030 on 3/19/2003 1:19:00 AM more reviews by pinky1030

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

a great color..i just wish it was a regular lipstick color..it gives a very pretty and healthy peachy light brown nude color..and i really love it. the only reason i didnt give it a 5 is because when i apply it without a lipbrush, it flakes my lips...hopefully ill find a way to apply the lipstick so that doesnt happen anymore..but overall this lipstick is really pretty and suitable for anyone who wants a nude lip look but doesnt want to go extreme..its very pretty, so i think you should give this one a try...eventhough you have to get a $55 set..everything else that come along in the set is great too

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Helen on 2/26/2003 9:08:00 PM more reviews by Helen

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is a bit browner than nude, but looks perfect with pixel gloss over it for a nude look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Gradle on 2/11/2003 6:45:00 PM more reviews by Gradle

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I am a little disappointed in Improv because it was the main reason that I caved in and bought the Smashbox TSV on QVC. On television, it looked like the perfect pinky-nude color. On me, it looks like a nude brown with orange undertones. I just happened to pick up a Jane Weatherwear Lipstick in the shade Next to Nothing today for 50% off, and it is almost a dead-ringer for Improv.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Crusty on 2/2/2003 7:13:00 PM more reviews by Crusty

Age: Unknown   Skin: Oily   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

A perfect matte, neutral shade. The formulation is great, but the color is a bit too...well, nude. A bit too brown.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Smashbox products

More Lipstick products