Mario Badescu Drying Mask

3.6

148 reviews

65% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients: Deionized Water (Aqua),Kaolin,Wheat (Triticum Vulgare) Starch, Calamine,Ichthammol,Propylene Glycol, Colloidal Sulfur, Titanium Dioxide 5/20/09


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

When you become accustomed to temperamental skin, trawling through every magazine's beauty section becomes common place and 'Mario Badescu' kept popping up. This particular product was mentioned in a Teen Vogue article - spread it on, sleep and pimple simply downsizes - so I bought in!

Beauty bay 60ml for £15.50, not terrible.

The smell is noticeable, pungent, but makes me feel like I'm actually getting a treatment: not slathering floral scented chemicals across my skin.
The little tub probably isn't the best thing, practical packaging wise, I would have maybe liked an applicator (popsicle stick?) as I end up with face mask in my acrylic nails - gr.

So! I started off by applying it at day time (all over my face because my pimples are, well... all over my face!) 20 minutes and wash off. It dries kinda fast, then washing it off you get a greyish tinge allover your face -.-: the mask doesn't like coming off, so I'd advise the use of a wash cloth if you're down with them (I don't like them personally)...

There wasn't really an improvement in my skin. I still however continue to use the product. I apply it before I sleep and end up with luscious face mask crumbs on my pillowcase - yum(!)

Not really any improvement in my pimple laden skin though.

I will continue to use it! It's been over a month but perseverance is key!

I must note that my pimples don't really have very clear white heads, they're faintly red bumps on my skin and occasionally they rise to the surface and you see a visible white head, so this could be why this product isn't working, maybe it'd be better for my cystic pussy acne.

I'll probably by Mario Badescu products in the future again, just not this one.



on 1/22/2015 10:56:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This isn't any better than any other clay mask, in my opinion and experience. I'm also concerned about the inclusion of wheat starch as an ingredient.


on 1/2/2015 6:03:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I don't use this as a mask, but I use it as a spot treatment. I first apply the Buffering Lotion to the spot, then apply this over it. It has an unpleasant smell, but you get used to it after awhile. It dries brown and cakey, so you can only use this at night or when you aren't planning to go out. When I've used it for under the skin, cystic acne, it flattens the pimple in 2 days. There is still a slight mark and it takes a couple more days to go away completely. You get a lot in a jar, so it will probably dry out before I run out. Overall, this works better than any spot treatment I've tried.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/22/2014 8:24:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I'll keep this short - OMG this stuff stinks, but damned if it doesn't work! A small dab on a zit, leave it overnight and the zit has not only been reduced in redness but shrunk at least half it's original size. Well worth every stinking penny!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/22/2014 7:51:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I love this mask. I have acne prone skin and this mask helps clear up breakouts. It smells terrible because of the sulfur, but it works really well.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/12/2014 9:50:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Honestly, the smell isn't THAT bad. I drop serious money on my skin care. Very serious. I went to Ulta (which I hate those soul sucking pricks) in order to try a new acne regimen. They didn't have the one I wanted but I just happened to see the Mario line. The acne kit (I always buy the trial sizes first) was the same price as the one I was looking for so I decided to give it a go. Some background: I am a two time cancer survivor and anyone who has ever been through chemo and radiation will know how much it royally messes up your skin. As well as many other things. I have been in remission for 3 years since the last round and for 3 years my skin has been a disaster. I won't lie and say I have tried everything because I am picky but I do have a Pinterest account so you can imagine what things I have tried (go ahead and nod since I know you have tried some crazy shit on there). I am really surprised how well this line works for me. This mask is amazing and I really like it. I use a old (clean) foundation brush to put it on to cut down on germs by sticking my hands in the jar. I do not use this every night but rather every other night. I use it on my entire face. On my off nights I use PTR's cucumber detox mask and leave it on all night. Nothing and I mean nothing will be more moisturizing and calming than that mask all while NOT breaking you out. I digress... This in combination with the acne line and other Mario products have been awesome for me. This isn't an overnight miracle but you don't wake up the next morning with your skin looking worse. Trust me, that is an accomplishment. So try it. If you don't like it, it isn't like it cost you an arm and a leg. Pass it on to others. What may not work for you might be a super hero for someone else. Good things take time so don't look for a instant cure because there isn't one. Don't convince yourself that you aren't pretty or are gross. Mama June has a boyfriend so let that sink in.

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS MASK! I usually buy masks just for fun, hoping that they will do something for my skin but this one actually makes my pores look like they never existed! It does dry out the skin though, so I moisturise heavily afterwards, thank goodness that I have oily skin. In regards to pimples, I am not sure if it does anything because my pimples heal very slow and I use other treatments for my acne as well. But I think it does prevent new ones from forming by clearing out your pores. Definitely worth a try! Oh, beware of the scent; it smells horrible!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/28/2014 8:54:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is a good clay based mask with some sulfur (which gives this mask a distinct stinky smell). Does a good job of drying out acne. Does not tingle like Queen Helene Mint Julep mask. Smooth application and rinses easily. Dry time is about 10 minutes for a thin layer. I just can't get pass the smell.

I just use it as on overnight spot treatment for acne to finish the jar off.

Still does not surpass my GLAMGLOW mask (HG mask)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/16/2014 1:56:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

No it doesn't smell great but if it did it wouldn't be the refreshing nature of the fewer ingredient company. This is a basic clay mask, if drying mask help you with breakouts then you can't go wrong with this. Simple, smelly, but job well done.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/28/2014 9:36:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Green

Sulfur smells like shit. I feel like I'm getting a cheap high from this mask. Oh well, it works for me! I would never tell someone to use this all over their face it's FAR too drying. But it's lovely as a spot treatment mask and for your gross, blackhead covered nose. Thumbs up!


Popular Masks


Mint Julep Masque
Mint Julep Masque
4238 Reviews
Back to Top