Tarte • 24/7 lip sheers • Lips

rated 3.3(42 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.52%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 miaaaaa on 1/20/2012 8:18:00 PM more reviews by miaaaaa

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this in the color Tea Time and was expecting it to be sheer, but the color is VERY pigmented. It's basically a slightly sheer standard lipstick in a chapstick-like tube. I don't look good in bright/strong lip colors so this was a disappointment. Also, I noticed it was making my lips slightly itchy after about an hour of wear.
The pink-rose color is pretty, but it just looks a little clownish on my fair, yellow based skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dh494 on 12/9/2011 6:27:00 PM more reviews by dh494

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

best best best lip product ever - perfect amount of coverage, perfect range of colors, nice ingredients without anything scary or irritating. very decent lasting power, cool packaging, nice scent/flavor. love this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* XoXoSinCity on 5/2/2010 2:03:00 AM more reviews by XoXoSinCity

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I am soooo beyond dissapointed in teh overall quality of these so called tinted chapsticks. I feel the only people who like them appreciate the color payoof but that is it sadly. I love Tarte to begin with to just say as they have so many great products plus natural ingredients. I am a lip product feind and feel I have a great variety/quality in lipsticks, glosses, and night balms. I already use the new tarte lipstain crayons which I love as tarte hit a home run with them in the color and mositure payoff. However as convenient as they are you still can't apply them without a mirror. Hence come in the 24/7 Chapsticks. I really was hoping to get a convenient product I could use during the day to apply whenever needed without a mirror aka a chapstick, plus having a great neutral color. So many people rave about these lip sheers and finally had to try for myself. I love the metallic purple packaging and the gorgeous shade I got Summer Fling, it is such a natural flesh toned pink that really look amazing with my fair complexion and honestly I can even see pairing this with a smokey eye at night. Then comes the HUGE CON in that it offer no moisture whatsoever as it drags against your lips and you can't even rub your lips together. I was kind of shocked by this because why would anyone sell a tinted chapstick that doesn't moisturize your lips at all. I don't have dry lips whatsoever and barely have to use lip balms and all it did was accentuate even the smallest flake on my lips. It literally is the consistancy of a cheap super matte lipstick formula, those lispticks we have all got for the color but that never blends whatsoever, dries your lips out instantly, and look chalky all the time so forget even reapplying. I am keeping the Summer Fling because again I basically LOVE the color and find this to be a conveneint lipstick in a chapstick tube basically lol. Adding a little balm over it leaves me with amazing nude color and plump lips but so dissapointed that using this alone just looks chalky and unblended. Can't expect these to be amazing after the lip stains apparently. Off to try the Laura Mercier tinted chapstick for hopefully some moisture there as Tarte Lip Sheers aren't worth the money at all, buy a $6 chalky dry lipstick at the ds instead!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 heavenz_desire on 9/28/2009 4:06:00 PM more reviews by heavenz_desire

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

An HG tinted lippie, for sure.
I don't remember the name of the colour that I have for this, but it's a medium-dark shade in the tube; goes on the same colour of my lips, only a tad darker.
I love the consistency; does not get in the way of eating.
The lasting power is okay, even after the balminess disappears, a hint of colour remains.
I was never too fond of the smell (or lack thereof) though.
Like others mentioned, the SPF is a plus.
This is my everyday neutral lippie; it's like your lips, only healthier-looking.

Will definitely repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 yyou on 6/1/2009 4:27:00 AM more reviews by yyou

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a pretty good product, it isn't the best moisturizer for your lips but it does its job really well, its consistency is just sheer enough to look natural but it also gives your lips a healthy flush of color as well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 eat245 on 8/20/2008 12:58:00 PM more reviews by eat245

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I am always on the hunt for the perfect tinted lip balm. No-fingers application, sheer, YLBB color to wake my face up a little, moisturizing, SPF are my requirements. 24/7 is an OK product. It's got a texture more like a matte lipstick than a lip balm which I don't love. When you put it on it drags a little and does not feel like it's giving much moisture. However I don't find it to be very drying, although it helps that I alternate with regular lip balm through out the day. The color stays on pretty well, perhaps because the formula is like matte lipstick. I love that it has SPF, and the smell is OK, like generic unscented lipstick with a hint of peppermint. Let's just say you wouldn't buy this based on smell alone, although it's not a dealbreaker for me. The color is also OK. I chose Tea Time which I would describe as a berry-rose-mauve (I am not good at describing colors). It's fairly sheer, or at least looks a lot like my lip color. It goes on a little brighter than it looks. This is part of why I alternate with clear balm, because if I put on too many layers of Tea Time it starts to look too pink. I have previously tried Saturday which was a really thick, heavy color- basically a matte lipstick in a lip balm tube, which made for messy application. I would try another color, but I also haven't found my HG tinted balm in this product. I agree that Stila clear color is a nice alternative, I find them pretty pigmented but with a more lip-balm texture so it looks and feels better on.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* punk_rock_grrrl on 6/10/2008 11:50:00 PM more reviews by punk_rock_grrrl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'm loving this product despite the fact that it has a few drawbacks. First, the pros. The color is gorgeous. I have mine in Friday, which is a reddish berry shade. Looks like I've been sucking on a popsicle, a look I love. Lasts a long time. I agree with a previous reviewer that this is more of a lip stain than a lip balm. This leads me to the cons. This product is very dry and leaves your lips kinda gross looking if you don't exfoliate and moisturize them first. Don't put this on bone dry lips, the result is not pretty. But on moist lips, perfection. The formulation of the product is not great. Goes on somewhat clumpy, I think because the product is so dry. The packaging could be better as well. The pretty lavender tube was all scratched up right out of the box and you can't screw the product back down after you twist it up. But despite the negatives, I can't get over how lovely this shade looks and that's why I deal with all the cons.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 cagedpopmachine on 5/21/2008 11:18:00 PM more reviews by cagedpopmachine

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I got the travel size in the Sephora Sun Kit, I was unsure of it at first. I have full lips and real lipstick looks awful on me. the color I have it in is "Thursday" and is a matte rose color. pretty basic, it looks close to natural on me--but better. it's very moisturizing, as good as the best lip balms and chapsticks I've used. I like that it has an SPF, it seems like it'll be great to keep down clutter in my purse since it's a lip color and lip balm. I'm going to buy it in the full size for summer...haven't decided on a color. Thursday seems pretty safe, but some of the colors could be too strong on the lips, since it does go on like a lipstick (but better!).
Update: something in this clogs the pores around my lips everytime I wear it. gross. plus, the chapstick type application makes it hard to keep the color only on my lips. I won't be buying this again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 chaque on 5/17/2008 6:26:00 PM more reviews by chaque

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I did not like this product at all. I got it in the Sephora Sun Kit so it was just a trial size. I was very excited when I first saw it, but that changed after I actually tried it. The product has a terrible smell and makes me sick every time I have tried to use it. I end up having to wipe it off. It smells like old lipstick when it gets that nasty smell. I am not normally sensitive to smells, but this one is just horrible.

The texture is not pleasant. It seems almost waxy to me. The color is fine, mine came in Thursday which gives a good amount of color but not too much for my preferences.

I would never buy this and will probably give the sample to a friend to see if she likes it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* squiggles37 on 4/21/2008 7:27:00 PM more reviews by squiggles37

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this in Summer Fling which is described as a sheer peachy-pink lip tint on the Sephora website. It's more of a Barbie pink, and the thick texture makes it impossible to be sheer. It's really more like a matte lipstick than a lip tint since it's really creamy and feels kind of drying. It comes in a twist up lip balm tube like all your standard chapsticks except the cap is really loose. Also, the tube came all scratched up like it had been rolling around in my purse with my keys. This is definitely not what I was expecting, however, it can be salvaged with a layer of gloss on top. If you're looking for a good tint with a dewy shine, you should check out Stila Clear Color lip balms.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Tarte products

More Lips products