Nexxus Emergencee Strengthening Polymeric Reconstructor

4.5

282 reviews

87% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water (Aqua, Eau), Collagen Amino Acids, Polyacrylamidomethylpropane Sulfonic Acid, Propylene Glycol, Hydrolyzed Elastin, Gelatin, Methylparaben, DMDM Hydantoin, Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate, Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Methylisothiazolinone


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Green

A little overview of why my hair isn't gummy and stretchy anymore..

About 3 months ago after a salon disaster, and a stubborn attempt to go from jet blue/black hair to blonde in 1 day, I bleached my hair about 3 times, staying up all night long to fix the salon's screw up. DO NOT EVER ATTEMPT THIS AT HOME!!! I completely ruined my strong, beautiful hair. Not only did I fry it beyond repair, but I had a complete chemical melt down of my hair with tons of damage. I was not able to brush it, blowdry it, straighten it, or curl it for weeks! I was at a total loss. The whole entire top layer of my hair had broken off about 8 inches, so now it looks like I have layers.

Let me tell you why I have semi-healthy hair today, 3 months later.. Nexxus emerencee, bed head dumb blonde protein shampoo, Apohogee keratin spray and macademia leave in conditioner. All of these wonderful products combined have brought so much nutrients, and protein back to my broken, fried hair. I no longer put so much heat on my hair, I wear my hair up as much as possible, I shampoo every 3-4 days, I use a good leave-in protein spray, and I don't brush it. If you have found yourself in the same situation, please try this and don't put heat on your hair as much as you can help it. This stuff is a life saver, and will help your hair so much!!



on 3/30/2015 9:55:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I went to a new hairdresser when I first moved to Maryland. He would not stop badgering me about use of my flat iron. At one point, he said to me, you think I'm full of sh&^*, don't you? I said not exactly, but I did think he was making it sound a lot worse than it was. So after that (mediocre) haircut, I went out and bought Emergencee. Emergencee has saved me from Maryland hairdressers, who seem not to use a gloss after color, and a New York colorist, who used a concentration of bleach that was too high to save time, and so on. Emergencee has been there for me through it all. And I still faithfully use it every other week, and always have a spare bottle on hand.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Best stuff ever to put protein back into your hair (short of a sticky, smelly Aphogee 2-step protein treatment, which is great).

They recently started selling these in mini-tubes, which are probably costlier but are very convenient.

Nexxus Polymedic Emergency Reconstructor is also wonderful ... an online seller accidentally sent me that instead of the Emergencee I'd ordered once, and it worked as well or better. (Emergencee has been around a long time, the Polymedic is newer.)


on 1/23/2015 7:27:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Wow is all I can say! But I guess I should say more since I'm writing a review. Well, this stuff brought my dull, brittle, straw like dark brown hair back to life. It feels softer, silkier and stronger. I have paid thousands and thousands of dollars for treatments, styling products and conditioners only to be disappointed over and over. Even the highly (over)rated Kerastasse products did nothing in terms of smoothing and silkening my hair. I should say the packaging of Emergencee has changed. I had used the product many years ago when it came in a single bottle. And thinking back loved it back then too. Not sure why I stopped buying it, maybe because of the thousands of hair products out there enticing me to try them with hopes that I could possibly achieve even better results. Nothing has compared to Emergencee. Anyways, the new package comes in tubes of 4 and you're supposed to use one tube a week. Though I think people with short hair could stretch one tube into two weeks of application. So the whole thing lasts for 1 month, if you use one tube per week as instructed, and cost me around $24 at Duane Reade (in NYC). The products feels the same as the old formula - feels slimey/gooey as you put it in your hair. One on, the product makes your hair stiff and coarse. But not to worry, as many reviewers have mentioned, after you wash this off and condition your hair feels soooo smooth and silky. I left mine on for 5 minutes after shampooing and gently towel drying. Then I washed it off by shampooing twice as instructed. Then I followed with a conditioner which I left on for about 2 minutes. I should mention, I used my own preferred shampoo and conditioner brands, not the Nexxus brand as advised in the Emergencee instruction leaflet. Nonetheless, I'm thrilled by the results. Next time I'll leave the Emergencee on for little longer and condition for longer time as well to see if the results are even better.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I tracked this down at Rickys here in NYC after searching on Makeup Alley for something to revive my highly bleached fine Caucasian hair. The reviews were all so positive I figured I should try it. I had been using coconut oil and leaving it in my hair overnight before washing the next morning but it just wasn't cutting it, it felt dry and looked dull, it was a mess. I clarified first, applied to gently towel dried hair, combed through, after 2 minutes rinsed, shampooed and conditioned. When I blew my hair out, it was softer and silkier than it has been for a long time, and 6 hours later still feels decent when I run my fingers through it.
I have only used it once, but I am sure that with continued weekly use I will continue to see great improvement in my poor hair! It is quite a small bottle but its very thick and concentrated so you shouldn't have to use all that much unless your hair is extremely long and thick. I have medium length hair and I massaged 2 quarter sized dollops through, then combed, then smoothed another dollop about the size of a nickel over my hair.

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 2/18/2014 4:22:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Other, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Great product, if you can find it. :(


on 2/10/2014 5:54:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Ok so this is my first review of a beauty product! I just had to write a review of this miracle in a bottle...

My hair is naturally quite thick however at the moment I have extremely damaged/dry hair from bleaching (it breaks a lot and the ends are fried) - I have tried many things to help bring it back to life however this is the only thing that has had a major positive impact on my hair.

Using expensive deep conditioning masks was not enough for my hair (and trust me I have tried them all!) - so at the end of my tether I decided to do some major online hair research on the best products out there for bleached damaged hair. Nexxus emergencee had such positive reviews I thought I had to try it!

Well what a great decision - after the first use of Emergencee I noticed a major difference! My hair was no longer fried at the ends and it was not falling out near as much, its almost as if it strengthened it quite a lot after only one use. I use it after shampooing - then I use a deep conditioning hair mask mixed with coconut oil after to add moisture. You need to use a deep conditioning mask after the NexxusvEmergencee or your hair will be dry.

I have actually been getting compliments on my hair again! Which I would not have imagined a few weeks ago!

Only bad point is it is very pricey - around 30 GBP for 100ml... I have already purchased my second bottle as I personally think it is worth every penny.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/13/2013 8:30:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Just awesome. Like all reviews say. Painfully expensive and on longer, fuller hair the bottle only lasts about three treatments. But, even given that, I keep on buying.

I have bleached blond hair. Nearly white. That kind of kills your hair. And my hair is fine and a bit curly-kinky to start with. So by the end of all that it is dead mush.

But this stuff turns it back to silk. Aphogee two step protein treatment is the only rival. But that takes an hour, near enough. And this takes two minutes.

Have tried every high end reconstructor on the market - Joico K-Pack (modest results only), Nexxus Keraphix (OK -ish), Redken extreme (weak effects only) - none come close. This stuff pretty much is LIQUID SILK IN A BOTTLE. Unlike all the other protein and deep repair products, it doesn't just contain a high amount of keratin like compounds, it also contains tons of liquid collagen.

It is, in short, a (pretty expensive) miracle in a bottle. Hold in mind that my hair is at the terrible end of terrible hair. No everyone will need it. But if you do, then this is The Bombe.

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.


on 6/16/2013 1:43:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought nexxus online through walgreens since there weren't any local stores that had it. I saw the wonderful reviews on here and decided to give it a try. Unfortunately I found it did nothing to my hair. I shampooed and then I applied it and let it air dry for half an hour while also using the blower on cool setting. I then washed it out and moisturized with the macadamia oil treatment. When my hair finished drying it was a big poofball. Completely disappointed with the results. I will continue using it until it finishes, but it doesn't seem like it is going to do much. My naturally thick wavy hair looks like frizz nation.


on 4/11/2013 4:54:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

One of my favourite things to do is read miracle reviews on MakeupAlley..that may be a little sad haha..anyway, this product lives up to the reviews! It makes my hair so silky that it slips right out of my hair tie! I cleanse with a clarifying shampoo, towel dry, apply liberally for around 10 minutes, cleanse with a moisturising shampoo and then apply a moisturising treatment for about 10 minutes as well..in my experience, drying this product in with a hair dryer makes no difference to it's effect..i get about 10 uses out of one bottle..people who say a bottle only lasts two goes must use a crazy amount! Worth the money many times over. Not easily available in Australia so i buy it on ebay!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Nexxus Products

image

Heat Protexx

89 reviews
Back to Top