Nexxus • Emergencee Strengthening Polymeric Reconstructor • Hair Treatments

rated 4.5(278 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.87%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 cowgirldownunder on 2/28/2014 3:16:00 PM more reviews by cowgirldownunder

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I tracked this down at Rickys here in NYC after searching on Makeup Alley for something to revive my highly bleached fine Caucasian hair. The reviews were all so positive I figured I should try it. I had been using coconut oil and leaving it in my hair overnight before washing the next morning but it just wasn't cutting it, it felt dry and looked dull, it was a mess. I clarified first, applied to gently towel dried hair, combed through, after 2 minutes rinsed, shampooed and conditioned. When I blew my hair out, it was softer and silkier than it has been for a long time, and 6 hours later still feels decent when I run my fingers through it.
I have only used it once, but I am sure that with continued weekly use I will continue to see great improvement in my poor hair! It is quite a small bottle but its very thick and concentrated so you shouldn't have to use all that much unless your hair is extremely long and thick. I have medium length hair and I massaged 2 quarter sized dollops through, then combed, then smoothed another dollop about the size of a nickel over my hair.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MAChostage on 2/18/2014 4:22:00 PM more reviews by MAChostage

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Great product, if you can find it. :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xelifkx on 2/10/2014 5:54:00 AM more reviews by xelifkx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Ok so this is my first review of a beauty product! I just had to write a review of this miracle in a bottle...

My hair is naturally quite thick however at the moment I have extremely damaged/dry hair from bleaching (it breaks a lot and the ends are fried) - I have tried many things to help bring it back to life however this is the only thing that has had a major positive impact on my hair.

Using expensive deep conditioning masks was not enough for my hair (and trust me I have tried them all!) - so at the end of my tether I decided to do some major online hair research on the best products out there for bleached damaged hair. Nexxus emergencee had such positive reviews I thought I had to try it!

Well what a great decision - after the first use of Emergencee I noticed a major difference! My hair was no longer fried at the ends and it was not falling out near as much, its almost as if it strengthened it quite a lot after only one use. I use it after shampooing - then I use a deep conditioning hair mask mixed with coconut oil after to add moisture. You need to use a deep conditioning mask after the NexxusvEmergencee or your hair will be dry.

I have actually been getting compliments on my hair again! Which I would not have imagined a few weeks ago!

Only bad point is it is very pricey - around 30 GBP for 100ml... I have already purchased my second bottle as I personally think it is worth every penny.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nualab67 on 10/13/2013 8:30:00 PM more reviews by nualab67

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Just awesome. Like all reviews say. Painfully expensive and on longer, fuller hair the bottle only lasts about three treatments. But, even given that, I keep on buying.

I have bleached blond hair. Nearly white. That kind of kills your hair. And my hair is fine and a bit curly-kinky to start with. So by the end of all that it is dead mush.

But this stuff turns it back to silk. Aphogee two step protein treatment is the only rival. But that takes an hour, near enough. And this takes two minutes.

Have tried every high end reconstructor on the market - Joico K-Pack (modest results only), Nexxus Keraphix (OK -ish), Redken extreme (weak effects only) - none come close. This stuff pretty much is LIQUID SILK IN A BOTTLE. Unlike all the other protein and deep repair products, it doesn't just contain a high amount of keratin like compounds, it also contains tons of liquid collagen.

It is, in short, a (pretty expensive) miracle in a bottle. Hold in mind that my hair is at the terrible end of terrible hair. No everyone will need it. But if you do, then this is The Bombe.

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 loveohnine on 6/16/2013 1:43:00 PM more reviews by loveohnine

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought nexxus online through walgreens since there weren't any local stores that had it. I saw the wonderful reviews on here and decided to give it a try. Unfortunately I found it did nothing to my hair. I shampooed and then I applied it and let it air dry for half an hour while also using the blower on cool setting. I then washed it out and moisturized with the macadamia oil treatment. When my hair finished drying it was a big poofball. Completely disappointed with the results. I will continue using it until it finishes, but it doesn't seem like it is going to do much. My naturally thick wavy hair looks like frizz nation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mouldy on 4/11/2013 4:54:00 AM more reviews by Mouldy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

One of my favourite things to do is read miracle reviews on MakeupAlley..that may be a little sad haha..anyway, this product lives up to the reviews! It makes my hair so silky that it slips right out of my hair tie! I cleanse with a clarifying shampoo, towel dry, apply liberally for around 10 minutes, cleanse with a moisturising shampoo and then apply a moisturising treatment for about 10 minutes as well..in my experience, drying this product in with a hair dryer makes no difference to it's effect..i get about 10 uses out of one bottle..people who say a bottle only lasts two goes must use a crazy amount! Worth the money many times over. Not easily available in Australia so i buy it on ebay!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 RosaleeCheyenneMarie on 4/6/2013 4:58:00 PM more reviews by RosaleeCheyenneMarie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

This helped save my hair when it was in the worst condition it has ever been in. I am mixed Native American and Italian (with a little bit of Polish), and have very thick, coarse, wavy hair. My natural color is an-off black with red undertones. Last spring, I went to a new salon and the woman who did my hair bleached it TWICE more with a 50 volume developer after it was already to the pale yellow stage. All I needed her to do was tone it, but she bleached it twice without even asking me. Needless to say, my hair was fried. When I say fried, I mean falling out in chunks & having a texture similar to wet rope/noodles/gum. I picked up Nexxus Emergencee in August 2012. It isn't the the cheapest product out there, but in my opnion, it is well worth the price. Not only because of how well it works, but because a little goes a very long way, even with my thick hair. How I use it: I shampoo my hair first. I just use whatever shampoo I'm currently using. Then I squeeze as much water out of my hair as possible. If I have the time, I let my hair air-dry for at least an hour. Then I pour some Emergencee into my hands and rub my hands together (this helps activate the polymers) and then I apply it to my hair, focusing on my mid length and ends. I leave it on for at least a half hour, but usually an hour if possible. Afterwards, I RINSE WITH WATER (I do NOT shampoo it out) then I use a moisturizing conditioner. My current favorites are Matrix Biolage Conditioning Balm, Pureology Hydrate, Neutrogena Triple Moisture Deep Recovery Mask, & Aussie 3 Minute Miracle. I do this every other week. On the 'in between' weeks, I use it once a week, but only for 5-10 minutes. As my hair has started to recovery, I only need to use it once or twice a month. If your hair is hopelessly damaged, try this. :)

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kristiel on 2/28/2013 5:17:00 AM more reviews by kristiel

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is my holy grail of hair products. The absolute one I could not and will not ever again do without. I have dyed and bleached my hair since I was 13. (im now 30) I've been every hair color in the book and tried every single hair product you can think of to try to help my dry chemically processed straw feeling hair. This is the ONLY thing that works for me..it saved my hair. Joico kpak did nothing...the aphogee 2 step protien treatment didnt do much...this product blew my mind. My hair feels like....hair again! I can't stop touching it!! Its so important to use a clarifying shampoo first...makes a world of difference..then this...then a moisturizing shampoo, conditioner. A great moisturizing conditioner is also super important for this to make your hair feel soft afterwards.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sprite26 on 1/20/2013 2:39:00 AM more reviews by sprite26

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is an incredible product when used correctly. And using it correctly is time-consuming, thus 4 lippies instead of 5. About eighteen months ago my hair was completely wrecked from heat-styling and color-treatments. I just had a head full of straw and I couldn't do anything with it. This one product turned everything around for me and I love it.
I always start with Nexxus Therappe shampoo because it allows me to detangle easily. Then, I coat my detangled hair with Emergencee and wait for it to air dry. This takes hours because it needs to be rock-hard before it gets rinsed out. A real PITA but the results are worth it. I like to apply it a couple of hours before bedtime that way it's somewhat dry before I lay down and then it's completely dry when I wake up. But even then there's still one more step. After rinsing, Emergencee MUST be followed with an extremely moisturizing conditioner. I like Joico's Intense Hydrator or their Moisture Recovery Conditioner.
If you're willing to put in the time and follow all those steps, this product will actually repair and strengthen your hair like you won't believe. I thought my hair was too far-gone, but after just one use my hair started looking and acting like hair again. I continued to use it about once a week for a couple of months until I didn't need it anymore. But I still use this once in a blue moon more as a preventative measure now. Keeps my hair healthy and strong. Lots of products make outrageous claims about what they can do for your hair, this one actually lives up to its promises.
An excellent product that I'll keep buying again and again!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mzjade22 on 11/19/2012 4:58:00 PM more reviews by mzjade22

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

A few years ago, I made a huge mistake with my hair. Ive done at home relaxer on my roots for as long as I can remember, except this time I bought the regular formula instead of the one for color treated hair. I didnt realise the error until 45 minuets later my hair in a state of emergency(no pun). While wet, it felt like thread. My normally thick/somewhat coarse hair had turned to thread and was coming out by the handfulls.

The next morning when it had somewhat dried, "it felt like grass" doesnt even begin to describe it. My hair was shocked, it was totaled for the most part. I went to Walgreens to see if I could find ANYTHING to help, and I came across this. It is expensive, but when I got in the shower and literally felt the texture of my hair start to feel normal again, I was sold for life. 3 more treatments and I was back to normal, like nothing ever happened. Since then, I always have a bottle on hand for post-dye job relief, and have not put a relaxer in my hair since!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Nexxus products

More Hair Treatments products