Joico K-Pak Deep Penetrating Reconstructor

4.2

362 reviews

80% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua, Stearamidopropyl Dimethylamine, Paraffinum Liquidum, Glycol Stearate, PEG-8 Distearate, Ceteth-2, Sodium Chloride, Hydrolyzed Keratin (Quadramine Complex), Cocodimonium Hydroxypropyl Hydrolyzed Keratin, Myristyl Myristate, Citric Acid, Parfum, Sorbic Acid, Cetyl Alcohol, Stearyl Alcohol, Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Seed Oil, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, Yeast Extract, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Benzyl Alcohol, Coumarin, Limonene.


on 8/12/2015 12:26:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This saved my hair several times.
Now matter what I use I always come back to joico. Their stuff is just amazing and it smells so good!
The only con is that the package is hard to open and if you don't cut the opening to use the remaining product you will waste loads of it.



on 8/2/2015 3:36:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

First off, I've been using joico products for 10+ years. Joico is amazing as long as you know how to use their products. For the comments saying the product they have it watery, runny ect. Usually when this product has a LONG shelf life the ingredients separate and it becomes a watery like texture. Try shaking it up for a minute if not it may be expired, return it and request a new one if this is the case for anyone. But to review the product I use this frequently but with that being said, my hair loves protein. Others don't, simple. It should only be applied for 5 minutes after shampooing and I usually do a light condition after just to make my hair extra soft. My hair is so healthy, it's almost down to my butt and no split ends. This product is great if you use it correctly, don't over use it or your hair can become straw like from over protein. I use it once a week usually. If you have damaged, dry, brittle hair, it's worth trying. Use it correctly and it will help rebuild your hair. Also, try joicos 4 step system 1. Shampoo for 5 minutes 2. Cuticle sealer (restores pH balance) for five minutes 3. Reconstructor for five minutes 4. Intense hydrator for 5 minutes. Also, try using with joico K-Pac shampoo and conditioner!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/2/2015 1:58:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I used this as a mask and I loved the effect it gave to my hair. It became softer and thicker. I used it for about 6 minutes in my hair since I read that you shouldn't use this type of mask for longer than 10 minutes. I couldn't get this thickening effect from any other mask I have so I'm definitely repurchasing!


on 5/31/2015 10:50:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a good product. It must be noted that my hair loves protein. I think a lot of the reviewers have hair that ma be protein sensitive or something. Anyway, I follow a mostly protein regimen. For example, in a month I will use protein 3 times (I wash my hair once a week) and just a moisturizing mask once. That being said, this is a good protein treatment but not a great one. And it is kinda expensive. I purchased this from Ulta. It certainly gives my hair strength but I do always follow up with a moisturizing conditioner like the one from Kenra. I guess I'm just saying that there are a bunch of protein treatments on the market. Yes I would purchase this again as I think the squeeze tube is genius. I hate having to deal with tubs in the shower. Joico makes good products and my hair feels good when I use this.


on 5/31/2015 10:16:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I bleach my hair and it's dry, damaged and over processed of course. I use the orginal formula all gold tube. I love this. Gives my hair body doesn't way it down. Looks healthy and shiny. I use it 4 times a week. I leave it in once a week for 5 minutes, and the other 3 times maybe a little over a minute. Rubbing through the top to the roots. Not a lot of product. Maybe a quarter size amount. I have shoulder length hair.
If it's old stock it will seperate. When it's fresh it will not. Maybe some reviewers bought old stock. I shake before using.
IMO I think this works excellent for platinum blondes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/4/2015 11:58:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is absolutely the worst hair product I have ever used. I had healthy highlighted hair which had shine and body. This garbage and the companion conditioner turned my hair into straw. Now after blowing my hair dry, instead of looking sleek and shiny, hair looks over processeed. Even if I use hot rollers or a curling iron iron hair won't keep a curl. I can't rank this product low enough.


on 2/20/2015 7:08:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Other, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Other

I've gone through two bottles of this now but am just not sure if I will re-purchase. I use it from time to time and have not noticed any particular or spectacular results. I also do not like how liquid-y it is - sort of like putting a milkshake on your hair.

I think I will look into alternatives once my current bottle runs out.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/5/2015 10:17:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This product is complete and utter garbage and I am so frustrated that I spent $28 bucks on this. I have coloured hair and have been colouring it consistently for the past few years, just using moisturizing masks when I felt my hair needed a little boost but it had finally gotten to the point where I decided that a reconstructor would suit its needs a bit better. I can't really say why but I put off buying this product for a while because I had a feeling it wouldn't work and now my suspicions have been confirmed. I squeezed this out of the bottle to use it for the first time and just liquid came out so I shook it up really well, squeezed it out again and a chunky, putrid smelling conditioner came out. The second I applied it to my damp hair it was like I had put water in it, there was no feel that conditioner was ever there. I squeezed out a handful of this stuff on the next try and same result. I continued to leave this product on my hair for 5 minutes and when I rinsed it out it felt very, very dry on the ends. At that point I decided to follow up with my normal conditioner and it felt ever so slightly better by the time I rinsed that out. I get out of the shower and dry my hair and it looks, and feels like I dumped rubbing alcohol in my hair. This should be renamed the 'deep penetrating deconstructor'. I know that protein treatments can leave your hair dry but this is definitely a first at having one make my hair snap off. I have no idea why people like this....the bottle I got may have very well been a dud but I don't spend nearly $30 on hair care product duds that I can't return. I won't be trying this again and I certainly don't recommend it.


on 1/19/2015 9:05:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I was so disappointed when I bought this product. I found it at my local Publix (grocery store) for less than 15$ and my hair, at the time, was super damaged. I had used the Dumb Blonde Reconstructor by TIGI and that worked amazingly however I had always heard and read about Joico and was so thrilled to find it on accident!

So first of all, the texture. Mine was runny like an egg white and once I opened the cap it oozed out. Parts of it coagulated. Then the smell wasn't all too pleasant but obviously, had it done the job, I could care less about aesthetics. Yet, it didn't. It did NOTHING. I used as directed, then again, and again and nothing.
I've used it since then, as I have 3/4 of a bottle left, and nothing.

So, I'm thinking either it's just not the right fit for my hair OR somehow, the grocery store is selling a knock off (I've read reviews on Amazon where a dupe was being sold and it got horrible reviews)

Anyways, I wouldn't buy again ever but it seems to work for others :/


on 9/19/2014 12:45:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

If your hair is severely damaged, just buy this. You won't regret it. I bleached my hair so many times, it was like straw and would snap off If I pulled gently at the ends. After one use my hair stopped snapping, after using it regularly my hairdresser can't believe I've dyed it so much and now it looks thick and healthy. Love this product and will always repurchase. However, I will say that if your hair is not severely damaged, you probably won't see a huge difference.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top