Avalon Organics Botanicals • Therapeutic Lavender Nourishing Shampoo • Hair

rated 3.6(53 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 liongirl22 on 3/18/2014 5:51:00 PM more reviews by liongirl22

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This shampoo is really harsh and acts weird in the hair. As soon as I put some on my scalp it foamed up a lot but seemed to make my hair "lock up" immediately, like it sucked all the moisture out of it in seconds. I had a hard time working it through my hair and when I rinsed it out my hair felt super dry and damaged. Oddly, after I used conditioner (not the matching kind) my hair felt softer than it had in a long time. The only explanation I can think of is maybe this shampoo acted like a clarifier and took out all the leftover gunk in my hair. That part is nice, but I wouldn't ever buy this stuff again.

Also, this smells like cat pee.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 enpab on 6/8/2013 4:58:00 PM more reviews by enpab

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

I unhappily went through an entire bottle of this, hoping that the bad results were part of the "detox phase" that happens when switching to organic shampoo. After two months....I give up.

It left my hair dry and brittle, with a weird oily residue on the scalp...basically like I hadn't washed my hair at all. Frustrating. It made my hair duller than usual, and didn't help with growth. It smelled very faintly of mint....no real lavender smell ...

I've been deep conditioning like crazy to try to reverse the effects of this shampoo. Never again. Yuck. The end.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Nirita on 11/8/2012 3:33:00 AM more reviews by Nirita

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

As a first timer of using organic shampoos, my hair didn't cooperate so well with this product, my hair felt like straw the first time, and it was a bit drier than my previous shampoos left it. I guess it's all apart of the detoxing process. In my opinion my Dove shampoo and Argan Magic shampoo didn't seem to damage my hair at all even with the sulfates in it. I guess I wanted to hop onto the anti sulfate wagon because I would do anything for my hair to reap any benefit it could get at this point. The shampoo isn't bad, it does cleanse the hair, it does have an amazing scent to it, but the lather isn't that great and it does make my hair kinda slippery, leaving the strands more prone to breakage. I feel like it's done a lot for my hair growth, and it has added much shine to my hair. I think I will continue using it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 nichole2622 on 7/16/2012 1:11:00 AM more reviews by nichole2622

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I really thought I would really like this product because i love the smell of lavender and because it says it's nourishing but it did BAD things with my hair!!!!!
It made my hair even dryer and brittle, my hair broke more eaisily. The bigist problem I had with this product was that my hair started to fall out more than normal!!! Usually some hair would fall out in the shower a lil and when i brushed it after I woke up. BUT after I used this hair product with its conditioner my hair was falling out like crazy my brush started to fill up with hair after only one use, there was hair all over my pillow when i woke up in the morning, and through out the day I would find myself pulling hair off my clothes. My hair felt dryer then it ever had before and it was devistating.
I would not recomend this product to anyone!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dashashbash on 5/31/2012 4:23:00 PM more reviews by dashashbash

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I've used 2 bottles of this (both 32 fl oz) and I absolutely think it's amazing. I use it every other day and believe me, my hair feels great! I get compliments on it all the time. This also doesn't weigh your hair down which is a big plus since I like my voluminous hair. I will probably use this forever.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Musoukakitty on 11/12/2011 6:16:00 PM more reviews by Musoukakitty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

My HG shampoo and I've never ever had a problem with it. My biggest problem with shampoos is scalp irritation and this is the only shampoo brand EVER to cure my irritation. Yes even other organic brands have nothing on this one. I love how if I accidentally over wash my hair is still stunning and soft. I recently tried switching this up with another organic brand to save a couple of bucks...needless to say the other brand was okay but I'm sticking with this one and probably for the rest of my life.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 malasana on 9/24/2011 5:33:00 PM more reviews by malasana

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I tried the new formula summer 2011 and it is fantastic. I'm over 50 with dry hair, and this shampoo was gentle and moisturizing. Left my hair shiny and silky, even after blow-drying and daily use.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 crazihippichic on 8/3/2011 9:09:00 PM more reviews by crazihippichic

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

This was my first "organic" shampoo. I wanted to get away from SLS. And I love the smell of lavender. But after just a few uses this broke my scalp out in a horrible red, oozing rash. I had to toss it. There went $9.99....in the garbage.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sunshine824 on 7/3/2011 10:14:00 PM more reviews by sunshine824

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I recently tried Avalon's Lavender Shampoo & Lavender Conditioner after sniffing the bottles for years. lol


I'd say that the reviews for both are sadly accurate. This shampoo is basic, which is fine. It isn't really moisturizing or drying. It cleans just fine but doesn't strip my hair. I love the Lavender scent but it doesn't last. :-(


I put that I would repurchase but I'm not sure. The main draw for me-the scent- doesn't even last andas a shampoo it's not special. Plus the conditioner is pretty drying. So, yeah.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* OhsnappitsEm on 3/28/2011 6:11:00 PM more reviews by OhsnappitsEm

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Sigh another useless bottle of organic shampoo I have tried. I got this one at my local hannaford since it was on clearance for $4 and I really wanted to try one of these. Organic and SLS free shampoo has been a savior for my hair its alot less frizzy and feels much healthier and looks shiner instead of using all those other toxic hair care products. However this shampoo didnt do anything at all but make my hair weighted down and greasy. Ive given this shampoo numberous chances and still by the next day my hair looks dirty and feels weighted down. The only thing I do like about this shampoo is the scent. The lavendar does not smell fake or cheap it smells relaxing and is really a pick me up in the shower. Overall just another full bottle of shampoo on my vanity and I do not reconmend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Avalon Organics Botanicals products

More Hair products