Avalon Organics Botanicals Therapeutic Lavender Nourishing Shampoo

3.6

54 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS



Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is my HG shampoo (although usually I buy L'Oreal EverPure Moisture, because it's cheaper)- I bought the huge 32 oz bottle from Target cause it was on sale, in October. it is now March and I still have about 1/4 of the bottle left! The price is really the only drawback for me, but as the 32 oz comes with a pump dispenser, I can see some people not liking the packaging, even though it doesn't bother me.

I have bra-strap length, thick, straight, brown hair, that gets greasy if I don't wash it every other day. This shampoo is gentle, smells great, and gives me super glossy, happy hair. It also has no sulfates, which is great for color-treated hair and dark hair (keeps it from getting brassy).

It doesn't foam up as much as commercial shampoos do (due to the lack of sulfates), but of all the organic/sulfate-free shampoos I've tried, I've found this one gets my hair the cleanest, and still foams up enough to make me feel like I'm actually using shampoo! It has a clean, soft scent, and I personally can't ever smell it after washing my hair, but that is probably because I use conditioner right after the shampoo.

It leaves my hair light, shiny, and clean every time I use it, although I do recommend using a good conditioner with it if you have thick or frizzy hair like I do!



on 3/18/2014 5:51:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This shampoo is really harsh and acts weird in the hair. As soon as I put some on my scalp it foamed up a lot but seemed to make my hair "lock up" immediately, like it sucked all the moisture out of it in seconds. I had a hard time working it through my hair and when I rinsed it out my hair felt super dry and damaged. Oddly, after I used conditioner (not the matching kind) my hair felt softer than it had in a long time. The only explanation I can think of is maybe this shampoo acted like a clarifier and took out all the leftover gunk in my hair. That part is nice, but I wouldn't ever buy this stuff again.

Also, this smells like cat pee.


on 6/8/2013 4:58:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I unhappily went through an entire bottle of this, hoping that the bad results were part of the "detox phase" that happens when switching to organic shampoo. After two months....I give up.

It left my hair dry and brittle, with a weird oily residue on the scalp...basically like I hadn't washed my hair at all. Frustrating. It made my hair duller than usual, and didn't help with growth. It smelled very faintly of mint....no real lavender smell ...

I've been deep conditioning like crazy to try to reverse the effects of this shampoo. Never again. Yuck. The end.


on 11/8/2012 3:33:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

As a first timer of using organic shampoos, my hair didn't cooperate so well with this product, my hair felt like straw the first time, and it was a bit drier than my previous shampoos left it. I guess it's all apart of the detoxing process. In my opinion my Dove shampoo and Argan Magic shampoo didn't seem to damage my hair at all even with the sulfates in it. I guess I wanted to hop onto the anti sulfate wagon because I would do anything for my hair to reap any benefit it could get at this point. The shampoo isn't bad, it does cleanse the hair, it does have an amazing scent to it, but the lather isn't that great and it does make my hair kinda slippery, leaving the strands more prone to breakage. I feel like it's done a lot for my hair growth, and it has added much shine to my hair. I think I will continue using it.


on 7/16/2012 1:11:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I really thought I would really like this product because i love the smell of lavender and because it says it's nourishing but it did BAD things with my hair!!!!!
It made my hair even dryer and brittle, my hair broke more eaisily. The bigist problem I had with this product was that my hair started to fall out more than normal!!! Usually some hair would fall out in the shower a lil and when i brushed it after I woke up. BUT after I used this hair product with its conditioner my hair was falling out like crazy my brush started to fill up with hair after only one use, there was hair all over my pillow when i woke up in the morning, and through out the day I would find myself pulling hair off my clothes. My hair felt dryer then it ever had before and it was devistating.
I would not recomend this product to anyone!!!!


on 5/31/2012 4:23:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I've used 2 bottles of this (both 32 fl oz) and I absolutely think it's amazing. I use it every other day and believe me, my hair feels great! I get compliments on it all the time. This also doesn't weigh your hair down which is a big plus since I like my voluminous hair. I will probably use this forever.


on 11/12/2011 6:16:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

My HG shampoo and I've never ever had a problem with it. My biggest problem with shampoos is scalp irritation and this is the only shampoo brand EVER to cure my irritation. Yes even other organic brands have nothing on this one. I love how if I accidentally over wash my hair is still stunning and soft. I recently tried switching this up with another organic brand to save a couple of bucks...needless to say the other brand was okay but I'm sticking with this one and probably for the rest of my life.


on 9/24/2011 5:33:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I tried the new formula summer 2011 and it is fantastic. I'm over 50 with dry hair, and this shampoo was gentle and moisturizing. Left my hair shiny and silky, even after blow-drying and daily use.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This was my first "organic" shampoo. I wanted to get away from SLS. And I love the smell of lavender. But after just a few uses this broke my scalp out in a horrible red, oozing rash. I had to toss it. There went $9.99....in the garbage.


on 7/3/2011 10:14:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I recently tried Avalon's Lavender Shampoo & Lavender Conditioner after sniffing the bottles for years. lol


I'd say that the reviews for both are sadly accurate. This shampoo is basic, which is fine. It isn't really moisturizing or drying. It cleans just fine but doesn't strip my hair. I love the Lavender scent but it doesn't last. :-(


I put that I would repurchase but I'm not sure. The main draw for me-the scent- doesn't even last andas a shampoo it's not special. Plus the conditioner is pretty drying. So, yeah.


Popular Hair Products


Moroccan Oil
809 Reviews
Deep Repair Mask
307 Reviews


Back to Top