Paula Dorf Magic Stick

4.1

34 reviews

82% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/14/2014 12:49:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Bought Paula Dorf's 'magic stick' on Amazon with my Amazon points. I only paid a few dollars for this, but I would not pay the high price tag for this concealer.

Perhaps I just bought the wrong shade, but this concealer doesn't do anything for my dark circles at all.

It goes on very creamy and dry. It's also hard to blend out.

I give this a 2/5 because it just did not conceal my dark circles at all.



on 4/21/2013 5:16:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I like this, though I'm not sure I've got the right shade for me.

I'm NW15, and I bought #2 because I could get it cheaply off eBay. It's a decent match, but I think I'll try #1 next time, because it's said to be pinker.

That said, I'm favorably impressed with the product. I use it to conceal some minor acne scars, and it does that fairly well, without looking obvious. I dab it on straight from the tube, then immediately blend by dabbing it with my moist Beauty Blender. The concealer stays put nicely, even on my super-oily skin.

I think I'll buy this again, just in a different shade.


on 8/30/2011 8:33:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I recently pruchased shade #2 in this concealer which is slighly more yellow toned than the #1 (The #2 was suggested by the SA for my super fair neutral NW15 skin). After reading all of the reviews for this product, I had high hopes that this would work for me. I have acne prone skin and when I purchased this, I wanted to use it to cover up some of the acne and some redness. I used a concealer brush and applied it onto my well moisturized face and directly onto my acne. The coverage is pretty good, but I really found that it was drying and emphasized the acne even more. It kind of crusted up on my face thoughout the day and my colleauges at work told me that my skin looked really dry and flakey (yikes!). Needless to say, I switched back to my Alison Raffaele #1 shade and I feel a lot better about my skin's appearance! I think this product would be more suitable for someone with oilier skin who wants to cover up imperfections and redness (who doesn't have acne).
PRO'S:
-nice shade selection for fair skin
-stick format is easy to use
CON'S:
-Drying and made my skin flaky
-around $30.00 Canadian
-Noticeable thoughout the day

I hope this helps!


on 8/24/2010 5:34:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I've been using Magic Stick everyday for over a year, which is the longest I've ever been loyal to a concealer. I've stuck with it because it's convenient and never looks obvious.

I love the lipstick tube style because it's sturdy and compact, easy to open and close, easy to get the product out, and it doesn't leak, crack, melt, glob or dry out. The tube also lasts forever. I'm only about halfway through my first tube, and as I said, it's been more than a year.

The color match is really good for me, even though there aren't a lot of shades. I'm very fair (about NC15) and cool toned but look best in neutral shades (in sunlight, cool toned concealers tend to look pink even on my raspberry complexion). Shade number 1 looks really believable even in direct sunlight. It's light enough for my skin (yay!) and the tone is just right. Sometimes it looks a bit light on my skin at first, but as it warms up it seems to adjust slightly (without turning orange).

Even though I have oily skin, I like the slightly creamy texture. I don't like having weird matte patches on my face where I applied concealer. If I apply too much, though, it will look thick and slide around. To avoid this, I use a small, firm, pointed concealer brush (I usually use my Laura Mercier concealer brush, but have a similar one from CVS that works well too) and touch the tip of the brush to the concealer stick. Then with very light, short strokes, I feather the concealer over my under eye circles and blemishes until they disappear. If I have a raised pimple or one with a rough texture, I gently press the tip of the concealer brush around the edges of the pimple and into any crevices. (In my experience, this method will make even the cheapest concealer cover pretty well and look natural, if you can find a good color match.) Afterward I set with Ben Nye Neutral Set loose powder (this stuff is good, check out the reviews) and voila! I have clear looking skin without visible makeup.

The staying power is good on blemishes but not perfect under my eyes, which are really oily. Unlike some concealers I've tried, it doesn't look crepey or streaky as the day goes on, it just gradually fades. By late afternoon my dark circles start to show so I usually touch up. Red marks and blemishes are still covered without any funky texture or color changes.

If you want to cover really dark spots, like moles, freckles, tattoos or deep blue under eye circles, this is probably not the right product, but it works really well on everything I want to cover.

Overall this is a great concealer, definitely worth a try.

Edit: It's been another 8 months, and I'm still using Magic Stick every day. I don't even know where my other concealers are. I have about 1/5 of a tube left, so buying a new one has crossed my mind, but I'm not quite there yet. After 18 months! I still love it, think it's a great color match, and have yet to see any caking, oxidation, melting or cracking in the rear-view mirror. This stuff is a winner. I'm changing my review to 5 stars. It probably deserves 6.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 4/20/2010 11:26:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Grey

Really like the Magic Stick, have been using it for years and just repurchased another one for my travel kit. I use it mostly on the occasional blemish or discoloration and find it superior to both the BB touch up stick as well as Clé de Peau concealer. In terms of color match the Number 1 Magic stick suits my cool fair complexion (MAC NW15, BB Porcelain) very well. The consistency is soft and creamy but not greasy.
Overall: Excellent coverage, nice color match and good staying power. Price: $21.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/12/2010 10:16:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I've been using this concealer for some time now and am really pleased with it--good amount of coverage, and reasonable wear.


on 10/11/2009 2:04:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This product gave me little to no coverage whatsoever. I have very dark undereye circles and this did NOTHING to camouflage them. I am very disappointed in this product. It is a creamy stick concealer; I'm glad that it's not drying, but there really is no coverage. Will be returning to the store.


on 8/16/2009 9:42:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I'm another person with very pale skin, red acne scars, and dark under-eye circles. Also, I'm not as young as I used to be, and a few fine lines are appearing. So Magic Stick had a lot of work to do on my face, and it lived up to its name. It's lasted well through the day, especially in the under-eye area, and is now my HG concealer. Plus, the solid formula means it won't leak all over my purse, unlike other concealers that will go unnamed.

The sole problem with it is that the packaging makes it look like a lipstick in disguise. But it's worth rummaging for...


on 5/15/2009 5:27:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I've tried dozens of concealers for my problem skin, and I think I've found HG material with this one! I use shade 1, which works great on my pale NW15 skin. It covers dark circles and, more importantly, red marks from past acne. The red marks are my biggest skin problem and I always have a hard time covering them up. Before this, I was using Cle de Peau concealer, which is great, but I like this one better. And it's much cheaper! The color is great, it covers like a dream and blends very well. Love it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/18/2008 11:05:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I use shade 3 on my NC25-30 skin, it blends in perfectly. I'm onto my second one already, but it probably has been 3 years already. I've really really dry skin, especially around the eye area and during the winter times. This is by far the most moisturizing concealer I've tried. The tube packaging it great for carrying it around. Just two/three dabs will work work for the under-eye, and lightly even it out with the fingertip, and no need to touch-up during the day at all. For blemishes, a concealer brush will do the trick. Too bad, Sephora do not carry this brand anymore, not in N.America or Europe. For those in Canada, it was just a hassle to order it from it's website because of the outrageous UPS surcharges(duty).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top