Manic Panic • Virgin Snow Toner • Hair

rated 3.7(58 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jexka on 7/12/2014 3:13:00 AM more reviews by Jexka

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've been lightening my hair to an ashy golden blonde color for years, but recently I decided I wanted to go more platinum/white blonde. I bleached my hair at home and everything turned out well, but my hair still had a lot more yellow in it than I wanted. Thankfully, when I purchased the bleach and developer, the SA at Sally recommended this to me in case my hair was still too yellow, so I used this right after bleaching. I followed the directions exactly and left this on my hair, covered, for a little over an hour. I really liked the consistency of this -- it was really easy to spread it through my hair, even though my hair was pretty dry from the bleach. I also liked that this didn't irritate my scalp like some other toners I have since used have. Once I washed this out, my hair was insanely soft and this did take out a good amount of the yellow tones, but my hair wasn't as white as I was hoping. I should probably note that my hair does lift pretty easily with other products, so I was kind of disappointed with the results. Also, I know this is a semi-permanent toner, but in just a few days my hair became significantly more yellow even though I was using purple shampoos and doing everything I could to prevent that. The next time I did my hair I tried the Wella T18 toner and got much better results from that, plus it was cheaper than this. If the Wella toner is ever out of stock I may try this out again and try leaving it on longer to see if I get better results, but for now I have to say I was slightly disappointed in this toner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Blondef on 3/9/2014 6:09:00 AM more reviews by Blondef

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

I was really skeptical about buying this product or not and I am glad I did. I bought it because I had like 3 cm of really dark brown roots and my hair is pretty much platinum , so I knew that after I bleach my roots I will have to use a good toner because my hair would be super brassy and I am very happy to say that this worked wonderful and it leaved my hair super platinum and another good thing is that it is super gentle on the hair

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Geo2014 on 3/6/2014 2:51:00 AM more reviews by Geo2014

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have another virgin snow arriving from the USA. it was not available in Canada but later found it. Looking forward to using it to achieve the white look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kayliexx on 2/25/2014 2:11:00 PM more reviews by kayliexx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I wanted a non damaging toner to help with the gold tones in my highlighted then bleached hair. I always get highlights but decided I was tired of still having a dark root so I decided to bleach them myself. They went sort of a golden blonde colour, and my highlighted pieces went white. If I were to bleach it or use wella white lady(t18) I'm sure I'd be losing quite a bit of hair. The lady at sallys recommended this as an alternative and I was quite skeptical. The first time using it (just on my root) didn't do much. Since then I've mixed it with a lot of my Clairol shimmer lights and applied it to my roots, leaving it on for a few hours. This has really helped tone it down. I'm sure if you were already a pale blonde with a bit of yellow tones this would work lovely, and it's very conditioning. But as a person who was looking for a big difference in the amount of brassiness it didn't do much until I mixed it with shimmer lights. Even the colour of this toner on its own is such a light shade of purple it's almost white.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hothead on 10/17/2013 11:12:00 PM more reviews by Hothead

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

another of my must haves since I have been blonde. After a few weeks post dying my hair, it starts oxidizing and this is the best remedy I have found for it.

I have left it on for 45 minutes, and I get rid of a lot of the yellowish tones -- not all, but enough that it recovers it's just dyed shade which is fine for me.

It also highlites my grey.. which makes them look glossy and lovely too.

it has not harmed my hair in any way nor have I been in fear of Marge Simpson hair (been there with some toners!) or the dreaded violet head I get from Aveda.

so, considering price, and effects, this is a great product for blondes or silver haired people.

the jar is a bit clunky .. but I live and endure..lol.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fabulyss on 10/17/2013 10:00:00 PM more reviews by fabulyss

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Just like all other Manic Panic products, I left this one in for TWO hours (just to be extra safe) and yet it did nothing other than deep condition my hair. It didn't eliminate the yellow/brassiness in my bleached-thricely hair.

So in a way, I would recommend this as a great deep conditioner for blondes! Thus, I'm giving this 2 lippies because it did leave my hair in better shape. If you want real toning though, Wella's Silver Lady ended up doing the trick for me (:

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SidheFox on 10/17/2013 9:51:00 PM more reviews by SidheFox

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I signed up to this site, since it was the first review I found when searching this product on google, just to review Manic Panic Virgin Snow.

I highly recommend this product for anyone who wants to tone down the brassiness in their hair - especially naturally dark haired folk who are trying to go lighter.

I used it after lightening my naturally near-black hair to an almost platinum blonde (The brassiness was HORRID) and since it took so much lightener and bleaching, my poor hair was very damaged.

After using Manic Panic, it was not only a delightful snowy white, but it was as silky and soft as it was before I'd lightened it. Considering I got my mother's Japanese hair, that is really saying something.

I would recommend this product to anyone I had the opportunity to tell.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 larsonk10 on 9/9/2013 1:26:00 PM more reviews by larsonk10

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have been on makeupalley for a long time checking out others reviews, and I had to officially sign up to review this product. it is fantastic! I am one of those who constantly changes my color. I am a natural level 7-8 dirty blonde, but have not seen that color in ages. recently I dyed my level 10 blonde a medium brown, knowing it would become brassy and pull all sorts of colors. it definitely did! so I let it lighten up for a few weeks and decided I was done coloring my hair, but was not ready to chop it all off. I through some highlights in to break up the color, hoping it would continue to lighten. using the prell method it lightened a bit, but was still too brassy. after researching toners, I decided to try this one. it did not disappoint!!!!!! my level 6 blonde/Brown hair is a nice natural color with very pale highlights. it is so close to my natural color, it will be very easy to grow out. not only that, the product made my hair feel great, and it smells great as well. the only downside to this is the packaging. I wish it was in a tube of some sort for easier application. I also had to use two tubs on my hair because my hair is thick and long. other than that, this product is amazing, even for those without platinum hair!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 MyChemicalBreakdown on 8/22/2013 8:06:00 AM more reviews by MyChemicalBreakdown

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

The last few days, I have made it a goal to get my hair as white as I possibly can.

2 days ago I bleached it for 10 minutes using a 30 vol developer and BW2 lightening powder.

It did a great job but I had to do it again the day after to get more of the brassiness out. After the second bleach, it was pretty much platinum already, but it wasn't quite white, so I used the Virgin Snow.

I had my dad apply it, for he was trained professionally to color hair by his mother, who taught cosmetology courses in Seattle.

My dad has been coloring my hair for around 3 years, and he has NEVER done a bad job. In fact, he always does a better job than my mother.

I left the virgin snow in for 2 hours, and I had also wrapped it and used a hair dryer for heat every 30 minutes.

I should have realized the first few minutes when the nap of my neck was still bright yellow and the sides of my head were already going white but I ignored it and thought it would be fine after the 2 hours.

After the time was up, I checked my hair and I knew I wasn't going to like it. It was still yellow in parts, There was white, and a beautiful white at that, but it was still yellow at the nap of my neck, around my ears, and the whole top of my head.

I'm pretty disappointed, but I will leave it in all day today and see how it goes.



I would have given it 1 star if it wasn't for the fact that it actually helped fix a lot of the damage from bleaching my hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SkullGlitter on 8/19/2013 9:17:00 AM more reviews by SkullGlitter

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a solid 3. With all the bleaching my hair has gone through, (almost-platinum once that ended up frying, despite having it done professionally) I find I need to use gentler products on my changed scalp. I have dry skin that gets oily fast after washing. After bleaching with powdered lightener and 20 volume peroxide for 15-20 minutes from a neutral, medium brown I use this occasionally to tone down stubborn yellow before covering with purple (Purple Haze mixed with Ultra-Violet and conditioner) so I don't have a gradient effect if I don't want one. Sometimes I do, so I won't use it.

Compared to other toners, this is very mild. Over salon color or after bleaching out salon colors (metallic-based dyes,) this is not very effective chemically. Over natural bleached hair, it works perfectly to lift maybe 2 shades of yellow, depending on the porousness of the hair. I have fine, dry-scalped hair so this is perfect for lifting 1 shade of yellow and a little more. It's not essential for me, but it's better than the other options available. No animal testing, vegan, and gentle for natural hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Manic Panic products

More Hair products