Manic Panic Virgin Snow Toner

3.6

63 reviews

65% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Lightened my hair to white then used this to tone it to platinum. I left it on for 30 mins but next time I will leave it on longer. It does remove yellow tones but you have to lighten your hair first then use this product. You only get a tiny jar but since my hair is short I only needed the one small jar. If you have longer hair you may need a few jars of this stuff. It's okay, but the first attempt at lightening- my hair was yellow and when I toned with this I saw no change. Only the next day when I lightened again to white did this toner actually work to tone my hair to platinum



Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I used this on my grey hair to make it more silvery and also to remove some of the dirty brown on my hair left over from dye? Herbal hair cleaners? I don't know but I wanted it gone.

I used this overnight as grey hair is especially resistant to any kind of colour. The result - yes my greys were shinier but the brown had not gone. I still have half a jar left and will use that but not worth buying again as its so tough and expensive to get where I live.


on 5/10/2015 1:01:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I bleached my (pixie short) hair a week ago with feria absolute platinum and it gave me a pale yellow all over with some parts on top that were a little darker.
I bought Virgin snow on ebay and gave it a go today. Your hair have to be clean (washed with a clarifying shampoo) and dry. I applied the product on my hair, put a plastic wrap on it and waited 2hrs. The result is very subtle, to say the least. I'm disappointed actually. I KNOW i was light enough to tone, i should gave bought Wella T18. I still have 50% of the jar left so i will use it again but i won't repurchase. It turned the pale yellow whitish and the yellow stayed the same. Oh well, too bad.


on 8/8/2014 1:02:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is the first time I have ever used products from Manic Panic, and this turned out to be a great buy.


I purchased this toner since I'm planning on using Manic Panic's Cotton Candy Pink, and I wanted to use the same brand to try to achieve their results. Before using the toner, I had bleached my hair three times previously, which left me with yellow roots and a orangey/brassy color in the middle, and platinum blond roots. Out of fear of this product not doing much for the brassy tones, I left it in for a good three or four hours. My hair was surprisingly soft and not as stringy as it was before I added the toner, which is a huge plus for me. It toned down the yellow to a pale white blond, but left the brassy shades a dim yellow. For the price, you do get a lot of toner. I was able to use only half the bottle to cover my hair, and my hair touches my collarbones! I do plan to use the only half of the toner to hopefully dim out the yellow tones before I use the pink dye.
The best part in my opinion about this product is that you can save whatever you have left over, the dye is premixed for you and comes sealed. The texture is really amazing too for being a hair dye, and it spread extremely well. It has a very light scent compared to some of the brass banishers and toners you find from other brands as well.


on 7/28/2014 5:37:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I'll start off by saying I used this on the ends of my bleached ombre hair to try and combat the yucky yellow hues that I wasn't too fond of. I used Feria's ombre kit before anything else, which was sort of weak, and then a few months later bought both Manic Panic Flash Lightning 30 Developer and Virgin Snow to try and lighten it up.

Virgin Snow did help reduce the yellow tones and introduced a shinier, whiter hue to my hair, but it goes without saying that it did not change the color as much as a dye would have. I didn't like the pot packaging too much as it can easily get quite messy and the mouth of the pot isn't big enough for a standard sized but you can't expect much else from Manic Panic. Good price for a good amount of toner, but if your hair is longer than shoulder length, you'll want to buy anywhere from two to three of the pots for an even application.

I might have preferred more drastic results, but for a toner, this did make a nice subtle change in the right direction and I have no real complaints. No damage, and my hair was soft after rinsing, which I really appreciated because everybody is a little nervous about how their freshly-bleached hair will have coped. I've applied Virgin Snow twice now and I'm thinking a few more gradual applications will continue benefit my hair slowly but surely. I left the toner in for almost two hours the first time, then a bit more than three the second time.

Just as a tip, not to sound like a broken record but brassy or orange tones will absolutely not be altered in the slightest bit by this toner, go for something that will treat those specifically. Honestly, don't waste your time trying out this toner unless your hair is very nearly bleached to perfection and just needs a little touch of silver to make it totally white. If your hair isn't absolutely prepped to perfection it will do next to nothing.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/12/2014 3:13:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I've been lightening my hair to an ashy golden blonde color for years, but recently I decided I wanted to go more platinum/white blonde. I bleached my hair at home and everything turned out well, but my hair still had a lot more yellow in it than I wanted. Thankfully, when I purchased the bleach and developer, the SA at Sally recommended this to me in case my hair was still too yellow, so I used this right after bleaching. I followed the directions exactly and left this on my hair, covered, for a little over an hour. I really liked the consistency of this -- it was really easy to spread it through my hair, even though my hair was pretty dry from the bleach. I also liked that this didn't irritate my scalp like some other toners I have since used have. Once I washed this out, my hair was insanely soft and this did take out a good amount of the yellow tones, but my hair wasn't as white as I was hoping. I should probably note that my hair does lift pretty easily with other products, so I was kind of disappointed with the results. Also, I know this is a semi-permanent toner, but in just a few days my hair became significantly more yellow even though I was using purple shampoos and doing everything I could to prevent that. The next time I did my hair I tried the Wella T18 toner and got much better results from that, plus it was cheaper than this. If the Wella toner is ever out of stock I may try this out again and try leaving it on longer to see if I get better results, but for now I have to say I was slightly disappointed in this toner.


on 3/9/2014 6:09:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I was really skeptical about buying this product or not and I am glad I did. I bought it because I had like 3 cm of really dark brown roots and my hair is pretty much platinum , so I knew that after I bleach my roots I will have to use a good toner because my hair would be super brassy and I am very happy to say that this worked wonderful and it leaved my hair super platinum and another good thing is that it is super gentle on the hair


on 3/6/2014 2:51:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have another virgin snow arriving from the USA. it was not available in Canada but later found it. Looking forward to using it to achieve the white look.


on 2/25/2014 2:11:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I wanted a non damaging toner to help with the gold tones in my highlighted then bleached hair. I always get highlights but decided I was tired of still having a dark root so I decided to bleach them myself. They went sort of a golden blonde colour, and my highlighted pieces went white. If I were to bleach it or use wella white lady(t18) I'm sure I'd be losing quite a bit of hair. The lady at sallys recommended this as an alternative and I was quite skeptical. The first time using it (just on my root) didn't do much. Since then I've mixed it with a lot of my Clairol shimmer lights and applied it to my roots, leaving it on for a few hours. This has really helped tone it down. I'm sure if you were already a pale blonde with a bit of yellow tones this would work lovely, and it's very conditioning. But as a person who was looking for a big difference in the amount of brassiness it didn't do much until I mixed it with shimmer lights. Even the colour of this toner on its own is such a light shade of purple it's almost white.


on 10/17/2013 11:12:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

another of my must haves since I have been blonde. After a few weeks post dying my hair, it starts oxidizing and this is the best remedy I have found for it.

I have left it on for 45 minutes, and I get rid of a lot of the yellowish tones -- not all, but enough that it recovers it's just dyed shade which is fine for me.

It also highlites my grey.. which makes them look glossy and lovely too.

it has not harmed my hair in any way nor have I been in fear of Marge Simpson hair (been there with some toners!) or the dreaded violet head I get from Aveda.

so, considering price, and effects, this is a great product for blondes or silver haired people.

the jar is a bit clunky .. but I live and endure..lol.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top